Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST CYPRESS ALBUM
Temples Of Boom is easily the best Cypress Hill album to date... and the least know of Cypress Hill's work.. which is unfortunate, for example, see the ammount of reviews written for this album compared to their other albums. DJ Muggs production on this album is his best in my view... dark and psychotic, which fits B-Real and Sen Dogs (not on the album much) raps...
Published on December 19, 2000 by pazmith0884

versus
9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some of their best work, but not the whole way through
In my review of Cypress Hill's "Black Sunday," I said it was their best album. However, "Temples of Boom" has their best songs on it. It's just not nearly as consistent in its quality.
As far as production, DJ Muggs is at his absolute best here. He focuses on the spaciness of his production, creating a backdrop of slightly-sinister melodies rather than old funk...
Published on November 14, 2002 by Patrick G. Varine


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST CYPRESS ALBUM, December 19, 2000
By 
This review is from: Cypress Hill 3: Temples of Boom (Audio CD)
Temples Of Boom is easily the best Cypress Hill album to date... and the least know of Cypress Hill's work.. which is unfortunate, for example, see the ammount of reviews written for this album compared to their other albums. DJ Muggs production on this album is his best in my view... dark and psychotic, which fits B-Real and Sen Dogs (not on the album much) raps perfectly. The beats are just so undeniable... even thou the raps are about the same ol' same ol' (weed) it is still great to hear B-Reals nasal raps. My favorite tracks are Spark Another Owl, Illusions, Boom Biddy Bye Bye, Killafornia and Everybody Must Get Stoned, and more...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Hill Album ever, June 22, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Cypress Hill 3: Temples of Boom (Audio CD)
Cypress Hill has had great sucess with their Black Sunday. This CD takes more of a dark approach then their past albums. The whole album has dark, mysterious beats that match the great lyrical mind of B-real. Pick this album up! There is not a negative side to this CD. Its one of the best cypress hill albums- if not the best, You Wont Be Dissapointed!
-(Illusions the best song, F**k it there all good!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars To steal from Steve King, "It Grows On You", August 24, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Cypress Hill 3: Temples of Boom (Audio CD)
When I first heard "Temples of Boom", I was disappointed. After all, I loved "Black Sunday", and I guess I was expecting more. But the more I listened to it, the more I liked it. The beats are phat as hell, piled on top of each till they reach critical mass. I really digged the Ice Cube put down. Just goes to show ya the boyz from Cypress don't give a f**k who they piss off. The best thing about this album, as well as "Cypress Hill" and "Black Sunday", is that all three albums are unique sounding in a homogenized rap scene; they stand out like a green herb in a wheat field. And how many rap groups would have the guts to try all the different sounds Cypress includes in their tracks. When was the last time you heard a sitar on a hip-hop album? Check out Black Sunday, Cypress Hill, and definitly Temples of Boom
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Masterpiece From The Dark Side, October 3, 2009
This review is from: Cypress Hill 3: Temples of Boom (Audio CD)
For me, this is the greatest hip-hop album of all time. Now, this probably has a lot to do with the fact that I am more of a "glass-half-empty" kind of guy, and you will not find a darker, more pessimistic, paranoid vision than the one expressed by B-Real (and to a lesser extent his sidekick Sen-Dog) on this disc. Even Muggs' production manages to convey darkness and fear throughout the proceedings. But as dark as it gets, the album never loses hold of the funk. So basically, it's a great disc to bug out to when you think the world is out to get you.

Kicking off with yet another great ode to "the powers of the herb," Temples of Boom ends up being almost a cautionary statement about what happens if you smoke too much weed ... I've read more than one leaflet stating that excessive use often leads to paranoia, and this album bears that claim out. Cypress Hill obviously love their herb, but there's little joy in the celebration; instead it comes across as a means of coping somehow with their dark world.

But is the world dark as a result of their chimney-esque smoke intake? When B-Real isn't rapping about how he's having "Illusions" f***in' me up in my mind", he's blowing people's heads off while singing "Boom Biddie Bye-Bye", engaging in a very nasty feud with Ice-Cube on "No Rest For The Wicked", extolling the benefits of getting jumped into a gang on "Throw Your Set In The Air", gunning down weed-dealing adversaries before they can shoot him first ("Stoned Raiders"), engaging in random armed robbery and fleeing the police ("Locotes"), just firing guns at seemingly anyone who happens to get in his way ("Make A Move"), or lamenting how he "can't even trust my own brothers" ("Killafornia").

The line that says it all about Cypress Hill and where their heads were at when they made this album:

"Zip-a-dee-doo-dah, I smoke weed and I got brain damage,
But I don't give a f***, cuz I still manage"
("Strictly Hip-Hop")

Muggs' backing tracks create a creepy feel that perfectly suits the schizophrenic, paranoid mindset that dominates the lyrics. He cooks up a batch of minor-key hooks and basslines with some very unusual samples, including opera singers' voices and spooky keyboards. Overall, the effect is mind-blowing.

No silly house-party jams on here, folks. This one's for throwing on later in the evening when darker feelings start to creep to the surface. Which has always been the time of night I most related to anyway.

A funny personal story - in 1995 I was a middle school math teacher, one of my students (knowing I liked some hip-hop) actually gave me this as a Christmas present. Talk about awkward, LOL. But it remains one the best presents I ever got; 14 years later and still love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cypress Hill's Official "Hip-Hop" Album, November 28, 2006
By 
Joshua R. Warren (Winston-Salem, NC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cypress Hill 3: Temples of Boom (Audio CD)
When you look at the enriched history of Cypress Hill, you see different flavors of music. One of their early attributes was the rare ability to crossover rap into the rock genre with success from the very beginning with their self-titled classic Cypress Hill album. Following the triumph of their debut album, Black Sunday mixed a similar formula for success. However, on their third album, Cypress Hill released what many fans desired for years, an utterly hip-hop banger.

