Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What an interesting look at 9/11
What a shame that Amazon.com reviewer Bret Fetzer chose to look at the film in a political context rather than review it for the performances and technical achievement.

I first saw this film on Showtime and was pleasantly surprised by the performances, particularly those of Penny Johnson Jerald (of FOX's "24") as Condoleeza Rice, and Mary Gordon...
Published on August 3, 2004 by 'Sound' Advice

versus
15 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Extremely well-made and quite riveting.
Timothy Bottoms returns to the role of George Bush he originated on Comedy Central's "That's My Bush!." from the producers of South Park.

This is no comedy though.

I'm neither a republican nor a democrat and it's ashame that people view this film in a partisan manner, because that's not its purpose. This film was made by the same network that got so...
Published on September 5, 2004 by The Z Man


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What an interesting look at 9/11, August 3, 2004
This review is from: DC 9/11 - Time of Crisis (DVD)
What a shame that Amazon.com reviewer Bret Fetzer chose to look at the film in a political context rather than review it for the performances and technical achievement.

I first saw this film on Showtime and was pleasantly surprised by the performances, particularly those of Penny Johnson Jerald (of FOX's "24") as Condoleeza Rice, and Mary Gordon Murray as Laura Bush.

The intersplicing of real 9/11 footage with the filmmakers' shots is well done. And, while the end of the film could be seen as a campaign poster, the editing of the footage returns us to the reality that 3000 people lost their lives on September 11, 2001... which really is the point after all, isn't it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every American Should See This Film!!!, October 3, 2004
This review is from: DC 9/11 - Time of Crisis (DVD)
I just finished watching the film DC 9/11, and I was very impressed with it. Granted, it is a film that is made to present President Bush and his administration in the best light possible. This film definitely presents Bush as heroic in his handling of the 9/11 crisis. But, in a way, how else could Bush be portrayed? Put aside for a moment America's division over Bush's actions later in his administration (Iraq, etc.). Think back to Bush's performance as President in the week of the 9/11 attack, which is the subject of this film. I think any reasonable individual would say that Bush handled the situation extremely well, and was able to rally the nation to a firm resolve to recover from the tragedy.

Plus, when one thinks about it, a film that centers on an important leader can either present the person as very heroic or very villainous. There are few films that find the ability to present a person's flaws and virtures (Patton would be one of the few). Look at films like Thirteen Days (which portrays Kennedy as being near godlike in his handling of the Cuban Missile Crisis) or Nixon (which presents that President as pratically the devil incarnate).

There are several reasons why I think that every American should see this film:

1) Despite the film's pro-Bush slant, the film is actually very accurate in its potrayal of what happened in the White House during 9/11 and in the week following the attack. The best source available on this subject is Bob Woodward's book, Bush at War. The book details the players, actions, and decisions of the Bush administration from the day of the attacks to the military operations in Afghanistan. Woodward had full access to White House documents and personnel to write his book. As anyone who is familiar with Woodward's work knows, he is not anyone political patsy. In fact, he later wrote a book, Plan of Attack, which has been touted by both Bush supporters and anti-Bush people as THE book to read on the administration's decisions leading up to the invasion of Iraq. The reason why I bring up Woodward's book, Bush at War, is because this film's potrayal of events line up extremely well with the facts laid out in Woodward's book, and with other documented accounts of the events. Therefore, despite its biases, the film is a great, factual look at how the President and his administration handled the crisis, which is a vital story for Americans to know about our recent history.

2) The film also give clear indications about how the Bush administration came to the course it took in handling the war on terror. The military operations in Afghanistan and Iraq, the Patriot Act, and other elements, are clearly forshadowed in the scenes involving meetings between the President and the National Security Council. As President Bush himself told his people in one of these meetings, "we are fighting an unconventional war against a very different kind of enemy. We have to start thinking in unconventional ways." The film also shows through these scenes the disputes within the administration over how broad the war should be prosecuted (Powell and Rumsfeld and their disagreements over Iraq, for example), and the weaknesses in America's intelligence community before 9/11. For example, in one scene, President Bush asks the directors of the CIA and FBI why they were not communicating with each other about the suspected terrorists effectively, one of them replied, "well, sir, our computers don't network with each other." Bush looked like he was about explode with frustration.

