Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars No matter how someone translate this, it was a war!
When I saw the size of this book I was so surprised. The pictures displayed nicely and the oral history recorded were astounding. No matter how someone translate this, it was war. Everyone has a point of view, we are going to perceive this either inaccurate or bias all I know I enjoyed the history of it. The battles, the agony and the politics which is not a surprise...
Published 5 months ago by Darlene Cruz

versus
11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This edition not worth the investment
I examined this book in a bookstore because I am interested in everything D-Day. I was not impressed with the paper quality of the pages, the quality and numbers of the pictures, or the price for what you get. The book is too big and bulky to read for extended times. You would be much better off buying the original book and using your remaining funds on a separate D-Day...
Published 7 months ago by C. Bailey


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This edition not worth the investment, June 2, 2014
By 
This review is from: D-Day Illustrated Edition: June 6, 1944: The Climactic Battle of World War II (Hardcover)
I examined this book in a bookstore because I am interested in everything D-Day. I was not impressed with the paper quality of the pages, the quality and numbers of the pictures, or the price for what you get. The book is too big and bulky to read for extended times. You would be much better off buying the original book and using your remaining funds on a separate D-Day atlas or book devoted to D-Day pictures. This book is aimed at D-Day impulse shoppers like me who will buy anything about D-Day. But i am not taking the bait on this one.

My rating is for this edition only. Ambrose's text is easily 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars No matter how someone translate this, it was a war!, August 28, 2014
This review is from: D-Day Illustrated Edition: June 6, 1944: The Climactic Battle of World War II (Hardcover)
When I saw the size of this book I was so surprised. The pictures displayed nicely and the oral history recorded were astounding. No matter how someone translate this, it was war. Everyone has a point of view, we are going to perceive this either inaccurate or bias all I know I enjoyed the history of it. The battles, the agony and the politics which is not a surprise. The seriousness of this book tells me how our brave men served and protect us for what we have now, freedom. My heart felt heavy at times looking through each page and the trails of heroic actions. Gammon grenades down the barrels, French 75mm, Air Reconnaissance, barbed wires, British 3rd Division, German reserves and reinforcements, French Resistance, Russian Ost battalion, U.S. Airborne and Infantry divisions and Rangers and so many more to mention. I just hinted a teeny tiny bit of what to expect in this book, so much history, so much sorrow, yet brave beyond the imagination. I will not go further to detail this book because I am not an expert on the subject I just want you to know the book was a tremendous lesson about our history of involvement and participation in war. Thank you I won this book on Goodreads First Read Giveaway. Sorry I took so long writing a review, I was just apprehensive about what I should write, this is such a sensitive subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A classy re-print of a classic D-Day account., December 7, 2014
By 
navynut (Clifton Park, NY USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: D-Day Illustrated Edition: June 6, 1944: The Climactic Battle of World War II (Hardcover)
Despite what some reviewer said,this book is well produced. And most importantly the photos are mostly new ones, not a rehash of the stock D-Days pics most books have. I have an extensive D-Day library and many of these images are new to me. I had the original book and lost it(don't loan books to co-workers!), so decided to replace it with this edition. It was a wise decision. The late Stephen Ambrose would be proud of this edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So readable and informative!, June 24, 2014
By 
This review is from: D-Day Illustrated Edition: June 6, 1944: The Climactic Battle of World War II (Hardcover)
I purchased this book recently and it is exactly what I was looking for prior to a trip to Normandy. It is scholarly but very readable. The author includes anecdotes from first-person accounts that are so interesting. The print is large and there are many photos. I own a number of books about D Day and have a personal interest in reading what my father and other brave Americans did. This book is a great overview of one of history's most important days, and it was written by one of the foremost historians of World War II.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, August 7, 2014
This review is from: D-Day Illustrated Edition: June 6, 1944: The Climactic Battle of World War II (Hardcover)
Chilling but heartwarming explanation of the sacrifices of our fathers and grandfathers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, December 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: D-Day Illustrated Edition: June 6, 1944: The Climactic Battle of World War II (Hardcover)
Best D-Day book yet. Photos are great, writing is very detailed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 19, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: D-Day Illustrated Edition: June 6, 1944: The Climactic Battle of World War II (Hardcover)
My husband was very pleased with this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The book was supposed to be like new but the inside binding was cracked & coming ..., July 5, 2014
By 
M. Lehr "MLehr" (Sacramento, Ca. USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: D-Day Illustrated Edition: June 6, 1944: The Climactic Battle of World War II (Hardcover)
The book was supposed to be like new but the inside binding was cracked & coming apart & the jacket was somewhat tattered. Not a big problem but a bit embarrassing as this was a gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Have!, December 4, 2014
By 
William G. West (Dallas Texas, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: D-Day Illustrated Edition: June 6, 1944: The Climactic Battle of World War II (Hardcover)
Great History in unbelievable detail!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, August 9, 2014
By 
John C. Fagan (Oak Park, IL United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: D-Day Illustrated Edition: June 6, 1944: The Climactic Battle of World War II (Hardcover)
Great price and great service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

D-Day Illustrated Edition: June 6, 1944: The Climactic Battle of World War II
$40.00 $29.42
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.