Temples of Boom was seventh heaven for their rap-oriented followers; while fans of their rock-twist weren't highly impressed. As a result, Temples of Boom experienced platinum success, however, many fans voiced their dislike of the album to their record label (Sony / Ruffhouse) and other parties of interest. This ultimately (After IV) lead to mediocre albums such as Skull & Bones and Stoned Raiders, which featured a "forced" rock concept to each album respectively. While these albums received slight praise within their rock fanbase, it perplexed their rap followers due to the novelty that was Temples of Boom.

Cypress Hill's latest release Till Death Do Us Part, is a more hip-hop oriented album, however, still not as impressive as Temples of Boom (or even IV). Temples of Boom was the pinnacle of DJ Muggs. The instrumentals were earth-shattering and still to this day, these tunes are ahead of their time. The dark and sinister sounds accompany B-Real's flow perfectly. A dash of Sen Dog here and there, made good use of the album as well. In terms of a "street" album, Temples of Boom is as rough as it gets. The production is hard, the lyrics are gritty, and the ending result is almost flawless.

Cypress Hill's debut album is entirely classic, especially when you consider the sound the album introduced to the rap industry in the very early 90's, but the mid-90's release of Temples of Boom blessed the hip-hop community with a pure style that highlighted the group's greatest talents (especially that of DJ Muggs). Fans divided between genres forced 50/50 albums (rock & rap), and because there was little to no direction on these projects, the result was mediocrity. Temples of Boom was the only Cypress album with an entire direction focused on hip-hop music, however arguably their best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some of their best work, but not the whole way through, November 14, 2002
This review is from: Cypress Hill 3: Temples of Boom (Audio CD)
In my review of Cypress Hill's "Black Sunday," I said it was their best album. However, "Temples of Boom" has their best songs on it. It's just not nearly as consistent in its quality.
As far as production, DJ Muggs is at his absolute best here. He focuses on the spaciness of his production, creating a backdrop of slightly-sinister melodies rather than old funk samples. The result is a much more gangsta-oriented Cypress Hill, and it shows in B-Real's choice of song titles like "Throw Your Set in the Air" and "Killa Hill Niggas."
But those are hardly the strongest moments on the disc, which come when B-Real and the boys stick to their old formula: smoked-out mellowness. The opener, "Spark Another Owl" is a hynotic head-nodder, and "Boom Biddy Bye Bye" rides a nice vibe loop.
Muggs even takes some musical chances. He ups the tempo on "Make a Move," and B-Real adjusts nicely. He works a minimalist piano loop on the understated "Killafornia." And he creates an excellent backdrop using Gary Burton's "Las Vegas Tango" for the best song on the disc, "Illusions."
The addition of occasional percussionist (and now full-fledged group member) Bobo on congas adds to the Latino flavor on tracks like the narrative "Locotes," and if all the gangsta bravado is too much for you, the bonus track, "Everybody Must Get Stoned," will round out the album nicely in true Cypress Hill fashion.
So while this may be some of Cypress Hill's best work, the inconsistent quality keeps it from being their best album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars D.J MUGGS AT HIS BEST, June 9, 2004
By 
O. KAKA (WOODBRIDGE, NJ United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cypress Hill 3: Temples of Boom (Audio CD)
This is arguably Cypress Hill's best album to date,FLAWLESS ALBUM very rare in todays hip hop I mean hip pop.D.J MUGGS production on this album is SICK,that's why he is one of the best producers in hip hop. ONE LOVE TO D.J MUGGS A PRODUCERS PRODUCER.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cypress Hill will never top this., February 8, 2001
By 
Brian (Post falls Id United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cypress Hill 3: Temples of Boom (Audio CD)
This cd takes a little time to fully imerse within it, but once your inside the temple...there aint no comin out. Before the Hill went mainstream with their latest release(wich was disipointing). They were alot grittier, more violent, and all around much cooler. This album is a lyrical slash musical masterpiece. I got this cd right when it came out, and it made made me a true fan of hiphop, it was constantly bumped. And after all these years I still toss it in every now an then. Cause perfection never gets old. So if you wanna hear the real wicked Cypress style, then I recomend this much higher then the rest of their collection, and almost all other cds for that matter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars LAY BACK AND CHILL, October 22, 2001
By 
datplaya (The netherlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cypress Hill 3: Temples of Boom (Audio CD)
Close the doors, dimm the lights and "spark another owl" as you put this album in your music-temple!!! Cypress hill is setting the mood for a laid back evening with their best album!! Yes people, this album is better then Black sunday because B-real, Muggs and Sen dogg kick it like they should: slow,dark beats with the smoke related rhymes equals a dope cd!!!
Spark another owl (my number one 'marihuana-track') contains my new lifequote: 'I aint got no kinda love for a brotha who comes to the party with no bud'. YUP; B-real is telling yall how it is and sen dogg backs him up!! BUY this one!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars dark and non-commercial, July 23, 2005
This review is from: Cypress Hill 3: Temples of Boom (Audio CD)
I gotta say that when I first got this disc many years ago, I didn't really listen to it all that much. I liked a couple songs but went back to Black Sunday everytime. For whatever reason, aside from the fact that Cypress is one of the phattest hip hop talents out there, I started playing this album recently. Now I can't stop listening to it. I like how the beats and lyrics are so dark and anti-"hit single". Very creative and deep. And while you won't find any "insane in the membrane" on this cd, you will find a ton of phat trax.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Cypress Hill 3: Temples of Boom
Cypress Hill 3: Temples of Boom by Cypress Hill (Audio CD - 1995)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.