3) Timothy Bottoms did a fantastic job in potraying President Bush. He lacks Bush's pronounced Texas accent, but that was probably a decision on his part and that of the filmmakers to avoid any chance of his performance coming off as some comical impersonation. Instead, Bottoms performs the role of President Bush with a focus on copying his demeanor (hand jestures, posture, facial expressions) mixed in with a focus on the President's emotions and mind set. You get to see the personal side of Bush in those days, since the filmmakers interviewed Bush and those close to him to get a sense of his thoughts and feelings at that time. It really shows Bush as someone who developed a resolve to do everything he could to prevent another 9/11. One can argue about how he went about fighting the war on terror later, but few can doubt that his actions come from an internal impulse to never see another day like 9/11. A masterful performance that should have earned Bottoms an Emmy, and would have if it were not for the political bias of those in Hollywood.

This film masterfully captures an important moment in history through the point of view of the leadership in America the time it happened.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Give the President his Props, September 19, 2004
This review is from: DC 9/11 - Time of Crisis (DVD)
It is only fair to aknowledge that DC 9/11 is essentially the way President Bush and the members of his administration tell their story. That said, it is all consistent with the known facts, and even republicans are entitled to express their point of view - particularly about their own actions.

If - make that when - a flattering behind-the-scenes drama is made about the Clinton White House, Clintonites will - rightly - expect it to be taken at face value; at least as long as there is nothing in it that is proven false. Those who disbelieve this portrayal of Bush and Company are entitled to their opinion. But, it is only opinion.

This account is plausible. In my opinion it is accurate. The President deserves recognition for the tremendous burden he has taken on. He has done better than most of us would have - and he has not complained. Laura Bush, Condaleeza Rice, Colin Powell, Karen Hughes and many others portrayed here deserve credit for rising to this tragic occasion. The War on Terror is a greater challenge than any of them expected when they signed on at the Bush White House.

It is amazing that Timothy Bottoms could play a serious George W. after playing him as a likable buffoon on "That's My Bush". The rest of the cast were also excellent. At times I was reminded of some of the better episodes of "The West Wing".

All in all; one side of the story very well told.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How Can These People Hate This Movie?, September 6, 2004
By 
The JuRK (Our Vast, Cultural Desert) - See all my reviews
This review is from: DC 9/11 - Time of Crisis (DVD)
A friend of mine had taped this movie for me since I didn't have Showtime and I've been waiting for it to arrive on DVD since then (so the 1-star review slamming this film for being made during a political season is WRONG: it was made a year or two ago).

It's a straight forward telling of the events of 9/11 from the White House perspective. Anyone watching it will be able to relate since I'm sure all of us know where we were and what we were doing at the exact same time.

But I really wonder about the venomous 1-stars I see on here: do you hate President Bush so much that you can't even recognize what a horrible tragedy was committed against us that day?

That you would completely trash a well-crafted film documenting what happened to this country?

This is "propaganda"? Read Bob Woodward's BUSH AT WAR, look at the record. I'm completely flabbergasted at these charges.

I'm not questioning your patriotism. I'm questioning your sanity.

This is a great movie with a moving ending.

Because it happened.

Grow up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Film Escaped.............and freedom rings........, September 9, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: DC 9/11 - Time of Crisis (DVD)
DC 9/11 TIME OF CRISIS (2003) Directed by Brian Trenchard Smith.
Produced and written by Lionel Chetwynd.

Starring Timothy Bottoms (as President George W. Bush) Lawrence
Pressman (as Vice President Dick Cheney), George Takei (as Norman
Mineta) and Penny Johnson as Condoleezza Rice.

