Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Valentine's Day Shop Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon King easycohice_2016 All-New Amazon Fire TV Subscribe & Save Valentine's Day Cards Amazon Gift Card Offer chiraq chiraq chiraq  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Prime Exclusive Savings in Video Games Winter Sports on Amazon.com SnS

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 10, 2011
Wem es primär ums Lesen geht kann ich die Kindle-Edition uneingeschränkt empfehlen.
Es ist einfach unglaublich komfortabel auf diese Weise "Die Zeit" zu LESEN. Man hält ein Taschenbuch mit den Texten der Zeit in der Hand. Die Navigation innerhalb einer Ausgabe ist vorbildlich und sehr ergonomisch gelöst (insbesondere im Vergleich zu den misslungenen iOS-Apps). Man blättert wie in einem Buch innerhalb eines Artikels und am Ende beginnt gleich der nächste. Bei eventuellem Missfallen oder Desinteresse gelangt man instantan per Steuerkreuz zum nächsten oder vorherigen Artikel. Das Fehlen jeglicher Social-Media Anbindung erleichtert weiterhin das Lesen.

Hier noch einmal, was man bekommt und was nicht:
- Alle Texte der Zeit in ausgezeichnet lesbarer Form.
- Die meisten Texte des Zeit-Magazins, erfreulicherweise die Kolumnen (z.B. Martenstein), merkwürdigerweise den Text der Deutschlandkarte ohne Karte, leider nicht "Ich habe einen Traum", die Rätsel oder die Schachkolumne.
- Keinerlei Bilder oder Info-Grafiken

Preislich unterscheiden sich Digital-Abo und Kindle-Abo derzeit kaum. Man hat also die Wahl zwischen Lieferkomfort per Whispernet oder manuellem Download + Audio.
0Comment11 of 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 6, 2011
Die Zeit (German pronunciation: [di' 'tsa't], literally "The Time" or "Times") is a German nationwide weekly newspaper, published in Hamburg, that is highly respected for its quality journalism. It is definitely the best German weekly newspaper you can get. With about 490,000 copies and a readership of above 2 million, it is the most widely read German weekly newspaper. DIE ZEIT provides detailed background information on the news you might already have read before in the daily press or caught on radio and television. Also DIE ZEIT covers topics that aren't breaking news anymore.

The general political direction is centrist. Conflicting opinions are printed for most of the main topics so you can draw your own conclusions. I like this much more, than most of the biased articles in left or right wing magazines. The articles are consistently well informed and well researched, the writing style is excellent. Therefore the paper is considered to be highbrow.
0Comment17 of 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 12, 2011
Seit ich meinen Kindle habe, habe ich darauf gewartet, endlich DIE ZEIT auf dem Gerät lesen zu können. Seit ein paar Monaten ist das jetzt möglich.
Es fehlen zwar die Bilder und die Rätselseiten aus dem Zeitmagazin, aber ansonsten ist die Kindle-Ausgabe gut gemacht und lässt sich hervorragend lesen. Der Preis für das Monatsabo ist günstiger als für die Printversion, was ich angemessen finde.

Bilder und Rätselseiten hole ich mir aus der Online-Version und genieße es, endlich wieder einen Sonntagmorgen mit Zeit-Lesen vertrödeln zu können.
Und zum Lesen im Bett oder am Strand ist die Kindle-Version meiner Meinung nach unschlagbar.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 1, 2011
This is by far the cheapest way of reading Die Zeit, Germany's leading liberal/libertarian weekly. Even the Kindle subscription on Germany's Amazon site is more expensive. The content is formatted carefully and is fairly complete, compared to the print edition, which sells for $270/year or $22.5/month. Given the in-depth nature of coverage and the bargain price tag, I don't mind the absence of photographs etc. on the Kindle edition too much.

Navigation on the Kindle 3 (or Kindle Keyboard, as they call it now) is excellent and very efficient. On the DX (which Amazon never upgraded to the new Kindle OS) navigation is a bit more cumbersome, but ok. Unfortunately, you cannot have Die Zeit delivered to Kindle readers on Android tablets or even the new Kindle Fire, which is somewhat frustrating.

Update (December 17, 2011): The Kindle version of Die Zeit now works on the Kindle Reader for Android tablets and on the Kindle Fire, both as one-time download and as a recurring automatic download for subscriptions.
22 comments1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 30, 2013
I read DIE ZEIT for 10 years now and to have it on Kindle was a revolution since that format allows you to read it from A-Z and furthermore on time outside Gernany.
DIE ZEIT is unique and living in the US and the UK I can say there is not any one newspaper or magazine that comes close to its level of journalism - its in a class of its own. It has a very broad spectrum of topics [politics, science, economics, literature, children, travel]. Besides their journalists also politician, writers, scientists, celebrities and their own readers write articles. Die Zeit is very independent, not political/socially opinionated. I find more than 80% of articles extremely well written, deeply analyzed, highly sophisticated and innovative. I also find it astonishing that die Zeit is surviving - even increasing volume - in times where many papers struggle and where we are flooded by cheap superficial online journalism and 'junk - media'.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 15, 2011
Does anyone know, can you qualify for downloading the audio edition when you subscribe through Amazon? You would need a login for [...] to download the audio. My German reading is good enough to read the newspaper without problem, but being an American leaves me with less opportunity to listen. I would, ideally, like to do the two in tandem. Can this be done?
0Comment3 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 16, 2015
I have found "Die Zeit" informative and apparently unbiased as far as I can see! It has a lot of interesting articles of happenings
in Europe! Some articles perhaps a bit boring but that probably depends on the reader and since I am reading in the evening in
bed the boring parts help me to go to sleep!

I was born in Hamburg and came over to Australia as a young man to have a bit of a look around for a couple of years, and am still doing that after nearly 64 years, but of course I am still interested in what is going on in Europe and "Die Zeit"gives articles
of happenings in several countries and in general in all of Europe.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 27, 2013
The quality of the articles would certainly qualify "DIE ZEIT" for five stars (and I do not think I need to comment on that). The e-paper on the other hand could still need some more care. Although much improved over the last few months, there are still places where content from the printed paper is missing or mal-formatted. A version (maybe even fillable?) of "Um die Ecke gedacht" would be highly appreciated.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 11, 2012
Living in New Zealand and being able to read this excellent German Newspaper just after it had been printed is a great improvement to my lifestyle. Die Zeit is a newspaper that covers current events and Zeitgeist with expertise and great depth and gives me the feeling to be in touch with whats up in Europe and of course especially in Germany. It is greatly inspirational.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 20, 2014
Die Zeit is known as an 'upscale' newspaper liked in the business and financial circles. Important events and persons are presented in the best German language, yet easy to read. I personally would recommend Die Zeit to a German ex-patriot for enjoyment and to remain fluent in the mother tongue, and also to students of the German language.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$19.99
$14.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.