Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vocabulary expanding
Short work. Mencken can't restrain his acid wit, substantial portions of which rely heavily on stereotyping. Despite some then-current references to people and events of the early 20th century (with which I was at best partially familiar), some of his chapters were quite thought provoking. Some expressions are nearly unthinkably politically incorrect today, and I had...
Published 7 months ago by John F Barry

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An entertaing book
This book is an entertaining collection of essays and articles by the great American writer and humorist H L Mencken. OK he's not quite as great as Steinbeck, Hemingway and Twain (to name but a few really great American writers) and yes I know all about comparing "apples and oranges" ie Mencken wrote non-fiction and the other writers I've mentioned are either mainly or...
Published 11 months ago by AmazonLoser


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vocabulary expanding, January 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Damn! A Book of Calumny (Kindle Edition)
Short work. Mencken can't restrain his acid wit, substantial portions of which rely heavily on stereotyping. Despite some then-current references to people and events of the early 20th century (with which I was at best partially familiar), some of his chapters were quite thought provoking. Some expressions are nearly unthinkably politically incorrect today, and I had to remind myself a few times - "a different time with different standards". If he were around today... one wonders whether he would be more revered, or more despised.

If you want to feel compelled to look up the meaning of "poltroon", this is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of Menckens' best, December 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Damn! A Book of Calumny (Kindle Edition)
This journalist was probably the greatest that came from America during the early 1900s....Never mentioned in all the years of my schooling as a writer worth investigation, it took much later in life for me to find him and enjoy all that he has written .. Chances are good that his writing, if done today would end up with lawsuits and maybe even tar and feathering. But, he's one of my favorites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Mencken, April 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Damn! A Book of Calumny (Kindle Edition)
I would recommend this to people who haven't read Mencken or are Mencken fans. Mencken was probably the greatest American stylist. It is also free on the kindle. The editions seems perfectly adequate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good example Of Menken's Style, March 24, 2013
By 
Michael Blunt (Upper Marlboro, MD) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Damn! A Book of Calumny (Kindle Edition)
If you are a fan of H.L. Menken's terse wit and powers of observation you will enjoy this book. I'm a big fan and I loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An entertaing book, September 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Damn! A Book of Calumny (Kindle Edition)
This book is an entertaining collection of essays and articles by the great American writer and humorist H L Mencken. OK he's not quite as great as Steinbeck, Hemingway and Twain (to name but a few really great American writers) and yes I know all about comparing "apples and oranges" ie Mencken wrote non-fiction and the other writers I've mentioned are either mainly or exclusively remembered for their works of fiction.

Another good thing about this Kindle edition is the price ie FREE! and the fact that you can adjust the Kindle's settings (at least on a PC which is all I use Kindle on) to make it as readable as you prefer it to be: You can select the font, the font size, the brightness and how many columns appear on each page etc

If you've never read anything by Mencken before this is a good start. If you don't like this volume don't bother reading anything else by him and if you do like it you'll probably like anything else he's written.

Here's a few of his many famous quotes (not necessarily from the book I'm discussing) to give you a "head start" on whether or not you should consider reading any of his works:

It is even harder for the average ape to believe that he has descended from man.
Nobody ever went broke underestimating the taste of the American public.
A judge is a law student who marks his own examination papers.
A man may be a fool and not know it, but not if he is married.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Often very funny, but..., July 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Damn! A Book of Calumny (Kindle Edition)
Mencken is often very funny, but it's necessary to leap over his era-based sexism and racism. This book is composed of short bits, observations, little stories. Entertaining if you can forgive his love of Herbert Spencer and all things "white male superior."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars H. L. Mencken being a curmudgeon. Enough said., June 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Damn! A Book of Calumny (Kindle Edition)
H. L. Mencken voicing opinions on pretty much everything from soup to nuts. Biting, witty, typically outrageous, predictably unpredictable, and a lot of fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love Mencken, May 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Damn! A Book of Calumny (Kindle Edition)
so there's no way I would give this book fewer than 5 stars. It is a fun and easy read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Funny, April 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Damn! A Book of Calumny (Kindle Edition)
Seems to be a bit satirical, but not a serious book. It is written like a group of short stories or funny essays, but does not have a coherent story or main theme.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Read This, August 19, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Damn! A Book of Calumny (Kindle Edition)
Mencken is simply brilliant. If you find none of his wisdom useful, you will still have thought about things in a manner that is too rarely undertaken these days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Damn! A Book of Calumny
Damn! A Book of Calumny by H. L. (Henry Louis) Mencken
$0.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.