Cursed (Alex Verus) and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Buy New
$7.19
Qty:1
  • List Price: $7.99
  • Save: $0.80 (10%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
Add to Cart
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Cursed (Alex Verus) Mass Market Paperback – May 29, 2012


See all 13 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Mass Market Paperback
"Please retry"
$7.19
$3.89 $0.81


Frequently Bought Together

Cursed (Alex Verus) + Taken (An Alex Verus Novel) + Chosen (Alex Verus)
Price for all three: $21.57

Buy the selected items together

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Hero Quick Promo
Browse in Books with Buzz and explore more details on selected titles, including the current pick, "The Good Girl" by Mary Kubica.

Product Details

  • Series: Alex Verus
  • Mass Market Paperback: 304 pages
  • Publisher: Ace (May 29, 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1937007596
  • ISBN-13: 978-1937007591
  • Product Dimensions: 6.7 x 4.1 x 1 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 4.8 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (77 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #155,233 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

Review

“Benedict Jacka writes a deft, thrill-ride of an Urban Fantasy—a stay-up-all-night
read. Alex Verus is a very smart man surviving in a very dangerous world.”
(#1 NYT bestselling author Patricia Briggs)

“Harry Dresden would like Alex Verus tremendously—and be a little nervous around him. I just added Benedict Jacka to my must-read list.”—Jim Butcher
(eloquence quotes)

About the Author

Benedict Jacka is half-Australian, half-Armenian, and grew up in London. He’s worked as a teacher, bouncer, and civil servant, and spends his spare time skating and playing tabletop games. He’s currently studying to become a lawyer, on grounds that his life isn’t busy enough already.

More About the Author

Benedict Jacka became a writer almost by accident, when at nineteen he sat in his school library and started a story in the back of an exercise book. Since then he's studied philosophy at Cambridge, lived in China, and worked as everything from civil servant to bouncer to teacher before returning to London to take up law.

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
45
4 star
26
3 star
6
2 star
0
1 star
0
See all 77 customer reviews
Fun stories, great magical world, great characters.
N. Gargano
I am an urban fantasy fan and came across this author through my love of the Dresden series.
Andrea D.
Magic, mystery, action, and great characters, great read.
coryrose0311

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful By Books31 on May 29, 2012
Format: Kindle Edition
When I wrote that Fated and Benedict Jacka would be perfect for fans of Jim Butcher I wasn't lying, and Cursed, the second book in the series helps prove this statement.

Cursed follows the ramifications of Fated. Alex is no longer able to live the quiet hidden life he had become so accustomed to. Other mages have begun coming to his shop, asking him to take on cases, hoping to use him as a pawn in their own games. Of course these mages aren't the forgiving type and if they can't use him, they will make sure no one else can either. This leaves them with a very serious problem though, how do you kill a mage who can see the future?

Cursed is just bloody exciting. It is filled with action, magic, and assassination attempts. Readers will be drawn in and unable to escape until the final page. The character's (especially Alex, Sonder, and Arachne) are all well written and complex. Alex is not the white knight of a character that he tries to be, and in Cursed readers really get a chance to explore his darker side.

Of course besides interesting characters and lots of action, Cursed is full of some pretty exciting magic. Some of it is not surprising (such as typical magic like fire mages, and ice mages), but some of the new additions, such as Sonder's time magic, the monkey's paw, and while not a new addition I still think the idea of using a curse as magic is pretty cool.

All in all, Cursed is fun and exciting, exactly what I wanted out of it. Jacka lays another strong foundation for this fledgling series that has the potential to become something huge. Definitely get in on the ground floor by reading Cursed, and another plus to getting it now is that Taken, the third book in the series, comes out in August, so readers wont have to wait long to read the next in the series.
[...]
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful By Diane, genre fiction & wordplay lover on August 2, 2012
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Alex Verus is a great character: wary but loyal to his friends (human and inhuman), reluctantly brave but not too arrogant to retreat when necessary, and troubled by the hard-to-hold line between ethics and ruthless necessity. Benedict Jacka's writing is smooth and gripping throughout. As others have said, this series is perfect for fans of Jim Butcher's Dresden Files, but despite some similarities of background (the hero's evil first master, for instance) I don't find it too derivative, and there are some interesting original elements. I'm not going to bother re-recapping the plot, but will say that I think I enjoyed this second book even more than the first (Fated (An Alex Verus Novel)), and have high hopes for the third (Taken (An Alex Verus Novel)), available September 2012.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful By Mary VINE VOICE on May 29, 2012
Format: Mass Market Paperback
I'll admit it, I'm an urban fantasy junkie. These books are my crack and CURSED definitely hits the spot. Gaining notoriety in the upper echelons of the mage world is something Alex never hoped for--or wanted. But he's getting a name (not necessarily a good one) as someone who's more powerful than he first appears. His power is a subtle one--nothing flashy like that pain in the butt, Cinder, with his massive balls of fire (heh)--but, when used properly, he has the ability to see possible futures and that can be a powerful thing.

People want him dead. Assassins lurk around every corner and his new apprentice, Luna, has found a new friend to play with. Luna is quite irritating in this one. She begged Alex to help her learn to control her killing curse but she wants the quick fix and isn't listening to Alex. Plus, the guy she hooked up with? Not good (A monkey's paw picks him as its new owner--that should tell you everything about him!).

Then there's the new woman in Alex's life and she's got bad vibes just flowing off her. But Alex ignores the warning signs (Typical male--he sees boobs and all sense flies out of his head.) and heads deeper into trouble.

This series will definitely appeal to fans of Jim Butcher. Alex is a hero I can totally get behind--he's flawed, not afraid to ask for help when he needs it, loyal to a fault, and walks a fine line between Light and Dark.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful By M. Wanchoo VINE VOICE on September 4, 2012
Format: Mass Market Paperback
ANALYSIS: Benedict Jacka's debut Fated came with high praise from Anne Sowards and Jim Butcher and therefore had a higher amount of anticipation from most readers (including myself). Fated was a decent debut as noted in my review, it had its share of shining points and some dull edges that made it seem like most other highly anticipated debuts. Graeme of Graeme's Fantasy Book Review also noted some points which I thought were crucial in highlighting the book's not-so-rosy spots. All in all I was curious to see where the author would take the story next and with the release schedule being so reader friendly, I dove into Cursed.

The title of the book like its predecessor does give a small clue into the book's plot, while the first book gave us a look into Alex Verus and his power as a diviner. This book while focusing on him also takes a closer look at Luna and her power arising from her familial curse. The story begins with Alex working with the Council thankfully on better terms due to his actions as seen in Fated. The council asks for his help on tasks due to his non-aligned nature and one such task finds him visiting an old factory in a decrepit part of London. His presence is required as he helps a group of soldiers lead by a man called Garrick to capture and possibly kill a creature called Barghest. They find out that some one has beaten them to it and since nothing can be done about it, Alex retires back to his shop.

His problems begin once again as Luna his assistant cum apprentice brings her new squeeze who picks up a certain deadly object from Alex's shop and it seems that Alex can't do much to stop it. To add to that a woman named Meredith is attacked near his shop and she decides to take sanctuary within.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Customer Images

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Search

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?