Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Da Vinci's Inquest - Season 2
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Songs of Summer Explore Premium Audio Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors STEM

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$32.70+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 15, 2007
Applause to whomever finally decided to get off the stick and release subsequent seasons of this phenomenal TV series, based on the exploits of Vancouver's legendary coroner-turned-mayor Larry Campbell. Nicholas Campbell's Da Vinci ranks with James Gandolfini's Tony Soprano as one of the greatest sustained performances in television. Charismatic, principled, cranky, witty and deeply flawed in so many interesting ways, Campbell is surrounded by a deep and appealing ensemble cast of characters(Ian Tracey, Venus Terzo, Alex Diakun, Kim Hawthorne, Sarah Strange, Sulekha Mathew, Gwyneth Walsh and especially Donnelly Rhodes as the equally crusty Leo), all buoyed along on writer-producer Chris Haddock's fast-paced interwoven storylines. A textbook example of how to create an ongoing storyarc along a spine of individually satisfying episodes. The series loses its way a bit in later seasons, and builds a long meandering plotline that never satisfactorily resolves itself, but it's still a completely addictive ride along the way because the acting, directing and character writing are of such a high level. In this season, look for a particularly chilling guest shot by Matt Frewer ("Max Headroom") as a weirdly self-confident serial killer.
11 comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 17, 2007
The second season of Da Vinci's Inquest is as good the first season was, and it still has everything one can wish for :
Strong characters supported by excellent actors, fascinating stories, competent direction.
What is amazing is the overall coherence of the sum of those parts : this show clearly has its own personnality, this is not the average crime drama but an unique work of art.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 26, 2008
I'm an American, fortunate to be able to receive CBC. When I see Chris Haddock's name on anything, I know it will be quality. The minute I saw the second season of "DaVinci's Inquest" was available, I bought it. I've no idea how it is possible, but this series just gets better every season. The mixture of humor, pathos, mystery and drama is perfection. The only flaw I've seen in either season is the attempt to make DaVinci's mother seem more Italian than she is. I can't tell whether the problem lies with the actress or the director, but when she uses an Italian phrase, it comes off as clumsy and amateurish. This character doesn't spend more than 15" on the screen in all the episodes together, and that's a good thing.
Season 2's episode of "Sister's Light" will break your heart and is flawless, as are most of the episodes. In the first season, the writing had Leo (Donnelly Rhodes) as an irritating grump, but by the second season, they figured out what to do with him and his gruff humor, sadness of a husband with a wife losing her mind - fit the character beautifully.You know when he comes on the screen he will either make you laugh or break your heart.
Wish I knew how to reach the team that put this series together and ask them why they don't just put the entire set on sale? I didn't find this series until just before it was shot down by CBC, so was at the mercy of the commercials/reruns until the first two seasons came available on DVD.

I'd like to comment on CBC and their treatment of this team, as evidenced by what they are currently doing to "Intelligence", but that's another show and a separate issue. When Canadians find something as perfect as "DaVinci" and "Intelligence", they have systematically sabotaged them for what I call milk-toast shows that I wouldn't turn the TV on for. If any of you want to catch DaVinci reruns, they are currently in the first season on ABC, Monday mornings, at about 12:04 a.m. CBC stopped the reruns years ago but ABC is putting it through a second set of re-runs.
Set your VCR and watch the magic happen.

Come on, Mr. Haddock - get ALL your shows on DVD. It would be a crime to bury them in rerun land, chopped up and butchered. You wrote a series that matches or tops most everything American. Make your programs available for your fans to view and enjoy over the years.
Just because CBC didn't know what they had, doesn't mean the people don't appreciate your shows, the actors and the amazing writing.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 23, 2007
I am so excited that the second season of the most exceptional and wonderful televised series is now available for pre-ordering. I have ordered mine, have you.? I have begged Program Partners and anyone else I could contact to please put ALL of the seasons out on DVD. This is a start.
11 comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 24, 2013
This is one of the best tv police procedurals I've seen and is in the league of Homicide Life on the Streets.
The show is set in Vancouver, BC, and we see a side of this tourist city, one would never expect. DaVinci is a coroner who is passionate, liberal and forceful and although he appears to be outside the good ole boy network, he uses it when needed.
The show is old and started in the late 90s and went on for eight seasons, but for some reason only seasons 1-3 are available.

The main characters are diverse and good looking and are Indian, Hispanic, black and white. And the bad guys are not always minorities, so it's pretty inclusive. I can watch an entire season in two days - by just sitting in front the of the tv. Can't get enough and wish they make available seasons 4-8 soon.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 17, 2015
I have season 1 and 2 - both are fantastic. Very noir including music. Wish remaining season was not so expensive. Also should note they came from an outside vendor and service/quality of product was very good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 29, 2007
The description says the language for this DVD is French, but it is most definitely in English. Amazon has been notified and we hope the error will be corrected shortly.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 17, 2015
Top notch show from Canada. Acting is great and premise is refreshing. It shows the sometimes seedy underside of one the most beautiful cities in the world. It is too bad the producer of the show will not release other seasons. I would buy them all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 12, 2012
I did get the first set a few years back and enjoyed them! This one dissapoints first: No Subtitles!!!!
Two: Stories are VERY HARD to follow, kind of mixed up even!! I don't know, maybe its me being used to all the American Crime dramas, but I also watch ALL the Brit detective stories and procedurals! Sure the stories are gritty and dark, but still confusing to watch! Still on the fence about getting set 3!!!!
Never feel that way with Midsomer, Poirot, Marple, and all the CSI's, Castle, Mentalist, The Closer, you name it I've got it!!!! Oh well!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 16, 2012
This series is different from American Detectives. More gritty and realistic. I thought about the stories in series 1 for a long time. Sometimes hard to watch for the subject matter, but very true to life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.