Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


59 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars These two books are a Godsend!
In 1971 I was a long-haired hippie, completely adrift and quite lost. One day in my university bookstore a saw a copy of "How to Stop Worrying," and I picked it up, partially out of curiosity and partially out of amusement. I mean what could this square looking guy with the short hair tell me about life? I'm glad I did pick it up!
One little piece of...
Published on March 22, 2001 by Bruce H. Charnley

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This book doesn't keep up with the times.
Outdated advice and the book is downright boring. I don't understand how it can hold anyone's interest long enough to finish.
Published 18 months ago by KRISTEN K WIITALA


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

59 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars These two books are a Godsend!, March 22, 2001
By 
Bruce H. Charnley (Ottawa, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dale Carnegie's Lifetime Plan for Success: The Great Bestselling Works Complete In One Volume (Hardcover)
In 1971 I was a long-haired hippie, completely adrift and quite lost. One day in my university bookstore a saw a copy of "How to Stop Worrying," and I picked it up, partially out of curiosity and partially out of amusement. I mean what could this square looking guy with the short hair tell me about life? I'm glad I did pick it up!
One little piece of advice "you can conquer worry by getting busy doing something constructive," helped me graduate, and has helped me immeasurably throughout my life. Whenever I feel the weasels closing in, I look around for something that is needed or wanted and I get busy.
That book led me to read "How to Win Friends," which also enriched my life. It has been said that the quality of our life is the quality of our relationships, and this book will quite frankly help you get along better with people. And who wouldn't want that? Sure the techniques can be used to control and manipulate others, and sell used cars. But the advice can also be used to enjoy the company of others and feel better about yourself as you get along better with them.
By "making the other person feel important" be it a little kid in a stroller, my boss, my wife, I feel I've been able to make a much more positive impact in this world. Life has been a lot more fun! I then went on to take the Course.
Get this incredible book and read it over and over. You will definitely find something in it that will change your life for the better. Dale Carnegie was more than just a motivational writer for salespeople, in my opinion he was a saint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The bestselling book of all time, plus., October 26, 2001
By 
Adam Khan (Seattle, WA USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dale Carnegie's Lifetime Plan for Success: The Great Bestselling Works Complete In One Volume (Hardcover)
These are two of the most useful books ever written, bound together into one volume. The first book, How to Win Friends and Influence People, is the bestselling book of all time, second only to the Bible. Why? Because it has solid, practical advice on an important subject (dealing with people). Practicing the principles in this book has brought me friends, love, enjoyment, and even money. No kidding.
The second book is How to Stop Worrying and Start Living. It's about dealing with stress and anxiety, and the information is practical and very helpful. This book is not only about how to deal with worry, but also has effective suggestions for how to be more effective at work and how to keep yourself rested and feeling good.
I'm the author of the book, Self-Help Stuff That Works, and I have recommended these two books more than any others because they are packed with more useful ideas per page than any other books ever published, and believe it or not, I'm not overstating my case. Getting both books bound into one and at a great price just makes it that much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Conquer Worry--Be Happy!, June 6, 2001
By 
Artist Barbara Garro (Barbara Garro at http://www.ElectricEnvisions.com in Saratoga Springs, NY) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dale Carnegie's Lifetime Plan for Success: The Great Bestselling Works Complete In One Volume (Hardcover)
What can Dale Carnegie, a product of the last century, teach you?He can teach you how to be a nicer person. Why would you want to learn that? Because people like nice people. Why would you care about that? Because when people like you, they treat you better than they treat everybody else. Now, don't you want that?
Almost 100 years ago, Dale Carnegie struggled and discovered the secrets to relationship-building and happy living. Right now, in 2001, I read this book, after reading hundreds of other books about getting along with people. Carnegie shows you, through the lessons learned by dozens of people, including himself, about how they moved from dysfunction to success. These are people from all walks of life, the rich, the poor, the famous, the infamous, the holy, and the holier-than-thou that span decades.
Carnegie taught thousands of people how to stand up for themselves and create a life they could love living. I am currently in Class 9 of the basic Carnegie Course. I've written communication books and articles and taught relationship-building and I learn every class from Carnegie.
