Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Look Park Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 1, 2013
I do IT work for a living, and I push this router every way possible. Phones, iPads, gaming, streaming HD to several Roku's, downloading tons of files, working remotely, this thing does it all. I am very pleased, as I always have been with D-Link routers. Great purchase, no regrets. Worth every penny.
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 31, 2013
WARNING TO BUYERS WHO WANT TO USE THIS DEVICE TO CONNECT A NETWORKED USB EXTERNAL HADR DRIVE -- ONLY WORKS FOR SMALLER THAN 500GB !

I bought this router for a very specific reason - it is currently (as of August 2013) the only 802.11AC router available with a USB 3.0 port to connect an external hard drive. I previously purchased and own the Apple Airport Time Capsule which is an 802.11AC router with 2TB or storage built in, but only a USB 2.0 port (stupid, if you ask me...)

I bought this router to replace the Apple router so I could connect an external hard drive with my photo library (iPhoto and Aperture) and access it from multiple computers. This works fine on the Apple router, but it is slow as it is only USB 2.0.

Setting up the D-Link was easy enough. But I could not get it to recognize my WD My Passport USB 3.0 1TB drive. After fiddling with the settings and Googling some troubleshooting without success, I skimmed the Amazon review and found another reviewer who after having the same problem, called D-Link customer support and found out that the router will only work with USB storage devices UP TO 500GB.

As a router it seems fine, but the description is misleading. I would think that most people wanting to utilize the USB 3.0 port for network storage will be purchasing a hard drive larger than 500GB, given that 1TB drives are less than $70 now and falling.
2525 comments| 223 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 19, 2014
I have had this router since January 1 and wanted to wait to write a review. I have at times twenty devices connected to it. Laptops, wemo switches, cloud wireless cameras, wireless printer, tablets, airport express, iPhone, Wii, and Nintendo handheld. All seem to get signal with no problem. At first I thought router could not handle cameras but it was the settings in the cameras that were incorrect. Signal is really good all throughout three story home. Kids are constantly streaming videos with no issues at all. Certainly beats the crap Comcast gateway it replaced. It also happens to look nice as its a cylinder shaped router as opposed to the flat desk types. Finally clink support was good as far as updating the firmware and router support.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 22, 2014
I repeatedly tried different routers, access points and bridges to connect multiple 1080p HD smart TVs to my network. Single-band routers pretty quickly overloaded the wireless capacity, even when the TV was directed to the access point rather than main router. I ended up getting this product and matching it with a Linksys Wireless-AC Universal Media Connector (WUMC710) on the 5 MHz band. It consistently delivers speeds at 500+ Mbps and the never buffers during playback. It's a great solution for that use.

The router also has a much better user interface than previous D-link models and can apparently change settings and configurations without rebooting the entire router, unlike previous versions. It sees all of the devices connected through the access points (previous versions did not) and does a very good job of managing all necessary traffic.

I have a relatively complicated set-up for residential use and this router handles it all: two Ubiquiti commercial-grade wireless access points manage seven wireless IP cameras, four wireless 1080p HD smart TVs connect wirelessly on either 2.4 or 5 GHz band, the media connector manages one 1080p HD smart TV separately, and a 24-port switch manages four wired 1080p HD smart TVs and 20 other computers and connected devices.

All in all I would say this is a great product.
0Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 5, 2014
i had beed using the DIR-655 (and DAP-1522) for (close to 10) years, then it started to develop a "hiccup" and would drop the wi-fi signal from time to time, well one of them was doing it... so I replaced them both. The 1750 was a great upgrade from the DIR-655, I really enjoy the dual band feature as our ROKU streams our movies on the 5 gig frequency and the laptop is happy on the 2.4 gig frequency.

The cloud storage was very easy to setup once I did a firmware update on the router.

I would recommend the 1750 to any that want a solid, durable router.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon July 18, 2013
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Amazon seems to lump all the reviews together for different models, but this review is for the D-Link Wireless AC Smartbeam 1750.

First impression is this doesn't look like your ordinary router. It just reminds me more of a gaming console like Microsoft's Xbox or something... or maybe even a high-tech thermos. It is made out of plastic and it feels a bit cheap, but it's light. Overall, though, I do like the design and it looks much nicer in a room than your standard blocky outdated looking router.

The router just didn't get a new modern makeover, but the features is what is more impressive.

You have simultaneous dual band 2.5 and 5 ghz connection. With the 5 ghz, you can up to 162.5MBps!

On the back, it has:
- USB port for connecting USB thumb drives/hard drive for easy access.
- 4 gigabit LAN ports and 1 port for connecting to your internet.
- WPS button for quick configuration to connecting new devices
- Power button
- and Power connector.

