Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous and Informative
Please note right off the bat: It's about Brazilian ingredients. You won't be able to find some of them at the Piggly Wiggly, to say the least. Also note that the author is taking very traditional ingredients and exploring in a very modern way. This isn't a collection of peasant food from the Amazon. Having said all that, it's beautiful, from the food shots to the...
Published 8 months ago by Steve Sando

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Nope. Not right for you- no matter who you are
I actually pre-ordered this book and was very excited for it' arrival. I work in kitchens professionally and after seeing this restaurant on the San pellegrino list of coarse I was interested. With that being said I was truely disappointed with the contents of this book. I fully expected not having access to most of the ingredients- that wasn't the problem. The problem...
Published 3 months ago by Kevin Horan


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous and Informative, October 25, 2013
By 
Steve Sando (Northern California) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: D.O.M.: Rediscovering Brazilian Ingredients (Hardcover)
Please note right off the bat: It's about Brazilian ingredients. You won't be able to find some of them at the Piggly Wiggly, to say the least. Also note that the author is taking very traditional ingredients and exploring in a very modern way. This isn't a collection of peasant food from the Amazon. Having said all that, it's beautiful, from the food shots to the colorful street scenes. This makes me want to run to Brazil and discover the food for myself, both in this modern setting and in the streets.
I almost gave the book 4 stars because it's going to be so impractical to cook a lot but that's not the author's fault. What he's done is excellent and inspirational. And there things you can cook and be inspired by so if you are ready to expand your horizons, I can't think of a happier way except to eat!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Nope. Not right for you- no matter who you are, March 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: D.O.M.: Rediscovering Brazilian Ingredients (Hardcover)
I actually pre-ordered this book and was very excited for it' arrival. I work in kitchens professionally and after seeing this restaurant on the San pellegrino list of coarse I was interested. With that being said I was truely disappointed with the contents of this book. I fully expected not having access to most of the ingredients- that wasn't the problem. The problem was that other than a brief and vague description of the exotic ingredients, there was no debth or explanation on these interesting new flavors. In addition, there was not at all any kind of intriguing techniques on a professional level. I am personally a fan of Phaidon restaurant books, but this one seemed rushed to print with a serious lack of content, (note the ridiculously large font) and is totally unbecoming of "The number six restaurant in the world." Certainly if you want a coffee table book this would be an ok choice, but that s about as far as this book can reach. A disappointment on a professional level and useless on a home level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Book!, October 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: D.O.M.: Rediscovering Brazilian Ingredients (Hardcover)
Alex Atala's book is a revelation. A whole new and exciting look at Brazilian ingredients, recipes and cuisine in general. Incredible color photos accompany each dish and the book feels incredible to hold.
A no-brainer for anyone with even the slightest interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely gorgeous book, March 22, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: D.O.M.: Rediscovering Brazilian Ingredients (Hardcover)
Well laid out and thought out book, both in content and presentation. I love this book!! I'll be giving some as gifts this Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book. Very informative as well., February 17, 2014
By 
Terry A Hurst (SARASOTA, FL, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: D.O.M.: Rediscovering Brazilian Ingredients (Hardcover)
Beautiful layout and photography. High quality and well worth the price. I highly recommend this for anyone interested in Brazilian cuisine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING BOOK!, January 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: D.O.M.: Rediscovering Brazilian Ingredients (Hardcover)
Great book, Just wish I could go to Sao Paulo now and try everything! hahaha
Buy it if you can!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, December 16, 2013
By 
Cristina Mendoza (Key Biscayne, Florida, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: D.O.M.: Rediscovering Brazilian Ingredients (Hardcover)
Great book. I love the recipes. The only problem is finding some of the ingredients, but other wise its a fantastic cookbook!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome., December 10, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: D.O.M.: Rediscovering Brazilian Ingredients (Hardcover)
A different world....a great look into one of the best restaurants in the world. Mind that the recipes are not for at home cooks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic book with amazing pictures and great recipes., November 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: D.O.M.: Rediscovering Brazilian Ingredients (Hardcover)
Alex Atala, the chef who is introducing Brazilian ingredients to the culinary world. Fantastic book with amazing pictures and great recipes. I wish to meet with him one day!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I love It, November 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: D.O.M.: Rediscovering Brazilian Ingredients (Hardcover)
Amazing book by a very creative man some one who is just way ahead of his time, I love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

D.O.M.: Rediscovering Brazilian Ingredients
D.O.M.: Rediscovering Brazilian Ingredients by Alex Atala (Hardcover - October 8, 2013)
$49.95 $33.30
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.