Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: DK Jungle Climber - Nintendo DS
Your Garage Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer roadies roadies roadies  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Segway miniPro STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 20, 2007
The only video game systems I have ever owned are a Super Nintendo and a Nintendo DS. As a HUGE fan of the Donkey Kong Country series, I couldn't wait for this game to come out. I got it the day after it was released last week, and I was not disappointed. Of course I have not beat the game yet, but I've conquered the first two worlds and I was absolutely blown away.
At the beginning of the game, Cranky gives you lessons on how to use the controls (as it is tricky at first!). Then he has you play a few mini-games to get used to them. After the training, the controls are pretty easy to get used to. Cranky also appears along the way to teach you more advanced moves.
The levels are pretty innovative--so far I've come across a glass labryinth where you have to find your way out, a level where you have to get both DK and his mirrored counterpart safely through an area, and a "toybox themed" level. Each level also has a DK coin, an oil barrel, and 5 or 6 bananna coins hidden. When you reach the end of the level, it shows you how many "goodies" you've found. If you find all of the oil barrels in a world, you can fly to that world's bonus level, which is slightly more difficult than the other levels in that world. Finding DK coins allows you to access cheats. I haven't figured out yet what the bananna coins are for, but I'm sure there's a purpose further in the game that I haven't come to yet!
Like I said I haven't finished the game yet, but so far it's a lot of fun. It's a MUST BUY if you're a Donkey Kong fan, and I highly recommend it for everyone else!
0Comment|37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 21, 2007
I bought this game because I needed a new DS game (finally beat Yoshi's Island DS) and I wanted a game made by Nintendo because those are the best games. I'm glad I got DK Jungle Climber! It's a really fun game and it's packed with bonus challenge mini games to unlock. When you're swinging you use the L and R buttons on the top of the DS. It's different but not hard, you'll get the hang of it no time. At the beginning of the game it will explain the controls and give you a little challenge to complete to make sure that you understand. When you're on the ground you can use the regular control pad to move DK. The music is nice and catchy and the graphics are crisp and sharp, in fact some of the scenery is just beautiful- I love the colors! To be honest I was really hoping for a Funky's Fishing challenge like in DK Country, but no such luck. Oh well, it's still a really fun game and the new way to control the swinging makes it funner.
11 comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMEVINE VOICEon September 13, 2007
Taking a page from Donkey Kong: King of Swing for the GBA, DK Jungle Climber for the DS is a simple and fun excursion starring Nintendo's resident monkey mascot, as he traverses island after island grabbing bananas in pursuit of King K. Rool. Visually, the game looks pretty sharp as it uses the pre-rendered characters from the classic Donkey Kong Country games. What really makes DK Jungle Climber really worth playing though is the game's control scheme which utilizes the shoulder buttons of the DS, and it works quite well, even though it may take some getting used to for some. The levels are inventive, there's appearances aplenty from other Donkey Kong universe characters (Diddy Kong pops up now and then to lend you a hand), and there are fun mini-games as well to boot. The only real negative aspect about DK Jungle Climber is that the cartoony aspect of it all may not win you over if you're not already a fan of the character or Nintendo's many video game icons in general, and the difficulty ranges from incredibly easy to deceptively challenging sometimes too quickly. That aside though, DK Jungle Climber is a fun blast while it lasts, and it's definitely worth checking out for DS owners.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 21, 2007
When it comes to Donkey Kong games, you can expect some crazy stories, wacky gameplay, and also, collecting a lot of bananas!

This game is no different! If you love Donkey Kong Country for the SNES, this game has some flavor from that cult classic. It has levels based on a Donkey Kong game, and sometimes they can be a bit frustrating.