Wirelss N replaced b/g connection, but now AC is faster than N. You will need to get wireless AC adapter to take advantage of those speeds.

If you are fortunate enough to have a fios internet connection, you need to get this and should not be settling for a router that's anything less; it would make no sense at all.

I also like the mobile app allows to access the router on the go whereever you are.

Don't bottleneck your internet speeds with a slow router. Sharing/streaming HD over the network with a Wireless B/G is just not possible. This device will make it possible to stream smoothly without problems. For the amount of features, the price is very competitive as well.
33 comments| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2014
I'll start off by saying I had this all of one day. My neighborhood is flooded with wifi networks and I needed something to bully the (18) 2.4ghz networks my devices picked up.
It failed.
The 2.4 ghz band died at 20 feet give or take. The other issue,and it for me was a big issue is the even though it claims to have parental controls , D-Link DROPPED THE BALL big time here because you can ONLY block domain names and not specific themes like Guns or drug use or porn.
The one thing I will praise it for it the outstanding speed and range of 5ghz band. I could go almost 60 feet from the D-Link through walls and steel doors to my back yard and was picking up a strong signal and pulling down a fast 22mbs/3mbs
IMO , The 868L would be a great router if you don't have to many tech savvy neighbors, in my case the 2.4ghz band was just to overloaded to do its job.

* Side note... I bought the Netgear Nighthawk 7000 and it is a CHAMP of a router that sends my 2.4 and 5GHZ speed and signal strength way further then I thought possible.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 4, 2015
This router keeps dropping internet access on my cable modem. I hooked my PC directly to modem, and worked fine all day. This router keeps dropping the signal every 30-45 minutes, then to get it right again requires a re-boot (unplug/plug).
Contacting DLink support is a laugh as they never reply to emails through their website, three sent.
Need to return.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 3, 2014
There are other AC Routers that have better CPUs, more features, and better "speeds" made by Netgear, Linksys, and ASUS. Now the problem with these "better" routers is that they are only "better" for a couple weeks or a couple of months and than start burning out (do a search on AC routers major issue). The CPU's aren't cooled enough and the Antennas are amped up and not cooled correctly. My last router lasted me 2 months and the one before that lasted 6 months (both of which were $180 dollar AC routers)....

Now the nice thing about this router is the design. It is shaped as a cylinder and there is a decent amount of room on the inside. This helps as heat rises. It does not have as many bells and whistles as your top dog routers, but what is the point if those only last a couple of months. My only con is that I wish this router came with a fan at the top. Sadly only commercial routers do this and only sometimes.

I ended up putting a fan at the bottom with a filter on it (had the fan and filter laying around). This works perfect given the design of the device, but I had to add a filter since the fan is at the bottom and dust would make the router not last as long.

Perhaps later I will buy a smaller fan w/ grill at the top and than put a filter at the bottom to make it a more permanent solution.

Heat is what usually kills routers as they do not usually have good enough cooling (heatsink, design, fan). My old Linksys G router still works, but now days most routers are made like crap. I think D-Link is probably one of the most reliable now days especially with a few modifications ;)

Range is good, no heat issues, and good signal. Not the fastest router, but probably the most reliable AC router out there (I have done A Lot of research on them). I probably have about 10 - 15 devices on this, use torrents, and have my Gaming PC on Wifi. Combine this with the Motorola Surfboard Modem and you have a good network ;).
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 16, 2013
I was looking for a new AC router that had USB 3.0 included so I could attach a USB 3.0 external HDD and stream music, movies, and also access data files. The router works ok in terms of speed with my laptop connecting at 750 MBps using an Intel AC network card with is very good!
My biggest complaint about this router is that when my TV (which is also connected to WiFI for the Smart features) boots up it takes about a minute for the TV to connect to the router. The TV used to connect to my old Netgear instantly.
The other major complaint is that the external storage USB 3.0 port is basically useless. It works but it is very slow and there is no speed gain from turning on the USB 3.0 features (which you have to do manually). I was hoping that this router would provide quick read and write access to my drive, but that is not the case.
Also, the shape of this router is quite large and bulky and makes it hard to stow away in an entertainment center drawer without laying it on its side, which is what I had to do. The signal is very good though even from in the cabinet with the router on its side.
My Samsung Galaxy S4 (which also uses AC) connects to the router easily and makes downloading on my phone very quick and easy.
I have the latest firmware version 1.0.1 and I am hoping future firmware upgrades may increase the USB access speed as well as the connect speed for my home entertainment devices.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 77 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.