The film tells the story of the September 11 attacks by Muslim
terrorists through the experience of President George W. Bush and his
administration from his being informed of the first plane striking the
World Trade Center while reading to a group of school children and
ending with his speech before Congress on Sept 20, 2001. In between,
the viewer is a fly on the wall as Bush guides the country through its
worst crisis since Dec 7, 1941 making decisions both in the short term
and in the long term as he establishes the policies that will define
his next eight years in office and the decade.

The film reminds VERY much of both the historical epics that Hollywood
used to make like THE LONGEST DAY and TORA TORA TORA and those superb
historical miniseries the British used to make in the 70s. This is pure
no nonsense historical drama at its best........something this viewer
thought was a lost art in Hollywood. Every major player is identified.
Dates and times are supplied. Real life footage is intercut with the
dramatized footage seemlessly. The script is tight and accurate. The
acting is generally very good to the extent that even before a
particular person is identified, the viewer will go...."Oh that is
Donald Rumsfeld! That is Dick Cheney!" Only the actor playing Colin
Powell did not seem to capture the man himself. And sometimes the film
goes overboard in identifying EVERYONE! Did we really need to know
that the woman standing behind Dick Cheney was supposed to be Mary
Matalin??

Bottoms will probably be the definitive portrayal of Bush for the
forseeeable future. Without quite doing a Texas twang, he manages to
get to the man's essence. The scenes of Bush consulting the Bible and
praying were unexpected and sincerly done. One was surprised. In
another five years such a scene would be forbidden in a Hollywood
production. Penny Johnson IS Condoleeza Rice to such an extent that she
played the part again in the liberal banned PATH TO 9/11.

The film is probably the best dramatization of an American President
since the 70s/early 80s. One is thinking of THE MISSILES OF OCTOBER or
the miniseries KENNEDY and surprisingly it is about a Republican
president!! Usually when they are not making movies about how Lincoln
was a homosexual, the only Republican President that ever existed for
Hollywood was Richard Nixon.

Hollywood, and indeed the entire world wide artistic community has
debased itself with the avalanche of excrement it has voided upon the
world concerning the 9/11 War making not art or even movies but things,
manifestations of patholgy that history will look upon in appalled
horror. While there are a few minor efforts worthy of credit, thus far
there are only three great films on the subject the banned PATH TO
9/11, FLIGHT 93 that the Left produced the hideous UNITED 93 to try and
trick people from seeing and finally this which has utterly flumoxed
the Left over what to do about.

It is a original film covering both a Republican President and the
Sept 11 attacks in a educational manner.

It is a superb historical drama/epic of the type rarely made that is
ennobling.

It is a well done film on its own right that is entertaining.

In short it is everything Art is supposed to be and so utterly alien
to the modern artistic community.

Thus they ignore it hoping it will just go away.

The viewer should not.

Very possibly a film that will be eventually recognized as a classic
of the type.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Extremely well-made and quite riveting., September 5, 2004
This review is from: DC 9/11 - Time of Crisis (DVD)
Timothy Bottoms returns to the role of George Bush he originated on Comedy Central's "That's My Bush!." from the producers of South Park.

This is no comedy though.

I'm neither a republican nor a democrat and it's ashame that people view this film in a partisan manner, because that's not its purpose. This film was made by the same network that got so much heat for making the Ronald Reagan movie starring James Brolin. I might also point out that Showtime is far more liberal in it's programming (re: Queer as Folk, The L Word, etc) than HBO and it came to a shock to many people that they were even remotely involved.

People should look beyond partisan politics and watch this riveting account of the days following September 11th. (...)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Have common sense, c before u vote for scary(flip flop)kerry, September 13, 2004
By 
This review is from: DC 9/11 - Time of Crisis (DVD)
I may be only 28yrs old & being uninformed in 2000 I voted for Gore, but what I have seen during & since 9-11 for my childrens & future grandchildrens sake we need to keep this man in office.

