Customer Reviews


93 Reviews
5 star:
 (56)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


110 of 112 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptionally Clear Handling of a Subject in Transition
This book is directed toward scripters at the beginning and intermediate level. This is also a very good book for the veteran scripter who wants to re-tool as DOM-based techniques take hold.

I think Jeremy Keith takes the best road when he launches directly into DOM methods and objects, only mentioning the older ways for completeness. Most often, JavaScript...
Published on October 6, 2005 by Brett Merkey

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Introduction
I consider this book an excellent primer and one of the most accurate compilations for approaching DOM and JS. My intention for purchasing the book was for deep knowledge and that's where I was let down. It does just a bit more than scratch the surface on the topic and is most accurate. Excellent book for beginners and students wanting to understand the correct way to...
Published on September 6, 2008 by V. Matyi


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Introduction, September 6, 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: DOM Scripting: Web Design with JavaScript and the Document Object Model (Paperback)
I consider this book an excellent primer and one of the most accurate compilations for approaching DOM and JS. My intention for purchasing the book was for deep knowledge and that's where I was let down. It does just a bit more than scratch the surface on the topic and is most accurate. Excellent book for beginners and students wanting to understand the correct way to approach DOM and JS. I would not recommend for advanced readers looking to really exercise their ability on the topics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clear and Concise, August 29, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: DOM Scripting: Web Design with JavaScript and the Document Object Model (Paperback)
DOM Scripting by Jeremy Keith gives you a very smooth introduction to JavaScript and the DOM. The books is more directed at those who are just beginning JavaScript or have used it in the past but would like more knowledge.

The book itself flows well from chapter to chapter. The beginning chapters give you a foundation to work with during the rest of the book. Jeremy teaches basic constructs of JavaScript programming and how/where they can be used. If you are already a programmer (not necessarily JavaScript), this chapter will be a quick one. It is very informational, yet straight to the point. Once he gets the basics and best practice techniques out of the way - he dives into the DOM and gives several useful examples. This is where it gets good.

Before moving further, I should mention that his best practices are applied all throughout this book - and that includes creating useful and unobtrusive JavaScript. So, with each chapter - he shows the process and then brings it around full circle to an unobtrusive model. For instance, with the image gallery example, he shows that without JavaScript, this process would be useless - and we don't need extra markup on the pages that won't be used. He shows you, step by step (with great code highlighting and screenshots), how to build the image gallery on the fly. This way, if a user HAS JavaScript they can get the better experience. For those without, it degrades gracefully and doesn't add unnecessary code to the markup. This is just one example - but is used on all of his building blocks throughout the book.

There were many times in the book I would question what was being done (from an unobtrusive standards perspective). Each of those questions was immediately answered in the paragraphs or chapters to come. Jeremy does a great job to present the big picture, along with explaining why things were done certain ways. I read this book in two days, simply because it was hard to put down. The last chapters (aside from the reference), were the icing on the cake. This is where he puts all of the pieces together for a fictional website, JayScript and the Domsters. This chapter takes all of the pieces taught throughout the book and puts them in a practical environment. Go ahead, play with the fictional site. It has nice little touches, that, even when JavaScript is disabled has a nice user experience.

Overall, I would highly recommend this book if you are looking to get your hands dirty with JavaScript and DOM Scripting. The book was an easy read, packed with useful information. Just as with CSS Mastery, each chapter would build on the last - all the way until the end where it was all put together as a whole. Also, I am currently reading "DHTML Utopia", and this book was a great primer to JavaScript techniques. Thanks, Jeremy, for a great, concise, book on a topic that can sometimes scare people away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The new standard in JavaScript and DOM, October 3, 2005
By 
Mark Lewis (Boston, Ma USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: DOM Scripting: Web Design with JavaScript and the Document Object Model (Paperback)
The analogies are great (they make things very clear) and I find myself truly grasping the concepts that Jeremy put forth in his book. As a beginner, in JavaScript and DOM, this is the first JavaScript book that makes sense!

This book makes every other JavaScript book outdated. It's concepts are clear and very well illustrated with the accompanied examples. I could easily just use the real world examples in the book, but I am motivated to create my own.

This is a great book to read start to finish, but it also has several chapters that are great reads by themselves. This is definitely a book that won't spend much time on the shelf - It has not left my desk since I got it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Coverage Of The Basics, October 25, 2005
This review is from: DOM Scripting: Web Design with JavaScript and the Document Object Model (Paperback)
Is this book for the advanced? No. More importantly, perhaps, it really is a book about the DOM, not about Javascript in general.

I'd already been pretty comfortable with Javascript and DOM manipulation by the time I finally picked up this book. Of course, I was comfortable with these topics primarily because I'd spent time dissecting Jeremy Keith's own Adactio Elsewhere, a brilliant and dynamic javascript-powered Web 2.0 application.

But there's no coverage at all here of objects, closures, or any of the hairier stuff that makes scripts like sIFR and Prototype tick.

So while I was disappointed to not see these more complicated topics, those that are presented are presented clearly and always with best-practices highlighted. Keith demonstrates the advantages of doing things the "right way", rather than just whacking us all over the head with some guilt-trip about accessibility.

If you've never dipped your hand into the increasingly less scary cauldron that is modern javascript, this book might be just the thing you need for that first step. It's only a small step farther to GMap mashups and greasemonkey scripts!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a perfect reference book., August 7, 2006
This review is from: DOM Scripting: Web Design with JavaScript and the Document Object Model (Paperback)
As you can see from most of the other reviews, this book is excellent. You need this book if you fit any of these categories:

1) you struggle with javascript

2) you insert style or script into your web pages

3) you struggle with when to use getElementById and nodeType

4) you are having difficulty with pages rendering differently in different browsers (IE, Firefox, Netscape, Apple, Opera, etc).

