Currently unavailable.
We don't know when or if this item will be back in stock.

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Rowenta Pressure Iron & Steamer

3 out of 5 stars 25 customer reviews

Currently unavailable.
We don't know when or if this item will be back in stock.
Currently unavailable. We don't know when or if this item will be back in stock.

Product Details

  • Shipping Weight: 11.5 pounds
  • ASIN: B000ND3FU6
  • Item model number: DG 5030
  • Average Customer Review: 3.0 out of 5 stars 25 customer reviews
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #2,930,602 in Home & Kitchen (See Top 100 in Home & Kitchen)
  • Product Warranty: For warranty information about this product, please click here

     Would you like to give feedback on images or tell us about a lower price?

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

I purchased Model DG5030 to replace my old Rowenta Pressure Iron and Steamer (with blue water tank). My old iron was perfect and I expected this new one to be even better. However, much to my chagrin, it has two major defects: no matter what the iron temperature or steam settings, water drips (sometimes quite a bit) onto the fabric to be ironed. Also, since the water tank is completely enclosed, one cannot see how much water remains in the tank. Upon contacting Rowenta, I was told that these 2 defects are being "duly noted" in their customer files and that I was not the only consumer to complain. I am greatly disappointed that a company with the stature of Rowenta would not either offer to fix the iron, considering its cost or let me return it. I have written and e-mailed them with the further information that I knew of several other consumers with the same problem(s) so this iron obviously needs re-designing. Until these problems are addressed, I would not advise purchasing this model.
7 Comments 51 of 51 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
I've recently started ironing everything I wear. This made me yearn to ease the job with high end equipment. I bought this steam generator after reading the "professional quality for the home" reviews along with a Rowenta expert ironing board.

After ~10 tanks (which go much faster than I expected) of tap water I can say that this is a VERY good iron and will get your clothes looking good...but not as if they were done at the cleaners. Compared to my girlfriends extreme budget iron I can see a difference...but compared to my Mother's Rowenta iron(non-steam generator type)..I can tell little difference.

I took one star for the high cost and another due to the LONG waiting periods for the "steam generator" to generate steam, about ~10+ minutes when filled completely.

For your average user, save some $ and get a typical iron as it is much more convenient as well.
Comment 22 of 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
I returned this iron the day after I bought it. It leaks water no matter what setting it is on....leaks is too mild a word. It pours water...and the vertical steam option is laughable. It absolutely does NOT even relax the wrinkles in curtains or any other fabric. When I tried to iron on the low setting, white marks appeared on the fabric. There was nothing about this iron that pleased me. I called customer service and they went through the same things that the pamphlet in the box tell you to do. Nothing improved the iron.
1 Comment 22 of 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
I have purchased this Iron and it works perfectly. I keep the base unit on the floor the cord has enough length to adequately reach all aspects Ironing board. I think the poeple who said it leaked keeps the unit on the ironing board. Keep the unit on the floor and you will guarantee that only seam will rise and exit the Iron. I fill it with warm water to cut down on the amount of time it takes to heat the water. It works at lighning speed. one swipe and your done. My Ironing lady now takes half the time to Iron 4 baskets of clothes. Highly recommended. Also remember to clean and empty the container after use. Go get one.
1 Comment 20 of 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
I've owned several Rowenta irons, including an earlier model Rowenta steam generator and have been pleased with all of them. When I purchased this model to replace my earlier model, I expected to be as happy with it as I have been with the others.

It does produce lots and lots of steam. More than earlier models of steam generators, and the water tank cap has been re-designed and is easier to open. It should be just the ticket for the seamstress and professional dressmaker.

Unfortunately this one has dimples on the bottom of the iron which is not always a good thing for the dressmaker because it tends to 'emboss' delicate fabrics unless special care is taken. Earlier models did not have these dimples.

This model also drips water along with the steam. This is the bane of -anyone- who uses an iron and was a problem for Rowenta in the '90s but they did fixed that problem in the late 90's. However, it's back now and in an expensive model. There are trouble shooting solutions in the owner's pamphlet for solving this problem but none seem to work 100% of the time, just occasionally and not for long.

I'll continue to use the iron. I like the abundance of steam and the fact that I can use it for some time without refilling it but I'm not happy that I have to cope with the dripping problem. Rowenta *can* do better!
Comment 18 of 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
I like the steam that the iron puts out, but if not careful, you will get lots of water marks. I also think that for the price of this iron it should have included a water level so that you can see with the water gets low. I also do not like the amount of time you have to wait for the iron to be ready (7 minutes or more). Not having to fill the tank so much is a plus when you have a lot of ironing to do. When using the right amount of steam it does a great job.
Comment 16 of 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
By SS on December 25, 2007
I was so excited when I saw a Bloomingdales store demonstration of this item and bought it on the spot. What a disappointment. This iron leaks water, no matter what setting you put it on. I have ruined several clothing items, due to either water spots or burned water spots. Waste of money.
1 Comment 11 of 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews