Customer Reviews


352 Reviews
5 star:
 (77)
4 star:
 (74)
3 star:
 (92)
2 star:
 (66)
1 star:
 (43)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Craven's Campy "Cursed"
I thought this movie was a lot of fun. We have all seen the same old werewolf movies but this one doesn't take itself so seriously and just has a lot of fun.

The story centers around a sister (played by Cristina Ricci)and her younger brother, who are involved in an accident with an unknown animal and both are bitten by the unseen monster. Soon both realize...
Published on February 24, 2005 by Daryl B

versus
45 of 51 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Werewolves of L.A.
CURSED is the story of a brother and sister who are attacked by a werewolf and become infected. Prior to this incident, Ellie's (Christina Ricci) biggest problems were an emotionally distant boyfriend and a snotty PR representative at her company, while Jimmy (Jesse Eisenberg) mostly had to put up with the homophobic bullies at his high school. I guess sometimes we just...
Published on July 23, 2005 by bonsai chicken


‹ Previous | 1 236 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 51 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Werewolves of L.A., July 23, 2005
By 
This review is from: Cursed (Unrated Version) (DVD)
CURSED is the story of a brother and sister who are attacked by a werewolf and become infected. Prior to this incident, Ellie's (Christina Ricci) biggest problems were an emotionally distant boyfriend and a snotty PR representative at her company, while Jimmy (Jesse Eisenberg) mostly had to put up with the homophobic bullies at his high school. I guess sometimes we just don't know when we have it good. Jimmy, a comic book geek, is quick to accept the possibility of what has happened to them and begins research immediately, while Ellie remains skeptical until the physical evidence becomes irrefutable.

With Wes Craven's track record (even his lesser films at least dealt with more original subject matter) one had to wonder why he wanted to make such a formulaic movie about such a well-worn concept. [Edit: I have since learned that this movie was a result of contractual obligation.] The first act of the movie felt quite tired, with dozens of unimaginative scares that have been seen time and time again. A dream sequence in particular is a real groaner. However, it actually does get better as it goes on. While it still retains an air of predictability, it did surprise me at times. I really thought it was obvious who the lycanthropic antagonist was. I wasn't completely wrong, but I wasn't exactly right, either.

In the end, CURSED is a passably entertaining movie made so primarily by the cast, which also includes Joshua Jackson (THE SAFETY OF OBJECTS) and Judy Greer (ARRESTED DEVELOPMENT). Portia de Rossi (also ARRESTED DEVELOPMENT) appears in a small role, and Scott Baio appears as himself. As a bonus, we get to see Shannon Elizabeth (JAY AND SILENT BOB STRIKE BACK) get ripped in half. Always a treat.

The unrated DVD contains a number of featurettes: a making-of with cast interview clips, one on effects, one on editing, and a humorous short film on "making a werewolf." There is also effects commentary for certain scenes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Craven's Campy "Cursed", February 24, 2005
By 
Daryl B (Nashville, Tennessee United States) - See all my reviews
I thought this movie was a lot of fun. We have all seen the same old werewolf movies but this one doesn't take itself so seriously and just has a lot of fun.

The story centers around a sister (played by Cristina Ricci)and her younger brother, who are involved in an accident with an unknown animal and both are bitten by the unseen monster. Soon both realize that something is not right as they begin to exhibit the signs of a human who has bitten by a werewolf.

There are twists and turns and Craven makes you think the villian is one person or the next. The other actors (Joshua Jackson plays Ricci's love interest) have fun with their roles. There are also funny cameos by Scott Baio and Craig Kilborn.

