Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good little camera
The quick summary: Very difficult to set up, but very good once it's up and running.

Detailed summary:

I was looking to set up a DIY outdoor monitoring system, partly for security and partly for the fun of it. I'd originally purchased a camera for about $100, but returned it after having nothing but trouble and stability issues. Following the "You...
Published 20 months ago by Mick

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Be prepared to fiddle with this.
For starters, the pigtail coming out of this device contains an RJ45 jack (of course) AND a 12V jack (tip positive) that will happily take power from a generic adapter. I used an adapter from an old D-link gigabit switch that happened to be a match for the diameter of the plug, and no problems have been had. PoE would be cleaner, but I was just getting started and...
Published 14 months ago by Alex M.


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good little camera, April 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The quick summary: Very difficult to set up, but very good once it's up and running.

Detailed summary:

I was looking to set up a DIY outdoor monitoring system, partly for security and partly for the fun of it. I'd originally purchased a camera for about $100, but returned it after having nothing but trouble and stability issues. Following the "You get what you pay for" principle, I upped my budget to the $200 range, and this camera fit the bill.

Upon unpacking it, I was struck by just how small the camera is. It's compact, but solid, and has a quality feel to it. No manual or CD was included, with only the most brief instructions given on a single sheet of paper. A power adapter was not included either, but since this is a Power over Ethernet capable device, this was more a "nice to have" rather than a necessity. It did include a mounting kit with 3 screws and wall anchors.

Mounting:

This was the easiest part. A paper template with the marked screw holes is included. Press it against the wall, drill through the hole markers, insert the wall anchors, and mount the camera. Done.

Powering it up:

Since my camera is not near my router, I used a Zyxel Powerline adapter with a BV Tech 30W High Power PoE injector. The Powerline adapter has a pass-through electric outlet, so between the two of these, only one electric socket is used. I then used an ultra-slim ethernet cable through a window, which was slim enough to allow the window to close around it.

Accessing it:

This is where things got complicated. The brief instructions made mention to a ConfigTools.exe program which is used to locate and configure the camera. This program isn't included, and no amount of Google searching could locate it. Without this tool to tell me the IP address of the camera, I went to my router, and listed the clients. The MAC address is printed on the bottom of the camera, which made it easier to locate. I saw a corresponding IP address in my router of 192.168.1.176. It would be nice if the instructions noted that it's using this static IP address. No sooner did I note the address, when it apparently went offline - I couldn't ping it, and no longer saw it in my router client list. This continued for about an hour as I unplugged and re-plugged it in, trying to access it via IE. To make a long story short, this issue may have been due to my Powerline adapter setup - after some repositioning in different outlets, I was finally able to access the menu on 192.168.1.176, on the default port of 80. Once I was able to access the config menu, I changed the networking setup from a static IP to DHCP, and had my router reserve a fixed IP address for the camera.

I'd purchased a copy of Blue Iris (highly recommended), as I'd rather let the software and my computer do the grunt work of motion detection and notification. The setup was as easy as could be - use camera type `Dahua H.264 RTSP'.

In action:

The first thing that impressed me was how wide the field of view is. It's incredibly wide. While my previous camera was mounted on my patio and provided a view of just the yard, this provides a view of the patio walls, ground and even more of the yard. There's a very slight fisheye effect, as you can see a slight curve in the image, but in no way does it affect the clarity. The camera performs very well in both day and night. The IR illumination has no problem illuminating 60+ feet across my yard, and with streetlights, even cars and houses a few hundred feet away are clearly visible. I set the frame rate on the camera to 15 FPS, and it has no problems maintaining this rate.

Pros:

Overall excellent camera for the price
Compact, solid housing
Wide field of view
Great day/night clarity
High resolution is a vast improvement over the many 640 x 480 cameras on the market

Cons:

No CD or user manual included
Difficult setup, even for those with technical experience
Instructions refer to a configuration utility that isn't included or available

It's been up and running for almost 2 days now without skipping a beat. I'll provide further updates on it later on.

***** 5/1/2013 Update *****

The camera has been up and running for about 3 weeks now. I use it in conjunction with Blue Iris, and it's working perfectly. I've set it to record at 15 FPS, and it consistently maintains this frame rate. I have not had to reset the camera once since my initial install. So far it's proving to be a highly reliable product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works in Zoneminder. Good deal for an IP camera, but not for the novice!, October 2, 2013
By 
Bam Bam (East Coast, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I bought this camera to use with Zoneminder (A free Linux-based surveillance program). It is also sold under the brand Q-See QCN7001b, among others.

