Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really enjoyed it
This movie presents an entertaining and informative depiction of how the course of government policies can impact the lives of not only people in a city, but the city itself. At a time when more and more cities around America find themselves facing increased corruption and budgetary pressures, the lessons from Detroit's history are as valuable as ever and this film lays...
Published on January 24, 2012 by ADK5000

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but Lacking
I found this DVD interesting, but not what I was looking for. I grew up in Detroit and wanted more information on the whole area. This DVD did not provide it.
Published 17 months ago by EAA


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really enjoyed it, January 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: DEFORCE: America's Past. America's Future. Detroit's Present. (DVD)
This movie presents an entertaining and informative depiction of how the course of government policies can impact the lives of not only people in a city, but the city itself. At a time when more and more cities around America find themselves facing increased corruption and budgetary pressures, the lessons from Detroit's history are as valuable as ever and this film lays those lessons bare wonderfully. From coercion, to corruption, to blatant incompetence in the highest seats of power, this story of Detroit reveals an intertwined labyrinth of individual and political action that brought Detroit where it is today. I've shown it to friends who were from Michigan and the Detroit area, as well as friends who have never been there, and all have found it to be absorbing and instructive. This film demonstrates that there are a lot to of lessons to learn in Detroit's history, and hopefully its future. Very entertaining. Beautifully shot and told. I would highly recommend this film to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Accurate Depiction of Detroit City, February 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: DEFORCE: America's Past. America's Future. Detroit's Present. (DVD)
Missed this movie when it was on PBS, and so glad to find it here on Amazon. As a long time Detroiter, I found the depiction of the City and the people living here to be fair and balanced. Many of the problems stated are repeats of decades prior only exacerbated. Would recommend this to anyone who wants to get a real peek at the city, not just the downtown or riverfront areas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Documentary - Highly Recommended, December 13, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: DEFORCE: America's Past. America's Future. Detroit's Present. (DVD)
Wow...This is a powerful documentary that is not afraid to ask some difficult questions. The focus is on the once great city of Detroit, which we know has its fair share of problems over the past 50 years. As a resident of the area, I appreciate the focus on my hometown but I believe the message of the movie can be applied to any major metropolis in America. As they say, the best way to avoid mistakes in the future is to learn from mistakes of the past. This movie does a great job exploring social and political issues that drove Detroit to what it is today. Highly recommended to anyone interested in a good documentary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Honest Protrayal of Detroit, September 30, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: DEFORCE: America's Past. America's Future. Detroit's Present. (DVD)
I initially viewed this documentary on PBS, however, unlike most documentaries, it seemed to have only air once and very late at night. The producers of this documentary about Detroit Michigan did an excellent job of getting to the heart of the problems of the city. Before you can solve a problem, you first must honestly acknowledge the problems. Hopefully, this will help to heal the deep wounds that scar the city of Detroit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the one., November 16, 2013
This review is from: DEFORCE: America's Past. America's Future. Detroit's Present. (DVD)
If you watch only one movie to try and find out how and why Detroit got to where it is today, DEFORCE is it. There are other docs out there, and some are beautifully shot (Detropia), but none will give you answers like this one. I was born and raised in the Detroit area, have been back several times a year for the last couple of decades, and this movie nails it. The blogosphere is full of people saying "it's because of the decline of the auto industry", or outsourcing, or the unions, or corruption, and all of those things may have have had their effects, but none are the real answer. As the jacket on the DVD says: "Detroit's problems are 100% political in nature." For a clear presentation of the larger truth - stuff you don't hear the talking heads saying - watch the movie. Should be required for all state and national politicians, both to "fix" Detroit - and to prevent other American cities from ending up in a similar situation. Superbly written, shot and edited.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DEFORCE: American's Pat. America's Future. Detroit's Present, March 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: DEFORCE: America's Past. America's Future. Detroit's Present. (DVD)
This dvd presents a clear picture of how Detroit was formed and the problems it faces. It presents both sides in a clear and concise manner. Good for the teacher and people interested in history, politics etc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but Lacking, February 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: DEFORCE: America's Past. America's Future. Detroit's Present. (DVD)
I found this DVD interesting, but not what I was looking for. I grew up in Detroit and wanted more information on the whole area. This DVD did not provide it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The real story of Detroit, January 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: DEFORCE: America's Past. America's Future. Detroit's Present. (DVD)
Detroit is an important study for all cities in North America - what happened there can happen anywhere. The movie clearly shows the results of decades of systemic racism combined with unrestrained capitalist ideals and corruption at all levels. It is so sad to see such waste.

But there is more to Detroit than is shown in this movie, and that is why I haven't given it 5 stars. There are tremendous cultural and artistic resources that provide a counterpoint to the decay. This is a much better movie than Detropia if you want to understand what lead to Detroit's current state, but it paints too bleak a picture. Watch the movie, then go to Detroit and see for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

DEFORCE: America's Past. America's Future. Detroit's Present.
$12.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.