Customer Reviews


69 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


163 of 164 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indispensable for the Beginner
When I decided that I wanted to start painting, I bought five "How To" books. This one is my favorite, hands down. The book is well organized, well written, and contains a lot of beautifully detailed photographs. The author has kept the text to a minimum, letting the photographs do much of the talking, which works far better for me than other books that have more emphasis...
Published on August 15, 2006 by Kathy V.

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars nice book
this is a nice book, however I needed something a little more basic. painting is all new for me. i found this other book that has help me. Lee Hammond's Big Book of Acrylic Painting: Fast, easy techniques
Published 13 months ago by dede


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

163 of 164 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indispensable for the Beginner, August 15, 2006
By 
Kathy V. (Los Angeles, CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: DK Art School: An Introduction to Acrylics (Paperback)
When I decided that I wanted to start painting, I bought five "How To" books. This one is my favorite, hands down. The book is well organized, well written, and contains a lot of beautifully detailed photographs. The author has kept the text to a minimum, letting the photographs do much of the talking, which works far better for me than other books that have more emphasis on written instruction.

In only 72 pages, every topic is covered, and no question is left unanswered. It begins with a brief history of the medium, then moves on to cover color, paint types, brushes, painting surfaces, tools, and techniques, as well as galleries of different painting styles. There's even a section on experimental approaches, such as stenciling and inventive scraping. Rather than presenting a series of exercises (as many books do), this author encourages experimentation and discovering your own personal style, an approach that really inspired me to pick up a brush and get started.

Also worth mentioning is that every photograph and illustration is in color . . . really GOOD color. This may sound like a no-brainer, but a few of the other books I purchased contained a lot of black-and-white photos. Hey, you can't learn to paint in black and white!

Experienced artists may find the material here a bit too rudimentary, but for the true novice, like myself, this book is a winner. If you're looking for that ONE book to get you started, this is it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


127 of 130 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Book That Is Better Than Most, January 18, 2002
By 
"noy_noynoynoy" (Ukiah, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: DK Art School: An Introduction to Acrylics (Paperback)
This book is great. Not only does it start out with the basics, it then takes you deeper, showing you supplies that are really worth gettting. After they show you the basics, they talk about different brush strokes, and color mixing. They show you why acrylic is such a great medium, and the different effects you can achieve using it. Then they begin to talk about light, and have an example painting that you can paint along with. They cover many different forms. Get this book if you want to know about acrylics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


67 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just The Basics, March 22, 2005
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: DK Art School: An Introduction to Acrylics (Paperback)
For someone just starting out in the painting feild, acrylic or otherwise, this book is gold. It has all the basic information one needs to create an image. If you want to paint, but don't know where to start, this will definately be the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for Beginners, April 16, 2005
This review is from: DK Art School: An Introduction to Acrylics (Paperback)
Very informative and easy to read. Wonderful pictures! If you are new to acrylics, this is a great place to start!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Book, Not Great Book, July 3, 2007
By 
Jesse Acosta (Spokane, WA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: DK Art School: An Introduction to Acrylics (Paperback)
Considering that I have yet to find a complete compedium of Acrylic techniques, this is probably one of the better books out there, especially for beginners. This book will give you the short and skinny on your tools, paint and mediums, and canvases/surfaces. After that, the book starts giving examples on how to tranfer your image onto the canvas with pencil prior to painting, using opaque methods to painting, transparent(watercolor style) methods, drybrushing, scumbling, and more. Then at the end of the book, it contains a series of gallry examples in acrylic to inspire. This book is a good foundation book, and gives many approaches to using acrylic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great basic book, September 5, 2009
By 
Diana L. Dickerson (Southeast Michigan USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: DK Art School: An Introduction to Acrylics (Paperback)
This is a great book as a basic staple for reference and for ideas.
I've been painting for over twenty years and I still thought this was an excellent guide for color and style as well as being a refresher of basic techniques.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just what a beginner needs, February 8, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: DK Art School: An Introduction to Acrylics (Paperback)
I found this book to be just what I needed to get started with acrylics. It is concise, yet has all that a beginner needs to know what to buy and how to get started. I found the simple exercises very helpful and look forward to trying the more complex techniques as I gain confidence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT beginner Arylic Book - Simple & Loaded with Pictures, July 13, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I bought this book based on all the other reviews and now I too love it. Loads of beautiful color pictures and examples and written clearly. If you're beginning acrylics - get this !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A keeper, August 2, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: DK Art School: An Introduction to Acrylics (Paperback)
I have a fairly large collection of painting books and this one is definitely a favorite. It clearly illustrates tools, techniques and examples for a wide variety of painting styles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A pearl in a sea of empty oyster shells, July 12, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: DK Art School: An Introduction to Acrylics (Paperback)
Good instructions. Good techniques. Good information. Bargain price.
This struggling artist is happy with her purchase. Now if I can just defeat my fear of the blank canvas..........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

DK Art School: An Introduction to Acrylics
DK Art School: An Introduction to Acrylics by Ray Smith (Paperback - June 8, 1998)
$10.00 $7.09
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.