Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So far so great
Didn't want to buy it after hearing about third party battery disasters but wanted an extra battery for my Gm1 for a two week trip to Asia and third party was the only choice. First impressions were nothing but excellent ...Panasonic could probably learn a lot from the packaging the DSTE had ...I almost want to say that, overall, this is better than the original battery...
Published 6 months ago by Happypoppeye

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Be prepared to wait, less power than stock
DSTE makes avaerge batteries. The quality is sometimes uneven, but they usually work OK. However, I would like to point out that of the two batteries I purchased, one was shipped from overseas, and there is nothing in the description about this. This means that even with a tracking number, you will have no idea when you will receive it, and if you need to return it, you...
Published 4 months ago by Dr Dave


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Be prepared to wait, less power than stock, May 1, 2014
By 
Dr Dave (El Cerrito USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: DSTE DMW-BLH7 Rechargeable Lithium-ion Battery Pack for Panasonic DMW-BLH7PP, DMW-BLH7E and Panasonic LUMIX DMC-GM1KS, DMC-GM1 Digital Camera (Camera)
DSTE makes avaerge batteries. The quality is sometimes uneven, but they usually work OK. However, I would like to point out that of the two batteries I purchased, one was shipped from overseas, and there is nothing in the description about this. This means that even with a tracking number, you will have no idea when you will receive it, and if you need to return it, you may have issues as well. So if you need an extra battery for an upcoming trip, do not order it.

Power: I tested this battery to see if it had its advertised capacity.
The battery states that it has a capacity of 1000 mAh.
The stock, Panasonic battery (rated at 680 mAh) will record about 1 hour and 50 minutes of continuous video.

This DSTE battery records 1 hour and 30 minutes of video
In addition, the power indicator is not reliable as to the remaining charge. So it shows full or nothing, most of the time.

Actual capacity: using a number of tests, flash, shutter, etc., I measured the actual capacity at 540-560 mAh. So a little better than half of the advertised rating. Epic fail, as far as the specs. But it works.

In addition, the camera ran warmer with the DSTE battery than with the stock battery. As the GM1 is quite small, factor that into your decision if you will use it in a warm environment.

So in terms of price, even though the battery is less expensive, it falls short on power.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So far so great, February 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: DSTE DMW-BLH7 Rechargeable Lithium-ion Battery Pack for Panasonic DMW-BLH7PP, DMW-BLH7E and Panasonic LUMIX DMC-GM1KS, DMC-GM1 Digital Camera (Camera)
Didn't want to buy it after hearing about third party battery disasters but wanted an extra battery for my Gm1 for a two week trip to Asia and third party was the only choice. First impressions were nothing but excellent ...Panasonic could probably learn a lot from the packaging the DSTE had ...I almost want to say that, overall, this is better than the original battery. Camera reads the charge, seems to last a bit longer and charges in the original charger from the Gm1. Add to that a price of $13.xx dollars and you have yourself a winner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good and reliable !, February 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: DSTE DMW-BLH7 Rechargeable Lithium-ion Battery Pack for Panasonic DMW-BLH7PP, DMW-BLH7E and Panasonic LUMIX DMC-GM1KS, DMC-GM1 Digital Camera (Camera)
It is a great battery used on my GM1. It lasts even longer than original one. Highly recommended!! Charging on my original charger without any problem and it works just like the OEM.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything seems legit, January 12, 2014
By 
Jason Fry (South Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: DSTE DMW-BLH7 Rechargeable Lithium-ion Battery Pack for Panasonic DMW-BLH7PP, DMW-BLH7E and Panasonic LUMIX DMC-GM1KS, DMC-GM1 Digital Camera (Camera)
EDIT 2/20/14: I've power cycled this battery only a couple of times, but everything is still working well.

Buying 3rd party batteries can always seem scary. We hear about OEM batteries occasionally ruining a device, or exploding even, so of course 3rd party stuff must be worse, right? This battery, however, seems legit. I have not put it through its paces by any means, but it came fully charged, and I took several dozen photos, left the screen on for about 20 minutes, and even took a 20-second video, and it has yet to lose a bar of battery. It's totally possible, like in some other 3rd party batteries, that it's not being read correctly by the camera, but only time will tell.

Ohohoh, I started to record a video to let it go for a while and kill the battery, and I just looked over and it's at 2/3 battery, so the battery is at least being read by the camera. That's good news. So far, so good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a fine quality battery, June 18, 2014
By 
Jedrury "jedrury" (Washington, DC United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: DSTE DMW-BLH7 Rechargeable Lithium-ion Battery Pack for Panasonic DMW-BLH7PP, DMW-BLH7E and Panasonic LUMIX DMC-GM1KS, DMC-GM1 Digital Camera (Camera)
The kit battery for the GM1 runs down after a few hours of shooting. When traveling overseas, this requires you to get your international adaptor, plug it in to the wall socket and then wait for a full charge (while your IPad or computer stand in line waiting for power). I bought this battery as a back up and I have been using as for a few weeks; it works fine and shows no sign of unduly losing power during a few hours of shooting. As a primary battery or backup (to be carried in your pocket, vest or shoulder bag), this is a fine addition to your GM 1 accessories. It came partially charged on arrival.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Better than the original, March 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: DSTE DMW-BLH7 Rechargeable Lithium-ion Battery Pack for Panasonic DMW-BLH7PP, DMW-BLH7E and Panasonic LUMIX DMC-GM1KS, DMC-GM1 Digital Camera (Camera)
Works well and has higher capacity that original battery that came with my Lumix GM1. One of the criticisms of the GM1 is the battery life between charges. This fixes that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, July 28, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: DSTE DMW-BLH7 Rechargeable Lithium-ion Battery Pack for Panasonic DMW-BLH7PP, DMW-BLH7E and Panasonic LUMIX DMC-GM1KS, DMC-GM1 Digital Camera (Camera)
Seems to work for me. Bought it as a spare battery for my Panasonic Lumix GM1
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.