Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Curriculum: Foundations, Principles, and Issues
Book Review: Curriculum: Foundations, Principles, and Issues by Ornstein and Hunkins
This book discusses various curriculum approaches and is an excellent source of information about philosophical, historical, psychological, and social foundations of curriculum. It discusses curriculum theory, curriculum development and curriculum designs. This book explains the...
Published on December 13, 2000 by Ann Tomey

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good read
Good read, used this as a part of M.A. in Teaching. Recommend it for educators
Published 5 months ago by Cheresse


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Curriculum: Foundations, Principles, and Issues, December 13, 2000
By 
Ann Tomey (Terre Haute, IN USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Curriculum: Foundations, Principles, and Issues (3rd Edition) (Hardcover)
Book Review: Curriculum: Foundations, Principles, and Issues by Ornstein and Hunkins
This book discusses various curriculum approaches and is an excellent source of information about philosophical, historical, psychological, and social foundations of curriculum. It discusses curriculum theory, curriculum development and curriculum designs. This book explains the taxonomic levels and approaches to educational objectives. It identifies curriculum implementation models and numerous curriculum evaluation models. It ends with a discussion of curriculum issues, trends and future directions. This book is an excellent source of theory related to curriculum and should be helpful to faculty and students studying curriculum and to anyone involved in developing curriculum.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still a textbook, January 1, 2007
By 
K. Brock (Richmond, VA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a very comprehensive book, and for the most part, very evenly written. Information about the history of curriculum is excellent, well organized and in great detail. Information about the processes of curriculum writing is outstanding - extremely thorough, complete and exhaustive in scope - and quite valuable as a reference. The last section of the book covers what directions new curricula might move, with information about what has changed, and predictions about what will change. Here the high quality of the writing and information evaporates, revealing quite inappropriate bias, slipshod research, vague or incorrect information, and gaps in continuity. I got more reliable, unbiased and accurate information on the last topics from a much older (different) source book.

I used the bulk of this book as a valuable source and reference in classwork and curriculum writing, but the latter part is inappropriate and unreliable for that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A textbook with an attitude, June 30, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I read this book along with Oliva's and it is quite thorough. Other readers would wonder why read both. They kind of cover the same ground. However, I like that Ornstein makes distinctions between philosophies and educational philosophies. This chapter is broader in scope. Likewise, his history on education in America seems to cover a greater ground. There is another chapter on social background which Oliva does not have. In his discussion on curericulum designs, he includes backward design curriculums, while Oliva doesn't. This is important to me as a reader because I am strongly influenced by backward design, and there are several authors covering this type of design (Erickson, 2003, 2007; and Wiggins & McTighe, 2005). A big distinction between these two books, however, is that Ornstein's tone is critical. Oliva's is objective, as a newsreporter who is describing what is going on. Ornstein's is editorial, as a person who voices his perspective and describes history with a critical eye. I thought that wwas inmportant to this textbook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Has a lot of history of philosophy, May 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a great book to read summaries of centuries of philosophical thought and how that helped determine what was taught. Now with the Common Core, I wonder how the foundational curriculum material will be presented - or if it will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The text book that came to stay, March 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
After reviewing and using the contents of this book in my classes I must say that its value remains in full force. I won't be surprised to learn that a reprint may be on its way with some minor changes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Prep for GA Testing, September 24, 2007
I purchased this book for a college class. My professor told me that this book was the best book to read to prepare for my state educational leadership certification test.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great service, May 23, 2009
By 
This company provided great service. Book came very quickly. The book was in great shape, and matched or exceeded the description. I will definitely buy from them again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars awesome book, June 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I am enjoying this book. It is easy to read, and I am finding the information in the book alot easier to locate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Was in great condition from, September 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is the book for my class and it covers the issues well. Was in great condition from Amazon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good read, September 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Good read, used this as a part of M.A. in Teaching. Recommend it for educators
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Curriculum: Foundations, Principles, and Issues (3rd Edition)
Curriculum: Foundations, Principles, and Issues (3rd Edition) by Allan C. Ornstein (Hardcover - October 28, 1997)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.