Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Damage Control
Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer roadies roadies roadies  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 24, 2007
I love this show! I really got a kick out of the first season and the second was even better. The wives are a delightful mixture of devils and angels. The second season is a bit more risque in that the sexual scenes are much more graphic. Definately not for children. As a member of the LDS Church that does not condone polygamy, I was at first interested in the show because I wanted to see how it portrayed the Mormon Church. But it really skirts the issue although there are subtle inuendo like LDS Church icons and landmarks in scenes of the show.
I love the way the wives interact with each other but most of all, love how they gang up on Bill or turn on him to get what they want.
The twists and turns with members of the sect at the compound and the power struggle between the two "prophet" heir families is interesting. Also bringing in another Polygimist sect "the Greens" was a completely new twist which I think we will see much more of in future episodes.
Overall it is a great show and I have my DVR set to watch or record each episode.
Thanks
Kate
33 comments|35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 23, 2007
SPOILERS!! In the second season of this unique series, things get even more complicated and difficult for polygamist husband Bill Henrikson and his three wives, Barb, Nikki, and Margene. Their oldest son is tempted carnally and then turns to the polygamy principle for sustenance, the oldest girl goes the opposite direction, Bill considers a fourth wife, Margene wants to be a surrogate mother, Nikki's family makes things dangerous for the Henriksons, one of Roman's intended young brides blackmails some of the Henriksons, and Bill wants to expand his financial empire to include video game slot machines.
What's most fascinating about this series is that the family is portrayed as struggling to live in the modern suburbs, outside of the compounds that most polygamists these days might live in; and that they have tried to hide their lifestyle from many people. However, one can only hide such a thing for so long. Imagine how it would be having four partners in a marriage, seven kids among you, and three neighboring houses to coordinate, as well as a high-profile home improvement business.
The cast is spot-on, especially the temperamental and conflicted second wife, played by Chloe Sevigny; and the stalwart Harry Dean Stanton as her father, the powerful patriarch who believes himself to be a prophet.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 12, 2008
In Season Two of Big Love, the Henrickson family finds that the challenges of being one, big, polygamous family is just beginning.

Season One of the show leaves off with Barb - Bill's first wife - not winning the mother of the year award, Margie (Margene) discovering that she is pregnant, and Roman Grant (leader of the polygamous compound at Juniper Creek) being seriously wounded. But Season One turns out to be child's play in comparison with the events of Season Two.

In Season Two, Nikki (Nicolette) - Bill's second wife - is more manipulative than ever, leaving the audience wondering just how far she'll go to become first wife. Bill, who for all of his faults appears to be a decent person in Season One, also becomes more deceptive (both at home and in his business dealings) as he secretly courts a woman that he considers for a fourth wife and wrests a gambling company named Weber Gaming away from two polygamous factions.

The political intrigue surrounding Juniper Creek and the Grant family also becomes more pronounced in Season Two, with many unexpected twists from characters such as Alby Grant (Nikki's brother), and Adaleen Grant, Nikki's biological mother.

The most notable difference between Season One and Season Two however is the focus on how the Henrickson's secret life of polygamy affects Barb and Bill's two oldest children, Ben and Sarah. Sarah, the Henrickson's oldest child, becomes resentful of her parent's choice as the season progresses and takes action in the last episode of the season to ensure that she never makes the same choice as her parents. In contrast, Ben, (now sixteen in Season Two) begins to romanticize the idea of leading a polygamous life like his father. He ends his relationship with his girlfriend and beings to court two girls (twin sisters) from the compound at Juniper Creek.

With each event that unfolds in Season Two, Big Love fights past being just entertainment and tackles the hard questions of polygamy and the LDS fundamentalist lifestyle.

The bottom line is that Season Two of Big Love does not disappoint; there is no adequate way to express how tastefully, artfully, and successfully the staff of Big Love portrays what is considered difficult subject matter. Each event that unfolds in Season Two of Big Love fights past being just entertainment and tackles the hard questions of polygamy and the LDS fundamentalist lifestyle.

While some individuals may find certain aspects of Big Love offensive, I hope that people will be willing to look past something that might make them uncomfortable to an experience that is both entertaining and highly enlightening. It is especially a must-see series for anyone who is interested in shows that deal with religion or the psychology of cults.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 4, 2014
"Big Love" is a phenomenal show, centered around a Mormon Fundamentalist polygamist family (Bill Paxton, Ginnifer Goodwin, Amanda Seyfried, and many more!), and their many struggles.

The second season was arguably one of the best seasons of "Big Love"! These DVDs are great!

My only complaint is that there aren't very many special features, and the subtitles rarely show the lyrics to songs that are sung on-screen (including the opening themes, which is "God Only Knows", by The Beach Boys).

Nonetheless, I highly recommend this DVD collection!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 6, 2016
Nice acting. Right cast members make dramatic situations believable and historically credible. Still, I find the story defragmented with supporting subplots threads "unsupporting". But, the show as a whole is good drama, together with the character flaws of the actors and just things going wrong for everyone. Watch this series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 7, 2015
I'm giving this 5 stars for my wife. You have to be in touch with your feminine side to really appreciate the show because it is heavily about relationships, etc. This is not a pure slam on polygamy or morman religion. It is a slam on morman compounds which is not normal for morman people. There is some attempt to show the other side to polygamy. The writing is clever and keeps your interest.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 7, 2016
I am almost done with Season 2 of Big Love and I am still enjoying it. I don't know how authenticly this way of life is being portrayed, but I don't care. They continue to have twists and turns and power struggles that surprise me every time. Watch it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 30, 2015
Interesting insight into this family, their motivations and beliefs. This series has taken me into a world I knew nothing about. The storyline is fascinating and never boring. I have enjoyed each episode with a mixture of feelings as their struggles unfold. They have to hide who they are, their beliefs are illegal, and they are subjected to prejudice. Power and corruption are themes that are explored in the name of religion. I highly recommend this intriguing series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 29, 2015
Not exactly one where I couldn't wait until the next episode but it is still entertaining. After watching season 1, I began to like certain characters and dislike others. It isn't one that keeps me glued to the TV or wanting to rush home from work to watch. It is more the...while I am working around the house I let it play in the living room type of show.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 1, 2016
I'm really trying to stick with this show but this family keeps getting themselves in the most ridiculous situations at the hand of their own stupidity. It's almost frustrating to see how dumb Bill Hendrickson is.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.