I can understand if you are a typical bush hater but this movie is very close to the reality of what happened that day, a must see for any voter regardless of party or beliefs. To see how Al Gore has acted the past 3 yrs & his rants close to the way Howard Dean or Micheal Moore speak make me wonder how he would have handled 9-11...This movie is the first one of its kind to show how our president handled this day & shows that only 99% of the media & left coast loonys in hollywood are anti-bush.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Politics Aside, good study in presidential command, September 13, 2004
By 
This review is from: DC 9/11 - Time of Crisis (DVD)
If anyone who posted that this was such a bad movie, maybe you forgot what it felt like on 9/11. I guess if this is revisionism then the Discovery Channel and PBS are on the revisionist band wagon by showing a National Geographic Documentary on Air Force One, and a President and 9/11 special. This docudrama caught that day, showing the mistakes of the Phoenix memos, and the initial responses. Politics aside, this film shows The President's true feelings and that he did respond during those infamous 7 minutes. Let's try and leave politics out of a movie review. (...) Just remember this, if you were President what would you have done? Back to the DVD- the actors looked and sounded like the people. Bottoms did great as President Bush and Lawrence Pressman (coach in American Pie and in Winds of War on TV) was uncannily a double for Vice President Dick Cheney. It did not run too long and was well filmed. Regardless of party, it's one worth watching or at least renting. For future reference- this site should be a movie review site. Although it is the marketplace of ideas, no matter how unrelated they are to a MOVIE REVIEW.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars they got it right..., August 25, 2004
This review is from: DC 9/11 - Time of Crisis (DVD)
All you have to do is watch the documentary "9/11 The President's Story", that aired on TLC, to see how closely this movie follows the actual facts. President Bush brought us all together and we need that feeling of unity again. This movie will do that. Let's not forget what happened to us on 9/11. Bret Fetzer, representing Amazon, writes that this movie is an " unrepentantly flag-waving, pro-Bush depiction of the President's actions", which tells you all you have to know about his politics. I'm proud of the flag, the USA and President Bush. If you want an anti USA propaganda piece, watch michael moore's quasi documentary and reach for the "air sickness bag". If you want the truth, buy this movie and find the documentary "9/11 The President's Story".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "we're fighting a state of mind", August 5, 2004
This review is from: DC 9/11 - Time of Crisis (DVD)
Fast paced and riveting, this is one of the best Showtime productions I've seen, and certainly the most moving, and is an excellent dramatization of 9/11 from the perspective of the Bush Administration, and chronicles the events that were taken from that fateful day to the president's speech to congress on September 20th.
The actors are marvelous, and convincing in their parts not just because of any physical similarities, but more impressive are the speech patterns and body language that are so like the people they are portraying.

Timothy Bottoms is terrific as President Bush, with his mix of toughness and sentiment, and the subtle variations from the halting, insecure first talk to the nation which is perfectly replicated, to the strong and affecting episode at Ground Zero. Other memorable performances come from John Cunningham as Donald Rumsfeld, Lawrence Pressman: Dick Cheney, Mary Gordon Murray: Laura Bush, Penny Johnson: Condi Rice, Gerry Mendicino: George Tenet, Allan Royal: Karl Rove, Scott Alan Smith: Ari Fleischer, Carolyn Scott: Karen Hughes, Andrew Gillies: Tony Blair, Stephen Macht: Paul Wolfowitz, and Gregory Itzin is stupendous as John Ashcroft.

Written and produced by Lionel Chetwynd, and directed by Brian Trenchard-Smith, this is respectful and accurate, and has actual footage of the events cleverly interspersed with the dramatic interpretation. The scene from the National Cathedral on September 14th, and the final section at the Capitol are particularly well edited.
As a political junkie and C-SPAN addict, I found this to be a faithful and meticulous telling of the horror of 9/11, and our response to the faceless hate that is terrorism, and it is refreshing to see a film that shows respect for the office of the president.
Way above average cable production; total running time is 128 minutes.
May we never forget 9/11, and God bless the brave souls who fight for our freedom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

DC 9/11 - Time of Crisis
DC 9/11 - Time of Crisis by Brian Trenchard-Smith (DVD - 2004)
$9.98
In stock on September 23, 2014
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.