Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredibly Helpful
This book helped me create a website for my DVD How to Publish a Book; How to Get a Literary Agent that has climbed to the top of Google, Yahoo, and MSN.com for the search phrase "How to Publish a Book."

I launched the site in August 2007 and as I'm writing this review in early December, my website is drawing between 50 and 100 hits per day as a direct result...
Published on December 4, 2007 by Stacey Cochran

versus
10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The other reviews are not accurate.....
Okay, I purchased the book and even though the book was produced in 2007 the data is dated. For instance they briefly talk about the need for a computer and setting up an e-business, in the discussion the authors reference Pentium II and Pentium III processors. They also reference a dropshipping website and claim the membership cost is a one time $69.95 fee, the reality...
Published on August 24, 2007 by FindAds


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredibly Helpful, December 4, 2007
By 
Stacey Cochran (Raleigh, NC, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cyber Gold: A Guidebook on How to Start Your Own Home Based Internet Business, Build an E-Commerce Website, & Strategies for Making Money Online (Paperback)
This book helped me create a website for my DVD How to Publish a Book; How to Get a Literary Agent that has climbed to the top of Google, Yahoo, and MSN.com for the search phrase "How to Publish a Book."

I launched the site in August 2007 and as I'm writing this review in early December, my website is drawing between 50 and 100 hits per day as a direct result of the Search Engine Optimization strategies discussed in Cyber Gold.

If you're planning to use register.com or Tripod to design your site, this book will absolutely help you create a web presence that people will find using popular search engines like Google, Yahoo, and MSN.com

What's amazing is how simple it is to create a website that works in conjunction with search engines and popular search phrases.

I can not recommend Cyber Gold highly enough.

Stacey Cochran
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Contribution - Read this book first, August 25, 2007
By 
This review is from: Cyber Gold: A Guidebook on How to Start Your Own Home Based Internet Business, Build an E-Commerce Website, & Strategies for Making Money Online (Paperback)
It is difficult to watch television or even to drive around in one's hometown without finding an advertisement enticing the reader to get rich through using her or his computer. Most such efforts are about making the scam artists rich at the expense of the gullible. The victims targeted are motivated people, especially those living in small towns with sparse opportunities. Despite scammers' traps, the Internet truly enables one to remain in such a small town and expand opportunities to make a decent livelihood well beyond those available locally. The authors offer genuine opportunity. They have credibility because they have created their own opportunity in just such a town with sparse resources. Instead of a get-rich quick scheme, these authors offer a very reflective approach through a book that conveys honestly that there is much to know and that maintaining a successful E-commerce business is hard work. However, if seeking a book written to lead the reader by the hand to success, this is the one to buy. Authors address both PC and Macintosh equally--a rarity in most reference books, and you don't need the latest-greatest computer to do anything they tell you to do. Cyber Gold... is well written and well illustrated. If the reader has difficulty understanding the text, there's a picture; if picture and text fail to convey meaning, there's an example. This is a surprisingly fine reference for a person who is a consumer at E-commerce sites too. Knowing how to tell a secure site from an insecure or scam site by its URL is certainly good information for a consumer. Another audience could simply be those who build their own web sites, even if these are not E-Commerce sites. I've purchased books on building web sites such as Dreamweaver for Dummies, and the skills and knowledge are not nearly so clearly presented there as in this resource. This book doesn't present the information in the stuffy style of most references. Instead, the reader feels like he/she is just having a chat with the authors and learning the information through a prose that is genuinely friendly. The publisher of the "...for Dummies" series should hire the authors of Cyber Gold... to rewrite some of their texts. As soon as I cracked open this book, I went to the chapter on meta-tags and immediately improved my own web pages. Not only can readers get a good book, but also it appears from the Amazon pages that readers can take a course from the authors through an accredited university. This is a class act skillfully executed. If the authors put their course online, it will be huge--they may have to attend to that more than the business that they created. Although copyrights are addressed, trademarks are not. I would like to see the procedure for obtaining trademarks added to a future edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The other reviews are not accurate....., August 24, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cyber Gold: A Guidebook on How to Start Your Own Home Based Internet Business, Build an E-Commerce Website, & Strategies for Making Money Online (Paperback)
Okay, I purchased the book and even though the book was produced in 2007 the data is dated. For instance they briefly talk about the need for a computer and setting up an e-business, in the discussion the authors reference Pentium II and Pentium III processors. They also reference a dropshipping website and claim the membership cost is a one time $69.95 fee, the reality is that this dropshipper charges $300 to sign up. Don't get me wrong, there is some good data in the book. But it definitely isn't what I would consider a great book. I would save your money and look for something else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best guide out there!, May 13, 2007
By 
Sandy (Pocatello, Idaho) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cyber Gold: A Guidebook on How to Start Your Own Home Based Internet Business, Build an E-Commerce Website, & Strategies for Making Money Online (Paperback)
I was so pleased to find a book that had everything I needed, all in one volume (for once!). I can build my website or do the search engine optimization thing and I don't feel like I should be using a professional instead. There were also tons of pictures and real life examples that were so helpful. Thumbs up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, unless you need to build an adult website like me, August 11, 2008
This review is from: Cyber Gold: A Guidebook on How to Start Your Own Home Based Internet Business, Build an E-Commerce Website, & Strategies for Making Money Online (Paperback)
This book is excellent. I recommend it to anyone looking into internet commerce. The only downfall is that it only teaches you how to build web pages with a site/program called Tripod. This is a genius helping platform, but it does not allow enough space for multiple videos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, August 10, 2007
By 
L. Miller (Naperville, IL) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cyber Gold: A Guidebook on How to Start Your Own Home Based Internet Business, Build an E-Commerce Website, & Strategies for Making Money Online (Paperback)
This book is excellent. It has everything you need to know on starting an Internet Business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.