Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: DAKAN (Destiny)
Safety Month BOTMKT Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums The best from Bose just got wireless Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks STEM Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors

Customer Reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars14
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 7, 2010
I saw this when it first toured the film festival circuit and held my breath hoping it would become available on dvd...so grateful now that it is...beautiful, beautiful, beautiful film...good production values, good acting though a bit histrionic at times, believable storyline, beautifully shot...first African film to feature gay subject matter and a beautiful lovestory...hollywood should be envious...worth every penny and even feels like a steal...
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 23, 2011
Many African countries impose the death penalty and stiff prison time for gay male relationships so I am not suprised that this film was met with angry protests when it was shot in Guinea. In fact it is a miracle that a movie about homosexuality could be made in any African country with the possible exception of the Union of South Africa which granted full rights to gay people in its groundbreaking constitution following the downfall of apartheid in the 90's...and produces popular interracial gay porn today!

10+ years of prison time for gay male relationships:

Libya

Sudan

Ethiopia

Uganda

Kenya

Tanzania

Malawi

Zambia

Ghana

Sierra Leone

Death penalty for gay male relationships:

Somalia

Nigeria

Mauritania

Full marriage rights:

South Africa

I keep wondering what the real-life background players like the giggling school children thought of the subject matter when ridiculing the young gay lovers about their sexuality. How many of these students were actually hiding in the closet? The typical teenagers tease but seem to accept the odd couple.

By Hollywood standards the movie is amateurish, clumsy, and confusing at times perhaps because of cultural differences, poor editing and low budget, but DAKAN is also courageous for daring to tell the truth.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 15, 2013
Their parents claim to have their sons best interest in mind as they seek to change them with medicinal cures, spiritual cures, separation, and even the opposite sex. The parents also express selfish desires in wanting their sons to be heterosexual. The two boys do not want to hurt their parents, and do what is asked of them to make their parents happy. In the end the love the two boys have for each proves to be stronger than the strict cultural taboos, societal norms, verbal abuse from peers, parents wishes, cures, and their own efforts to change. There are some similarities between "Dakan" and a film made almost ten years later "Broke Back Mountain". There is a love that two men have for each other that is not easily explained, complex, difficult to understand, intense, and which no one sees coming. The bittersweet ending was difficult for me to take and broke my heart.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 22, 2011
Though the movie was a bit grainy and the plot was a bit loose, it still achieved its purpose. It has opened doors in the Pan-African communities where it has been closed shut! Kudoes for breaking the ground. I'd recommend it highly.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 1, 2013
It is said that once you go blind, you begin to see things in a different way, your perception becomes almost limitless, at least according to my, Rose, who has been 100% blind since the age of five. When we "watched" this movie, we were both moved to the heart. I do the "running scene commentary", and fill in significant details as we experience films together. This has helped both of us to view films with much more consciousness and attention.
While we both appreciate foreign films, me more than her, our viewing tends to cross over any and all barriers and genres. Our developing "relationship" with the films major characters allowed us to feel concern, compassion, a shared joy, a sense of outrage at the antagonists in the film for their behavior, and a mellowing enjoyment of the tenderness felt by the principles. And these are only some of the emotions which stirred within.
We identified with the concerns of the characters, especially the parents, the lovers and their supporters, while coming to a deeper awareness of the similarity of common human needs which bridges the different cultural settings. So there was some good growth opportunities for reflection, some insight into how "innocent and young" the film was both in technical terms and in portrayal of the realities of the cultural setting. I am still somewhat dismayed by the ending (which I share not disclose in this review) as it left me with a moral dilemma regarding a secondary character.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 29, 2012
Interesting film from Africa. It just appeared a lot of wasted time past before these two finally matured enough to get together. I understand the culture and what is "expected" from the son in a family but, these two finally got it together to still begin a life journey. Too bad for the wife and child though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 28, 2011
First and foremost I must admit that "Dakan" was not my piece of cake and I in my opinion it deserves two stars. But, since it the first and only (I guess) gay theme film coming from Africa, I decided to add the third star.
It tells a story of two students, one coming from very rich family, the second being poor. They enjoy a secret relationship until they both decide to come out to their parents.
Things get complicated and these two get seperated. One is made to work in his father's company, the second is sent to a tiny village to heal "his sickness"...
Somewhere in between a white girl appears and falls in love with the latter boy.
Well, it's very obvious that filmmakers didn't have a huge budget. But it didn't bother me as much as the time gaps hard to catch. I had to read very carefully the subtitles to find out that the action was moved one year forward.
There are as well moments of total silence which last way too long and make the film boring at some moments.
Moreover, the ending is quite disturbing. The scene in the hut, with crying baby. No spoken word and very dark atmosphere...Odd.

I am happy I saw this very rare picture, but I would never buy it.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 18, 2016
The movie is a quite interesting, and really look how culture affects our belief system. There was no audio in a section of the movie and I would have liked to return as a result, but could not spare the time to do so. All in all I think the movie is worth watching
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 24, 2013
Nice to see Africans in a movie about homosexuality especialy when you are always being told that it is unafrican. Enjoyed the storyline and the characters were believable. I understand that the film was shot many years ago and that is why the lighting and film quality isn't very clear. Overall a good buy and belongs in any african collection, especially the african gay collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2012
Every time I try to play the move I receive a message it is NOT available - this is despite the fact I have PAID for this item.
Why is this happening?? My money was available on time without ANY issues. I am VERY disappointed.
Please issue me a refund.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.