The story in this game is like no other Donkey Kong game. Donkey Kong and his pals enjoy some rest and relaxation, when a giant bananna ship crashes onto the island. And as usual, King K. Rool is there to cause trouble. Plus there's a funny and cute alien Bananna creature you have to help! :)

The gameplay is like that of DK King of Swing for the GBA; and if you played that game, you'll be familular with some of the controls. This game is all about button mashing, and using the shoulder buttons L and R on the DS. You can make DK jump, and climb all over surfaces that have posts that you can cling onto, and crawl over. You'll also be flying through the air with speed burst attacks, and popping into barrels. You goal is to collect coins, DK coins, jems, and lots and lots of banannas before you reach the goal.

The plus side is this game has very fun and addicting minigames! In these mini games, you can jump over logs, catch banannas with DK's hands and in barrels, and see who can climb the fastest. Plus with the DS's wireless connection, you can play with up to 2 other players in a barrel race!

I love this game, because it's loads of fun, for the single player adventure mode, and of course because of the mini games; and the story is packed with the usual DK hummor!

Overal score: A 4 out of 5!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 22, 2008
Got this game for Christmas and am completely addicted. I haven't changed the game out since. Fun adventure game! I played Donkey Kong Country on SuperNintendo and this is similar. A must buy..
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2008
I got this and several other games for my younger sons for Christmas. My 10 yr. old is high functioning autistic but video games is helping develop his hand-eye coordination. The game is simple yet complex enough to help him develop strategy and thinking skills which also assist with his school work. I would highly recommend this game to other moms with development-challenged children.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 13, 2013
love love love this i could not wait to get this item . there was no packaging with it that is the only thing i wish i received with it but the game it self playes very well and have enjoyed it very much
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 26, 2013
The game is great. It arrived quickly and was exactly as described. He only downfall is my son thinks it hard (he's 6) of course that's not a fault to the game. Hell just have to practice more or get a little older. Overall its great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 4, 2008
I rated this game four stars for fun, but overall three stars based on the fact that it veers so far from the Donkey Kong legacy it does not deserve to have the DK title. Had this been a different character with a different name my disappointment in this game would have been much less--but having a history full of fond memories of the Donkey Kong series I hate to say that this one certainly does not live up to the name. It is very obvious that DK: Jungle Climber was not made by RARE. There is no real adventure incorporated into the game. The concept is new and enticing--Donkey Kong spins on pegs...wooden pegs...stone pegs...iron pegs...ice pegs--they change from level to level. And DK has some interesting new techniques with this game, such as the attack method, and his ability to fly. However, those (and the graphics) are the only perks to the game. The story is average at best. There are very few extras outside the levels, and achieving 100% completion is not worth the time spent. There is a maximum of one bonus barrel in each level (if any at all) and the challenge is always the same--catch bananas in a barrel, whoopee. There are items to collect within the levels, such as the KONG letters, the banana coins, and the DK coin, but they serve no significant purpose other than free men and useless cheats. And don't be fooled by the cover, you cannot play Diddy as you have been able to in past games. If the level manages to actually have a DK barrel, Diddy comes out and sits on DK's back. When DK gets hit, Diddy goes away. My biggest complaint is that I felt that some of the levels were entirely too difficult. Not difficult because of lack of skill, but simply because it would take several times of playing a certain part of the level over and over and over until you figured out the strategy needed to beat it (since DK dies so easily), and by that time you are so tired of the playing the level you're ready to just put the game down for good. I remember spending about 40 men trying to beat one level (and having any more than 20 men is a major feat!)

Overall, I'd have to say if you've been embedded in the DK games of the past, don't expect the same level of activity and fun with this one. If you are new to video games or the DK series, you will probably enjoy this game. But I encourage you to try some of the older Donkey Kong country games, which were developed for SNES but are also available as GBA games and can be played in the DS.
11 comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 2, 2008
My mom helped me choose this game as a gift for my 7th birhtday. At first it was hard to understand as I don't read instructions, and then with trying it all started to make sense. I beat the first game and now I am on the second one. Lots of action and surprises - I really like when the monkey comes on my back and I have to shoot off to a target. You have to get jewels, collect bunches of bananas, and you get to fly or go underwater...I like this game more than Super Mario !
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.