Buy this book. Read it with your love. Share it with your children, your grandchildren, your friends. See how magical your life becomes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the end to my childhood problems, February 8, 2000
By 
Anna S (Boston, MA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dale Carnegie's Lifetime Plan for Success: The Great Bestselling Works Complete In One Volume (Hardcover)
My father borrowed this book from a friend of his when we still lived in Russia. It was a difficult time--my parents were going through a nasty divorce. One day he opened this book and it became a "bible" to him. After reading it he became more appreciative of everyone around him, and beleive it or not, it put an end to a divorce of my parents. 10 years later they are still happy and in love. As soon as I was old enough they made me read the book, and I refused to. Only at the end of my junior year in college, when I had more problems than ever, my Organizational Behavior teacher assigned this book to us, and it helped me to get on with my life. I'd highly recomend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you don't read anything else, ever, READ this book., July 28, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Dale Carnegie's Lifetime Plan for Success: The Great Bestselling Works Complete In One Volume (Hardcover)
I have read both of these books seperately. Each has molded my life in different ways. I still use the techniques in "How to Stop Worrying and Start Living" whenever I am in a difficult situation. And although there are differences in society now than when the books were first written, I find that an honest smile and genuine interest in someone else has served me well, as suggested in "How to Win Friends, and Influence People". These books have helped me learn to enjoy life to its fullest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It changed my life, January 11, 2000
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dale Carnegie's Lifetime Plan for Success: The Great Bestselling Works Complete In One Volume (Hardcover)
I agree with the reviewer from Los Angelos who stated that this book is dated. The writing style certainly is but I disagree with the rest of his comments. I believe the principles that Dale Carnegie discusses in this book transcend race, gender or social position. Whether you are a janitor, the head of a national corporation or a houswife, you can benefit from this book. If everyone applied the principles of this book, what a wonderful world this would be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Take my comments for what they're worth, or not at all, January 26, 2000
This review is from: Dale Carnegie's Lifetime Plan for Success: The Great Bestselling Works Complete In One Volume (Hardcover)
My 11th grade english teacher suggested that I read this book because she thought that I would be able to appreciate it. All I can say is wow, what an impact. This book basically helped me quantify what I already knew to be true. Things like giving honest and sincere appreciation, smiling, and remembering the little details people tell you. It has made a difference in my life, and I think it to be a positive one at that. No book can ever teach you who you are, and I don't believe that a book can ever be written as a guide for a way of life, but if you get from this book what I did, you'll understand that you had it right all along, and you'll be able to understand yourself better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have, September 7, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Dale Carnegie's Lifetime Plan for Success: The Great Bestselling Works Complete In One Volume (Hardcover)
This book was written in the early 1900s and still is very effective today. I found this book to be essentially "priceless". Whatever I describe here would not do justice to what this book deserves.
Believe the other reviews, I bought this book based on them and am very glad I did. Very easy to read, very long but something you do not want to put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute must for anyone who is ready to start living, August 1, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Dale Carnegie's Lifetime Plan for Success: The Great Bestselling Works Complete In One Volume (Hardcover)
Dale Carnegie has put together one of the most helpful books I have ever read. His great use of real world example make this a continuous read. I highly recommend reading this cover to cover and highlighting everything you learn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At first glimpse, you'll think it's useless.., February 19, 2000
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dale Carnegie's Lifetime Plan for Success: The Great Bestselling Works Complete In One Volume (Hardcover)
But after reading, despite just being a collection of solid, common sense, you'll find you don't employ the tactics that the author suggests. I read it, and it makes me pause during certain social situations, and think of the book's message, effectively helping me change the behavior that was hurting me before I read the book. It's definitely a must read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Dale Carnegie's Lifetime Plan for Success: The Great Bestselling Works Complete In One Volume
Used & New from: $0.55
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.