Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: DB2® SQL PL: Essential Guide for DB2® UDB on Linux™, UNIX®, Windows™, i5/OS™, and z/OS® (2nd Edition)
Safety Month Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Drowners The best from Bose just got wireless Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks STEM Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

HALL OF FAMEVINE VOICEon December 26, 2004
The book describes IBM's Procedural Language, which runs on their db2 servers. It is not a general purpose language, like C or Java. Rather, it is tied directly to db2 and IBM's implementation of SQL. But within this context, the book explains the expressive power of PL. It shows at length how you can write stored procedures, triggers and functions in PL. The level of detail and the cited examples should reassure you of PL's capability.

But why even write business logic code at the database layer? There have been other books on n-tier application design, which call for the locating of business logic in a middle tier and not at the database. The authors' rejoinder is that while that makes for an elegant design, practical experience shows that often, crucial logic needs to be at the database. This reduces networks traffic and can heavily improve perforance. Hence the need for PL, or something like it.

Be wary of the book's claim that PL lets you write "portable application logic". It is portable only between instances of db2 running under linux, unix, Microsoft Windows or IBM's operating systems. When you write embedded logic in PL, you are also embedding yourself or your company into db2. Which may indeed be fine by you. But just so you know.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 29, 2012
This is a FANTASTIC PL/SQL reference text for coding needs in the z/OS schema. LUW and iSeries are also documented. Examples are provided for every topic presented. The hardback cover was ordered and the paperback cover returned to ensure the broad utilization of the book would allow for a longer time frame. Multiple team members on the project team utilize this book for reference needs.

I would give it a 10 star rating is it were available!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 24, 2006
I didn't know anything about writing DB2 stored procedures until I bought this book. After reading it I have written several procedures to aid in data migration. It is well laid out and has all the necessary information. The best part is that you don't feel like you are reading a technical book.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 17, 2010
This is so typically IBM - a total lack of appreciation of the needs of the reader leading to a book that may well contain the information, but makes it near-impossible to find or use. This was a bad book before they updated it and merged in all three major platforms, but now it's just vile - big blocks of platform-specific material that you have to skip past make it a real chore to read.

The grammar is poor - if this book had a professional editor, they should be deeply ashamed. Much of the content is warmed-over material from the (also poor) official reference materials, and there is no real narrative structure. Finally, even the indexing is weak.

Don't waste your money - the online reference books have all the material, and Google will find you more helpful explanatory material.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
DB2 SQL PL: The Essential Guide for DB2 is a an excellent tutorial on the topic. This is a must for anyone learning this very important aspect of the DB2 software. The book takes you through a very detailed step by step approach of writing stored procedures with very good examples and very clear explanations. This book will also serve as a good reference.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 4, 2009
This is a very useful book for people who is going to develop PL SQL procedures. It covers many detail of the DB2 features with many useful samples. I highly recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 5, 2006
It is really a very good book from IBM about DB2-SPL. In our company we bougth a lot of DB2 book, but this is the very best.

from basics to tricks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 10, 2013
This book took my skills to the next level and made me more desirable to my clients. This is the direction to move in for platform portability.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 15, 2006
Has been extremely helpful. Good information
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 30, 2013
As another reviewer wrote, the text is not very well written but I was prepared to accept that because it provides a disc with examples etc and a colleague was using it. As I loaded the disc, I got Internal Error 2349. What does this mean? Why doesn't it say what it means? Only possible response was OK or to X-close the window. Each resulted in a rollback of the material loaded from the disc. This mystery renders the book near useless. Don't waste your $ on this.

(What happened to IBM? It used to be so good...)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.