Your Garage Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Fifth Harmony Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick Luxury Beauty Father's Day Gifts Amazon Cash Back Offer LoveandFriendship LoveandFriendship LoveandFriendship  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Outdoor Recreation SnS

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars63
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$19.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 8, 1999
The fourth Dave Riley book and well worth the wait. This one has Riley assisting a lady friend from the previous book, a Chicago police detective, with a Mob member who goes into the Witness Security Program. Things go wrong as people are murdered, hired killers pursue Riley and company across the wilderness to a terrific climax. No one can be trusted, phones are tapped, ruthless professional hit men and government agents are using all their skills and power to stop the witness and his wife and whoever they are with. Then Riley enters the picture and with his military skills and courage tries to outwit the killers. Great storyline, the plot is filled with turns and corners. Fresh dialog and smooth action scenes propel the reader into this nebulous and dangerous world. Good stuff, Bob. More Dave Riley. I am currenly waiting for Eternity Base and I cannot locate a copy of Z anywhere. Keep up the great work, Robert, the ending to this one sizzles. Also, check out The Line and The Gate (written as Bob McGuire) for more adventures with a twist.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 17, 2011
Let's face it, these are guy "romance novels". In times of personal stress, lawsuits by ex-wives, psychic attacks by a world out to bash middle aged men, these books are necessary for sanity.

So they must be streamlined, easy to read, have great action scenes, involve one man heroically against the odds, saving the world. It is fascinating to see in these books a reflection of our current societal myths. No longer do we see the one lone man, aided by a loving woman, saving the world with the help of America! Now it's America itself that needs saving, by one man and a woman who is his equal in cunning and violence.

So, when I pick up a book, I want to be lost for a few hours, immersed in another world. This book does not disappoint, it is excellent for what it is.

Melvin Morse
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 30, 2016
Bob Myer is a very talented story teller. He's one of my favorite authors. This book is an enjoyable read. In this story, a special operations warrant officer has to unwind a conspiracy from the inside. He doesn't know who to trust, or if he will make it out alive. The people that he should be able to trust, may have other agendas. A fast paced read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 24, 2015
This book is a departure for the series in that Riley is not working a Special Forces mission. Instead he is playing bodyguard to Lisa Cobb, wife of a mob money launderer who testified against his bosses.

I'm not saying that this is a bad thing. In fact I rather liked it. However, if Riley is no longer in Special Forces, shouldn't the series now be called "Ex Green Berets?"

I was happy to see the return of Detective Donna Giannini. She and Riley work well together, but how can they ever top their first "date" when they flooded the Chicago sewer system and saved the world?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 30, 2013
This was one great read.

Warrent Officer Dave Riley and Chicaco PD Lt. Donna Giannini land in one hell of a mess.

Riley and his pal Hammer are trying to protect Lisa Cobb. Cobb is being chased by the mob out of Chicago and another group. This group is headed by Master. He and his men are highly trained. They kill and then remove the bodies and any evidence.

Unknown to Riley this group has highjacked the Witness Protection Program. They are payed to kill those in the WPP and Master works under contract for this group.

Donna Giannini, a Lt. in the Chicago PD, falls into it when there are killings in Chicago.

Both the mob and Master are looking for Lisa Cobb. The mob wants the money her hubby stole and Master just wants to kill her per his contract.

Riley doesn't have a clue whats going on but he and Hammer are in for a run in trying to protect Lisa.

Giannini and Riley know each other from a case in Chicago a year ago. Riley, Giannini and Hammer are in for a fight in protecting Lisa.

Just one great read. We have the mob. A group in Govt who are making money off murder. Master. A guy with a well trained bunch of killers and one traitor in the mix.

Just a great read. Five Stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 3, 2014
Dave Riley is one of my favorite characters. To best understand this story, the reader should read the story immediately before this one too as the main characters carry over including Col. Pike. This story involves government corruption and unsanctioned black ops. (The government corruption kind of echoes real life.) While the plot is not overly complicated, the action scenes are pretty good and plentiful. The main bad guy could have been more rounded with some additional information about his background and how he got into unsanctioned black ops. But all in all this is a good read to lose oneself in for a few hours and that is one of the things I want in an action novel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2014
Chief Warrant Officer Cave Riley returns in the Cut Out. Bob Mayer blurs the line between fact and fiction in this story. The FBI does use a cut out for various operations. This story takes off with Phillip Cobb as a mob money launderer turned snitch and enters the Federal Protection Program with his wife Lisa. Phillip is murdered early on in the story. Lisa is also almost murdered herself.No one is who they seem in this story. It is filled with twists and turns keeping you on the edge of your seat.As Dave protects Lisa they are pursued by professional assassins. This would make a great movie. Thanks!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 27, 2014
Part of the series, works well. Getting to know the character better and seeing some practical use of brain and firepower :) Doesn't stand out as being WOW, but is well worth the read. Also I like that the main characters doesn't come across as super beings but more as down to earth real people with fears and creative moments during the events in the book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 18, 2014
I assume the military training session in the opening (Chapter 2) was supposed to remind us who Dave Riley was, but it had nothing to do with the main plot. That section could've been cut down by at least fifty-percent, maybe more, and nothing would've been lost.

I couldn't help but laugh at the glitch in storytelling that took place on page 30 of the Kindle version. She (Jill Fastone) pulled the silenced pistol out of her purse and aimed it squarely at his (Philip Cobb) chest. "You first and then your wife when she gets back." But only two paragraphs later, Jill Fastone tells Philip Cobb that he first needs to tell her where the money is before she kills him. Trying to get information from someone after you've already told them you're going to kill them would seem to me to be highly counterproductive. Maybe the writer just wanted to show how stupid Jill Fastone was. Unfortunately, the scene played out in a different direction before I was able to see if Philip Cobb was as stupid as Jill Fastone.

The story moved along at a very nice pace, with interesting twists and turns, until about two thirds of the way through the novel, and then the pace slowed dramatically. There was a lot of time and words (many chapters) spent getting both the protagonists and the antagonists from multiple Point A's to a singular Point B in the Smoky Mountains. At times it read like a travelogue. I didn't think it added anything to the story, and thus a whole chunk of the book was very disappointing to me.

The final action scenes between the good guys and the bad guys were fun to follow and they were enjoyably exciting. I thought those final action scenes were the best in the whole story.

However, the ending was a huge disappointment. All of these unanswered questions and all of the intrigue that had been built up in the first 90% of the story gets quickly figured out by a character who doesn't even appear in the story until the very, very end. Granted, this character (Colonel Pike) had been introduced in previous novels in the Green Beret series, but in this one he comes out of nowhere at the very end to figure it all out. I, for one, felt cheated. It felt very contrived because based on the relationship between these two men (known from previous novels), Dave Riley would've contacted Colonel Pike in the beginning of the story, when things started to get really weird... and not at the very end. Like I said, introducing Colonel Pike at the very end felt contrived.

But if you don't dwell too long on the shortcomings of the plot twists and ending manipulations, then you should enjoy it for the most part. It's a good beach read, but the plot could've been thought through a lot better, and the travelogue could've been replaced with mystery solution and made the whole story a lot more interesting and satisfying.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2015
Excellent story that takes into account the skills of the special forces soldier in both the good and the bad. Lots of action as one would expect but also suspense and conflict. The premise is interesting with the use of the Marshal's program and relevant in this age of budget restraints.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.