Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for the price.
I'm still relatively new to the sport of surf fishing and I was tired of borrowing equipment every time I went fishing with friends. I am only able to go out a week or two a year, so buying an expensive setup didn't make much sense. I needed something reasonably priced, but I also wanted something that wasn't a cheap P.O.S.

This reel was great! I used it last...
Published 20 months ago by William A. Smyly

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Reel is good but the paint isn't
When i got the reel, there were some small scratches on it and i ignored them. But after i inserted it on my rod, chunks of paint at the connection point started to come off. The reel it self works but the paint isn't good enough.
Published 14 months ago by Mike


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for the price., November 27, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I'm still relatively new to the sport of surf fishing and I was tired of borrowing equipment every time I went fishing with friends. I am only able to go out a week or two a year, so buying an expensive setup didn't make much sense. I needed something reasonably priced, but I also wanted something that wasn't a cheap P.O.S.

This reel was great! I used it last week for some pier fishing and surf fishing. While it wasn't the best fishing I've ever experienced, the reel performed better than expected.

PROS:
Reasonable Cost
Flawless performance
Line tab (to keep your line in place when not rigged)
Able to switch to left-handed (have some left handed family members that may want to borrow)
Smooth retrieval
Easy to set drag

CONS:
The bail arm was a little tight when I first started using the reel, but it started to work perfectly after a few flips back and forth.
No problems with this Reel - I am happy with the purchase.

I used it several days and rinsed the bail almost every day with warm water and then wiped it off with a rag - it still looks like new after many hours of use in the surf. I was a little rough on it, dropping it in the sand and occasionally being submerged by a wave or two. Everything still works like it should.

I recommend this product!

Side Note:
I paired this with: Daiwa BFSF902MHRS Beefstick Surf Rod Spin (9- Feet, 2 Piece, Medium Heavy, 12-30 Pounds)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome reel. just be careful & keep an eye on..., January 9, 2013
There is a little screw with a grip head that screws in opposite the handle. Lost that on my first time out with the reel, fishing at the beach. (The ocean has it now) Amazon replaced the entire reel. LOVE Amazon for backing up their products! Ive since taken the replacement reel about 10 times. No problems! It reels smooth and there is no back-travel when you stop reeling. Less fatigue when you are casting many many times a day or resetting lines because of currents, etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value, July 15, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I used this reel with a twelve ft. shore fishing rod, twenty pound test 5oz. rigs. Perfect reel. Holds up well under heavy rigs and has a quick retrieval. Great value and a great addition to my tackle box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent drag, April 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I used it with the eagle claw rod, it is very strong and drag easyily the 1 KG strong fish in salt water.
I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent item, October 9, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
i am happy with this item, works correctly and is very resistant to saltwater, i recomended this item for people lovel the fishing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, July 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
seems to be good so far
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars decent reel for the money, June 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I caught couple of sharks and bull red with this. For the price, it does the job wonderfully. I use it on my kayak so I'm not afraid to loose it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Bargain., April 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Very smooth action and cast's well. So far, very impressed and pleased, especially for the price. So much so, that I just ordered another one, just a bit smaller (4500)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Smooth, January 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This reel has a very smooth action and hopefully it'll last as long as the rest.
If it's half as good as the rest I'll be happy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars saltwater reel, December 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
smooth casting and retrieve. well balanced for type of rod I was using. easily cleaned after use. reasonable well priced
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.