As you may have gleaned from other reviews, the camera is shipped OEM and includes no support or help on how to configure it. They are assuming you are a distributor or that you have bought the camera as part of another security solution, and that the distributor provides the support. For general configuration instructions, google for "QC IP Camera Manual_web.pdf"

For those using this camera with Zoneminder: you may not see any live feed in the camera's local configuration webpage, depending on what browser and plugins you use. I used the following settings in Zoneminder to set up the primary feed (note you need ffmpeg and h.264 support in your Zoneminder install):

General tab

Name: Whatever
Source type: ffmpeg
Function: Monitor (for now)
Max FPS: leave blank, better to set this in camera config page
Alarm FPS: leave blank
Blend: leave alone

Source tab

Path: This one is weird. You have two options, see below. make sure you have "?tcp" at the end, it prevents a lot of potential issues.
Source Colors: 24 bit
Capture Width: 1280
Capture Height: 720
Preserve Aspect: blank
Orientation: normal, unless you mounted the camera weird

Path URLs (Made for zoneminder, will NOT work in a browser!):

Option 1: rtsp://user:password@IP_ADDRESS:554/cam/realmonitor?channel=1&subtype=0?tcp
- puts the user:password string in plaintext at beginning of the URL. Not very secure. Worked in Zoneminder, but not in VLC.

Option 2: rtsp://IP_ADDRESS:554/cam/realmonitor?channel=1&subtype=0&authbasic=XXXXXX?tcp
-The authbasic parameter is the user/password string, ENCODED IN BASE64.
-google for "base64 converter", online tools available. Enter your user password string separated by colon, and hit convert. For example, the string for the default admin:admin translates to YWRtaW46YWRtaW4=
-Say your camera is the default IP of 192.168.1.108, and default admin password. The URL would look like:
rtsp://192.168.1.108:554/cam/realmonitor?channel=1&subtype=0&authbasic=YWRtaW46YWRtaW4=?tcp

I have no idea how mere mortals could figure that out, without documentation. I guess that's why they want you to buy their crummy camera tools...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Quality - No Instructions, March 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Pros: Camera feels solid made of strong outdoor rated metal.
PoE + 1.3Mp at this price point (the reason I purchased the camera)
Mounting is easy and versatile
Image quality is right on what I expected it to be
Works with IPCam Viewer for Android and iOS

Cons:
ABSOLUTELY NO INSTRUCTION MANUAL OR CD WAS INCLUDED
found this out after the order. Being a seasoned tech I thought it would be a fun challenge. Wrong, it was a small headache. Even on their website the only way to find the default info for this camera is to sift through Q&A that the devs post. UNTIL NOW: Here is the default IP+Username+Password
IP:192.168.1.108
U: admin
P: admin
So if you are like me and already had something on your network on this 192.168.1.108 address then the camera would not show up in any scans. Hopefully this saves someone some time.
Also if you did not receive a CD with their DVR software and can't find the download on their website i recommend a free DVR software like ActiveCam by Py Software. Their free version of this software has a ton of features and only places a watermark on your video that is not too big. Their paid version removes the watermark and adds more features and is only ~$30
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good camera, February 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
10 days and so far it's ok
I have POE Switch and the camera works well - you don't need any converters, just plug CAT5/CAT6 cable from your POE switch and it will work in a minute..
if you try to setup on your phone using IP Cam Viewer, look for the brand "Dahua" (I chose Dahua Camera RTSP with opened port 554(one of defaults ports in the cam) - wide angle, good quality (also at night).. One annoying feature is it has a delay for displaying, but you are not missing anything, just a delay. It looks like it has a lag on the phone, but if i check over the browser in computer - looks fine.
I also have Sharx Security SCNC3606, but it has lower resolution and not wide enough.

Open a port in your router for RTSP port 554
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Be prepared to fiddle with this., October 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
For starters, the pigtail coming out of this device contains an RJ45 jack (of course) AND a 12V jack (tip positive) that will happily take power from a generic adapter. I used an adapter from an old D-link gigabit switch that happened to be a match for the diameter of the plug, and no problems have been had. PoE would be cleaner, but I was just getting started and didn't want to invest in a PoE switch yet.

The camera came with an older firmware, which was when I discovered that 1) the manufacturer doesn't make updated firmware available _to the consumer_ for these cameras (boooooo!) but 2) there is a decent community of users online who post updated firmwares on discussion forms (yaaaaay!). Once this thing went from running an old crusty firmware to the new hotness, it really perked up - faster UI, better motion detection, and much improved image quality. However, if you lack the acumen or the will to scour them internets looking for firmware and tips, this thing is underwhelming out of the box. Camera buyer, know thyself!

I'll be back for more of these, and a PoE switch, but all prospective purchasers should know what they are getting themselves into.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great camera, once you get it connected!, September 29, 2013
By 
Joe (Dallas, TX) - See all my reviews
Like others have said, figuring out the default IP address on this little beauty can be a real challenge. Mine DID NOT come set to the default 192.168.1.108 IP address. It also DID NOT come with ANY SOFTWARE.