This book teaches you how to write a single script without having to worry about which version / brand of browser AND STILL BE ABLE TO USE HIGH LEVEL CODE.

Mr. Keith teaches you all of the basics of Javascript in one chapter. Yup, he's that good! This chapter is the gold standard on how to teach a language.

Finally, the author shows you how to separate content from style from behavior while maintaining progressive enhancement and backward-compatibility through graceful degradation. If you have trouble with understanding that, it is a good indication that you need this book (grin).

I liked this book so much I went out and bought additional copies for my colleagues because:

a) I didn't want to share my copy, and

b) I didn't want to have to explain to them the advantages of the demonstrated techniques.

I sincerely hope that this author writes more books because this is such a great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great review of DOM scripting and how-to that isn't boring, November 3, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: DOM Scripting: Web Design with JavaScript and the Document Object Model (Paperback)
As a experienced javascript user who got her start in the old-school javascript of IE and netscape V3 I knew the landscape had changed since the transition to ECMA script, real CSS support, and better DOM implementations across browsers.

Sometimes when you know an old method it's harder to develop the "good habits" that come with a more evolved version of the language and few resources really help with making that transition and discarding old bad habits and approaches.

DOM Scripting does just that. This approachable text is accessable for the person dabbling in javascript as well as those like me who occassionaly get into involved javascript work and developed skills and habits based on outmoded development model. It covers the concepts clearly and simply without being boring.

If you know some Javascript and want to do some nice DOM scripting this book is a great bootstrap. Another useful tool is Danny Goodman's Javascript Bible book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great stuff with wll-blended theory and practical info, July 28, 2006
By 
Absense of Form (Hong Kong S.A.R.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: DOM Scripting: Web Design with JavaScript and the Document Object Model (Paperback)
I've been itching to properly learn Javascript for a while and had been doing so with the Javascript Bible. That is one heavy book, although a bit out-dated now. I finally came across this book and boy am I glad I did. I've learnt more concepts about javascripting practices than any other book or resources I've referred to.

This book, in my opinion, is definitely for the non-scripter/programmer. So if you're 100% new to javascript, this may not be the best choice for your first book. However, if you've touched javascript for a while or have done some sort of programming or even actionscript in Flash, this will be quite an easy read.

It's totally opened my eyes to creating sites that are no longer tagged with "Oh, it's one of those javascript-only sites again that try to be oh-so-fancy but break in other browsers".

If you want to take on the power of javascript but also be a caring, friendly web designer, this is definitely a book you should check out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars JavaScript made respectable again, October 29, 2005
By 
David Powers (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: DOM Scripting: Web Design with JavaScript and the Document Object Model (Paperback)
This book is a breath of fresh air in that it avoids all the old cliches of "cool" (aka cringe-making) JavaScript effects, such as tickertape effects in the browser status bar. This is JavaScript that can be put to effective use, such as replacing images without the need either to preload them or to reload the whole page. Another example is generating new content on the fly. Jeremy Keith does this by building a list of abbreviations used on a web page, a technique that would be equally valuable in automatically generating a table of contents for a long document.

This book teaches a thoughtful approach to JavaScript that degrades gracefully in older browsers, or when the user has JavaScript disabled. In the chapter on best practices, the message is driven home that technology should add to the functionality and attractiveness of a site, an approach the author calls "progressive enhancement." Exclusive technology, even something as simple as JavaScript, should never be a prerequisite for gaining access to a site's content.

Most JavaScript books leave the Document Object Model (DOM) tantalizingly to the end in the "advanced" section, whereas this one deals with nothing else. In spite of this, DOM Scripting is aimed at the beginner to intermediate user, and is made incredibly easy to understand. The purpose of each line of code is explained, and functions are built up in easily digestible blocks. Readers already familiar with DOM techniques may find some of the descriptions repetitive, but newcomers will be grateful for the way their knowledge is consolidated by seeing core techniques used in different circumstances. The clear, matter-of-fact style makes it a pleasure to read, and the final case study brings everything together in a logical and attractive site.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good introduction, February 6, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I bought this book because I'm pretty comfortable using html and css to build static web-pages, and wanted to learn what I could add with Javascript. The book delivered on this front, providing a series of examples that walk you through the process of adding javascript enhancements to your html.

The coverage of javascript itself is relatively minimal - just what you need to do to complete the examples. I'll definitely be spending some time with a more thorough reference (book or website) to get a deeper understanding of the language. That said, this is still a very valuable book. Many of the javascript reference books I've seen cover the language in great depth, but leave me wondering "where do I start? how do I actually use this stuff on a webpage?". Dom Scripting takes the opposite approach - you can dig up language details pretty easily on the web, so here are some best practices for tying it all together.

The examples are built up in small increments, starting with the basic behaviour, rounding out the rough edges, and making sure your code follows standard practices and degrades gracefully in older browsers.

Four stars. It's a good, but not perfect book. A little more variety in the examples, and perhaps a quick-reference/glossary/appendix for basic language constructs would extend the value of the book for newcomers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't start web programming without this book, January 28, 2007
This review is from: DOM Scripting: Web Design with JavaScript and the Document Object Model (Paperback)
If you're lucky enough not to be tainted by the bad habits prevalent in today's web design, development and related programming, this is THE book you should read cover-to-cover before you write your first line of code.

For the (unlucky) rest of us, we can only hope that we'll slowly move toward what this book describes - a clean approach separating content (HTML) from design (CSS) and behavior (JavaScript).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

DOM Scripting: Web Design with JavaScript and the Document Object Model
$34.99 $25.82
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.