If you are looking for a gory, spine tingling thrill fest, you may be disappointed. This is a campy film that gives you some quick scares but mainly plays for a lot of laughs. Go into it with it with a carefree attitude and I think you will enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lowered Expectations..., November 26, 2009
This review is from: Cursed (Unrated Version) (DVD)
I avoided seeing CURSED for years, after hearing all of the talk about just how terrible it was. So, I finally got hold of a copy and watched it last night, figuring that I was about to witness a total catastrophe. Well, perhaps it was my extremely low expectations, but I actually enjoyed it! While it's certainly no GINGER SNAPS or AN AMERICAN WEREWOLF IN LONDON, CURSED isn't the disastrous failure I'd heard about. Christina Ricci (Addams Family 1 and 2, Sleepy Hollow, Monster, The Gathering) plays her lead role w/ ease and humour. She is a gothic chick without even having to work at it! Her features alone make her the next Barbara Steel! CURSED also has a decent plot and pacing. The CGI transformation effects are passable, but still make me mourn for the days of latex! The cast, apart from Ms. Ricci, is typical Craven / Williamson, mostly young, shallow, yet beautiful people. CURSED also has far fewer in-jokes and less self-aware humour than the SCREAM films. So, it's a fairly straightforward werewolf movie. If you love Christina Ricci, werewolves, or Wes Craven, then CURSED should give you a boost...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cool hip werewolf movie, October 7, 2007
By 
C. gotski "moviemakerrr" (oswego, il United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cursed (Unrated Version) (DVD)
After hearing all the problems they had making this movie it turned out to be a really cool flick. Wes craven did a great job with it! I really enjoyed this movie. People who thrash this flick just don't know how to let go an enjoy it for what it is, popcorn entertainment. Sure there are better flicks but come on I've seen ALOT worse. So just sit back and enjoy!!!

Moviemakerr
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just Fun., April 18, 2005
This review is from: Cursed (Unrated Version) (DVD)
!Heather's Teenage Son!

Yeah. This movie was a great way to blow time off in the theater, and anyone who is a fan of Wes Craven or horror-comedies will get a kick out of this film. It's not gonna be a classic like Nightmare On Elm Street or The Hills Have Eyes, but it's still fun...and the CGI werewolves are actually good! There is one scene that has some bad CGI, and that's the dog. And this movie is far from perfect. You can tell what scenes were reshot sometimes, and which ones weren't. And you could even tell where they dubbed over profanity in one scene. So, I'm definately getting the Unrated version of this flick, where Shannon Elizabeth supposedly crawls on the ground to try to escape...and it's just the top half of her body. So, overall, this is a fun, campy little horror flick that I'd reccomend to those who like 80's horror.

PS...GET THE UNRATED DVD! Not the PG13 one! ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, April 16, 2005
By 
This review is from: Cursed (Unrated Version) (DVD)
I loved this movie and the DVD should be great, this is just a fun popcorn movie that was made to entertain and it did! I loved it. I will pick this up for sure!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Highly enjoyable unintentionally comic horror, May 6, 2009
By 
This review is from: Cursed (Unrated Version) (DVD)
If you accept that this film is really intended to be viewed as a comic horror, you'll enjoy. Its a fun cast of young people very much in a Scream kind of way, albeit with werewolves. Its an old idea, but applied with a lot of the Scream pizazz that makes it fun and lighthearted. Some of the special effects are very weak. Best part, though, is it makes fun of scott baio. cant't beat that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terror?!, March 3, 2005
A Kid's Review
This was an excellent movie, but it wasn't even scary. Take a look at the MPAA Rating Reason: Rated PG-13 for horror violence/terror, some sexual references, nudity, language and a brief drug reference. Don't listen to the haters of this movie, it is Wes Craven's best werewolf movie of the year! And to think, Wes despises his own movie, so he's gonna make Red-Eye soon. Enjoy the movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Great Fun", March 4, 2010
By 
Terrance Richard "Terry Richard" (Fredericton, New Brunswick, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Cursed (Unrated Version) (DVD)
An above average horror film, "Cursed" tells the story about a bunch of young people living in Los Angeles and becoming werewolves. The story sounds asinine, but the plot really works thanks to a strong script by horror genius Kevin Williamson, and the fantastic direction of Wes Craven. The actors are also exceptional, featuring performances by Christina Ricci, Joshua Jackson, and Shannon Elizabeth. "Cursed" was a big hit when released to theatres in 2005. In this special edition DVD two extra minutes were added to the final cut that features some graphic violence deemed too extreme for movie audiences. Scary, hair-raising, and a roller-coaster ride make "Cursed" a film that you shouldn't watch alone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Light-Hearted film about Werewolfs, April 22, 2007
This review is from: Cursed (DVD)
This movie was better than I thought. It has a young cast of familiar faces from both popular films and TV shows. It's actually on of the better Wes Kraven films in a long time (Wishmaster SUCKED)...

The plot kinda reminded me of the LOST BOYS, where it envolved siblings confronting becoming Warewolves and had to destroy the warewolf that turned them.

The movie didn't have any lows and the story flowed well. The special effects were so-so (But to me, nothing beats the FX in regards to Warewolves found the Underworld films.)

It's a cool film to watch, all and all..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 236 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Cursed
Cursed by Christina Ricci (DVD - 2011)
$19.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.