So, here's my attempt to help others out! The full software package and user's manual can be downloaded here - [...] The direct link is [...]

Once I found that link, downloaded the software, and fired up the "ConfigTool V1.0.5" program, it reported that my camera was waiting patiently for me at 192.168.1.176! I opened Chrome, entered that IP, and voila!

Happy IP hunting!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful image, February 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dahua 1.3 Megapixel 720P ONVIF 3.6mm 1/3" Aptina CMOS IP66 20m IR Bullet IP Camera: 12v PoE ICR H.264 (Personal Computers)
This camera was my first experience with IP cameras and I have to say they are quite eye opening. I've worked with analog CCTV for a number of years and the newer IP's are leaps and bounds ahead of their predecessors. Since this camera I've tested others and the Dahua outshines the others. My camera did come with a CD containing application software, discovery software and documentation and it all worked fairly well once you understand it.
The software is PSS, which I believe is owned / controlled by Dahua, It's even downloadable from their website!
The recording of motion detected events is key in any surveillance system and while I tried numerous third party software products like iSpy and Blue Iris, I feel the included/available PSS software works in a more conventional and orderly fashion.
The key to success is knowing that the motion event is detected in the camera (settings are well controllable) which triggers an alarm detected y the software and recording begins. I'm sure others may understand it better than I do, but that's what works for my installation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 2 Stars because it's not true IP66., January 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dahua 1.3 Megapixel 720P ONVIF 3.6mm 1/3" Aptina CMOS IP66 20m IR Bullet IP Camera: 12v PoE ICR H.264 (Personal Computers)
The info for these says IP66 rated. Generally that mean not only the camera is sealed against weather, but ALSO the CAT5 connector for POE.. Makes no sense to seal a camera and leave the POE connection unsealed where moisture can get in and short out the camera or the POE injector or switch.
A true POE has a seal housing with gasket for these connections.
Now I have to send them back because I'm not risking shorting out my POE switch.

I will rate the function of the camera later when I install the only one that will be mounted inside the building.

Update. I installed 1 of 3 cameras inside where IP66 is not important. The camera works as described.
The camera has a fixed IP address of 192.168.1.108. SO if you are adding this to an already established network, you need to check you IP scheme for conflicts prior to installing.
The software provided is pretty straight forward, Log into the camera, change the IP to one you want that fits your IP scheme. Then stall on your network.

But again as for these being IP66 rated, the CAT 5 is NOT protected. If you are running POE and moisture gets into the CAT5 connection, you could be in for nasty problems unless you find a way to seal up the connector.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Price Point Solution, September 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I had been searching for IP cameras that provided a great picture and was accessesable with multiple wireless product(iPad, iPhone, Android Phone...etc).

Overview
Camera has a 3.6mm lens. The camera can be powered locally by a adapter or you can power it vi POE and a POE Switch. The picture quality is very good. It provides dual streams. This is important because it allows you to access the camera from any device while recording it at the highest resolution. I use stream 1 for recording to a Dahua NVR and access the camera on that stream on an iPad. I access stream 2 with an android phone. Took me a while to find the right settings with the internet connection.

I have several cameras at a bar facility. The owner has several different locations with bars. These cameras allow him to view what he needs using either his phone(Android) or his iPad.

I setup the cameras on different http ports. I started at port 7005. If you are going to use IP Camera Lite(app for Apple and Android) you will want to use the RTSP options. For the RTSP port, the default is 554 IF IF the http port is set to 80. IF you change that HTTP port, you simply add 2000 to get the RTSP port. So in my setup my HTTP port is 7005, my RTSP port is 9005. I then setup the router to do port forwarding.

Any questions just email me and I will be happy to answer if I can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seamless integration with SecuritySpy (Mac), also has IPv6!, December 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dahua 1.3 Megapixel 720P ONVIF 3.6mm 1/3" Aptina CMOS IP66 20m IR Bullet IP Camera: 12v PoE ICR H.264 (Personal Computers)
I blindly and lazily followed the suggestion to check out this camera by Bensoftware's blog and came away very happy. Like others have said, this is pretty affordable and feels like a good solid outdoor camera. The video is amazing, very wide, perfect for monitoring a parking lot/backyard. Night-time/IR is very good as well.

There's not much at all that needs to happen to get this camera to work with SecuritySpy, it's very smooth. Once you figure out/change the IP address for it + change the password, plug those two bits of info into SecuritySpy and you're done. Beyond that if you want to do any further tinkering directly on the camera, you can, but you're on your own. The web interface is really nice though and I am very happy to see they support IPv6!

By default when it plugs in it fetches an address via DHCP. If you don't already happen to run your own DHCP server and can pre-populate the camera's MAC address somehow, you're stuck for a bit as you figure out what address it picked up. (or you could fire up tcpdump on the same network and look for arp...)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.