Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great info on "cyber stuff"
For those who want to keep up on the latest information of where we are in this cyber world, this book is for you. I just could not put it down. There are so many questions that we don't find answers to in the local coffee shop. A sip of java and a shrug are not enough. For example, what is Stuxnet? Why is privacy so hard to maintain? Where do viruses and malware come...
Published 3 months ago by Kenneth Koprich

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Informative!
This book was an easy read and understandable. Informative even for the layman. Good reference for cyber threat and capabilities research.
Published 1 month ago by srich006


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great info on "cyber stuff", December 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
For those who want to keep up on the latest information of where we are in this cyber world, this book is for you. I just could not put it down. There are so many questions that we don't find answers to in the local coffee shop. A sip of java and a shrug are not enough. For example, what is Stuxnet? Why is privacy so hard to maintain? Where do viruses and malware come from? Why can't we catch cyber villains? What are the larger threats? The smaller threats? What agencies protect us? What is cyber war? How can the ordinary person protect himself on line? So many important questions. Singer and Friedman have shown expertise in answering them, and sometimes with interesting stories from behind the scenes. For me, this is essential reading. And, like all things about computers, time sensitive. Read it now, and hope for a new book next year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What Everyone Should Read, January 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
In Cybersecurity and Cyberwar, co-authors Peter W. Singer and Allan Friedman provide public policy and national security professionals with a comprehensive overview of cybersecurity matters. In straightforward prose, Singer and Friedman answer key questions in three parts: how it all works, why it matters, and what can be done and address subjects ranging from advanced persistent threats, cyber force structure, options for deterrence, the balance between offense and defense, lessons from public health, to the incentives behind public-private partnerships. To round out the discussion, I would strongly recommend Cybersecurity and Cyberwar in conjunction with with Ronald Deibert’s Black Code: Inside the Battle for Cyberspace and Thomas Rid’s Cyber War Will Not Take Place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great primer!, December 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Peter Singer is a master at capturing the knowledge and information you really need to know and presenting it in a well organized and entertaining volume. If you liked "Wired for War" you will love this book. Required reading for anybody who uses a computer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything I Needed To Know, February 10, 2014
By 
E.M. (las vegas, nv) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Do you know how the Internet works? I thought I did, but I learned so much. I don't have a science/technology background, but I'm definitely tech/computer literate. I think this book is written for the whole gamut of technology consumers and Internet users: from those who are comfortable with technology to those who are afraid of it. I found the writing and the information interesting and digestible. However, it may not be that informative to those who have a strong technology background. This is an essential book for anyone who uses technology, but doesn't thoroughly understand it--which I think is most of us. Can you get by without the info in this book? Absolutely. But no one should.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Introduction to Cybersecurity, February 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cybersecurity and Cyberwar: What Everyone Needs to Know® (Paperback)
This book gives great examples, explaining concepts that I have had difficulty understanding. It is a very interesting and informative read, as well as being easy to understand, and I fully intend to order another copy for my parents. I would definitely recommend reading this book if you are curious at all about cybersecurity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cybersecurity, the Whole Picture, March 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cybersecurity and Cyberwar: What Everyone Needs to Know® (Paperback)
Like most people I was looking for answers to my personal LAN security issues and picked this book in the hopes of getting a deeper understanding of how to secure my network. But, I got an even better deal instead. This book covers the entire state of cyber security issues from car theft by network interference to Cyberwar.

The issue of network security has become global in scope and there are no political boundaries in Cyberspace. Nothing separates us personally from being raided by a thief whether he be an individual using an electronic jamer to keep your car unlocked or an employee of the Chinese government using commercial routers to collect personal data against you.

The misuse and abuse of Cyberspace is predicated on the natural openness of the design of the Ethernet. Education about the current situation is our primary defense against those who would use this valuable tool against us. And this book does an excellent job of appraising us about the dangers and defenses inherent in this communications medium.

This is not a book about how to setup the network security switches on your operating system. This is the book to tell you what has been happening in the entire world of Cyberspace that can affect you directly. Before you can defend yourself you need to know what the threat really is.

Most of the book is spent covering the current world level security threat complex. With the exception of Denial of Service and RoboLensing attacks, the book gives the reader very good advice on how to deny the attackers effective access to your computer network. The general answer lies here.

As in personal self defense, the answer comes through more effective communication with the security community and application of proper security measures. Reducing your threat cross section by using the approaches detailed in the book will help you to protect your data and your sleep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Welcome Primer, March 12, 2014
By 
Timothy Peacock (PROVIDENCE, RI, US) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cybersecurity and Cyberwar: What Everyone Needs to Know® (Paperback)
A very useful primer for both technical and non-technical folks. While the book is thrust at those who don't know the difference between Java and JavaScript, the short chapter format should appeal to those out there who ascribe success to moving quickly and breaking things. For those in the policy world, this book is for you. It will provide an enjoyable introduction to those "pipes" that aren't "big trucks" and fill you with enough anecdotes about cyber to run a whole room of Washingtonites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Coverage But Format Distracts, February 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Decent coverage for the most part, but the forced format of Q&A presentation caused too much repetition in my view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars On the whole, very good., February 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The authors certainly know their way around their subject and provide a good introduction to it. I do however, have two reservations. First, the chapters on cyberwar are not quite as deep or comprehensive as one might expect; in other words, more remains to be said about the relationship between this kind of warfare and warfare as a whole. Second, the chapters on the technicalities are a little too technical for an old geezer like me.

Still, a good effort and a worthwhile read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very well done!!! Accessible to all readers, January 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cybersecurity and Cyberwar: What Everyone Needs to Know® (Paperback)
Readable without being condecending. Excellent for everyone who wants to catch up in this increasingly important area. Explains the full range of issues with lots of crdibility.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x9d11354c)

This product

Cybersecurity and Cyberwar: What Everyone Needs to Know®
Cybersecurity and Cyberwar: What Everyone Needs to Know® by P. W. Singer (Paperback - January 3, 2014)
$16.95 $11.30
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.