Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!
I'm a dabbler in Ancient Egyptian history and this is a great buy. At under $15 I think it's a great deal considering it's hardcover and has a TON of full color pictures. It covers a wide array of topics from Geography to Pharoahs. The book is handsome enough to display on a coffee table, detailed enough to get a taste of ancient egypt, and still simple enough that it...
Published on May 21, 2002 by mimser

versus
3 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a mom in Nashville
I got this book because my 5-year old wanted to learn more about the ancyent Egypt. The images are pretty cool, but the information and contains are randomly written (maybe this is good for older kids that already know some about the ancient Egypt culture). However, you could get a better introductory book for 10 bucks more.
Published on August 21, 2006 by Gizul


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, May 21, 2002
I'm a dabbler in Ancient Egyptian history and this is a great buy. At under $15 I think it's a great deal considering it's hardcover and has a TON of full color pictures. It covers a wide array of topics from Geography to Pharoahs. The book is handsome enough to display on a coffee table, detailed enough to get a taste of ancient egypt, and still simple enough that it would make a terrific gift for a child of any age (I'm 23 and I think this book is fantastic).
Other topics include: daily life of the Egyptian (not just nobility!), tools, jewelry, mummification, writing system, agriculture, textiles, food, religion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SEE ancient Egypt, January 28, 2001
By 
DK eyewitness books are some of the greatest non-fiction books around. The distinctive white background and high-quality photography gives this book an edge over any other nonfiction picture book. And -- these pictures are real! They're beautiful museum-quality photos of all things related to Egypt, accompanied by informative captions and text.
Learn about Egypt, mummies, egyptian gods, and everyday life in Egypt. SEE the objects common to everyday life in Egypt. If you know someone (young or old) who is fascinated by Egypt and archaeology, then you must introduce them to this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pictures, Pictures, Pictures!, August 6, 2000
By 
Kindle Customer "asrd1" (Lincolnton, NC United States) - See all my reviews
While the presentation makes this an excellent book for younger readers, the content and photographs make this a great reference book for all ages. One could have a shelf of books and still not have the pictoral breadth of this volume. Belongs in every serious collection of books on Ancient Egypt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ancient egypt, April 12, 2001
By 
Heather Staats (Taylor, Mi United States) - See all my reviews
this is a great book on ancient egypt. this book has 60 pages that are filled with lots of info. this book has a great overveiw on ancient egypt and is filled with lots of great colored pictures on every page. if you are into ancient egypt you will want to buy this book that is great for all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid introduction to Ancient Egypt for younger readers, August 4, 2008
By 
Steven A. Peterson (Hershey, PA (Born in Kewanee, IL)) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This is another in the series of books published under the "Eyewitness Books" imprimatur. These are designed for younger readers, to introduce them to important subjects. The focus here? Ancient Egypt.

To understand human history, a sense of Egypt's role is critical, just as the study of Greece and Rome. This book does a nice job for its audience; those who want in depth discussion ought to look elsewhere.

The volume begins with a brief history of Egypt and notes the role of the Pharaohs (including an enumeration of some of the more important/renowned (e.g., Akhenaton, Ramses, Thutmosis, and Tutankhamen), with some consideration of the nature of the royal court.

In some ways, as with many others in this series, the approach is "pastiche," featuring a variety of subjects, each discussed quite briefly. But, when one pouts these together, the end result is a decent introduction to key features of the subject covered.

One gets a sound introduction to "everyday life" in Ancient Egypt, including coverage of such topics as food and drink, song and dance, magic and medicine, writing, adorning the body, and so on.

In short, a nice volume for younger readers, to provide them some background regarding an important subject for understanding who we are and where we came from. Also worth noting is the wonderful set of rich illustrations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The treasure that was Ancient Egypt, December 12, 2008
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Books: Ancient Egypt (Hardcover)
I just reviewed another book for children about the treasures found in the tomb of Tutankhamun and sold at his latest traveling exhibit in Dallas. Now here is DK's Eyewitness version of "Ancient Egypt" for comparison.

Let's stop now. There is no comparison. Inside the Tomb of Tutankhamun is designed to study tomb treasures and the context in which they were created. It is perfect for its purpose. Eyewitness books are more inclusive of the country, time period and all cultural and religious aspects of the context. Created for grades 4-8, the maturity level makes this one more in-depth and serious. All the artwork is comprised of artifacts from various tombs and Egypt herself.

The lay-out is similar in that the history, geography, culture, daily life, and royalty as gods are presented. The treatment of mummification is a bit more detailed, as are magic and medicine, sacred rituals, writing, weapons of war, buying and selling, hunting and fishing, and so on. "Eyewitness Ancient Egypt" is more detailed and contains far more actual objects to illustrate the articles.

The section on Food and Drink shows the flat, leavened bread (which contained grit, the cause of the grinding down of teeth), grapes, pomegranates, dates, figs, and palm fruit. Toys and games show that children of all places and all times enjoyed such things. Just these two categories alone show the more advanced level of a collection of items from historical and archaeological significance.

What happened to Ancient Egypt? Alexander, of course. Then Ptolemy, who founded a dynasty that lasted until 30 B.C. when the Romans took over until the Christian conversion of the Empire. In the 7th cent. A.D., the Arabs conquered and turned Egypt into the Muslim country it is today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Always expect the best from DK Eyewitness books, June 10, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Books: Ancient Egypt (Hardcover)
DK Eyewitness books belong on your child's bookshelf. They explain and synthesize the subject matter and provide startlingly beautiful photographs and images. This book is no exception.

This was the basis for our family summer homeschool unit on Egypt. All ages can find interesting information inside. Well-written text, very descriptive captions, and wide-ranging information. And the images! Beautiful. Lead your children to a deeper understanding of the culture, beliefs, and technology of Ancient Egypt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific Information and Photography, January 1, 2009
By 
sk94 (Alexandria, VA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Books: Ancient Egypt (Hardcover)
I purchased this book for my 3 1/2 year old son who for some reason loves the subject matter of ancient Egypt. This book is very sturdy for his little fingers. It also has excellent information that is easy to understand. The pictures are fantastic and he pours over them in his room, at Church, at Grandmas, at restaurants...you get the point. The book also came with a fold out poster and a clip art disc. The disc doesn't have a lot of information on it, but it is a good starting point to foster future interest.

I will purchase this book as a gift for anyone (any age) interested in starting research in Ancient Egypt.

Also other titles in this series are just as outstanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent overview of Ancient Egypt, April 15, 2013
By 
SuSuz (Lutz, Florida United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Easy to read, wonderful illustrations, exactly what I wanted to provide me with an overview of Ancient Egypt! This book has been studied, reread, and enjoyed by several members of the family ranging from 9 to 56!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very informative, September 16, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Books: Ancient Egypt (Hardcover)
I bought this for my 10 yr old daughter who is fascinated by ancient Egypt. She's spent lots o time reading it and has found it very interesting and informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

DK Eyewitness Books: Ancient Egypt
DK Eyewitness Books: Ancient Egypt by George Hart (Hardcover - May 5, 2008)
Used & New from: $15.82
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.