Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.

Buy Used
$24.50
Condition: Used: Acceptable
Comment: Ex-libris copy with library stamp on copyright page but all library stickers have been removed. Protective white adhesive labels cover previous library stamp area on back endpapers, which have minor blemishes. Otherwise, book is in excellent condition--no marks, no underlining, no page tears or bends. Dust jacket is fully intact, un-clipped, unchipped and protected by archival-quality plastic film cover. Lavishly illustrated with full-color plates on glossy, thick stock paper. Binding tight and square. Originally published at $60.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Dan Dailey Hardcover – July 10, 2007

4 out of 5 stars 2 customer reviews

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Hardcover
"Please retry"
$9.99 $1.32

Raging Sea
The Undertow Trilogy
For fans of Rick Yancey and Marie Lu, "Raging Sea" is the latest electrifying addition to this much-anticipated trilogy from author Michael Buckley. Hardcover | Kindle book
Available from these sellers.

Editorial Reviews

From Publishers Weekly

Starred Review. This lavishly illustrated volume honors the art of a master glass maker. Dailey has created a huge body of work, including lamps, vases, mosaics, tables, wall reliefs, free-standing sculptures and monumental structures such as the two-ton cast-glass relief mural in the Rainbow Room in New York City. The photos attest to his technical mastery as well as to the inventiveness of his designs, which incorporate everything from human and animal characters to skyscrapers, mythological figures and musical instruments, in a recent series on jazz that is both abstract and representational. Some of the whimsical drawings on which Dailey bases his work are included, showing his superb draftsmanship and his preoccupation with the vagaries of human nature. Noted graphic designer Glaser pays tribute to the artist as the head of a dynamic glassmaking studio. Warmus, former curator of the Corning Museum of Glass, gives an overview of Dailey's career. Oldknow, the Corning Museum's curator of modern glass, talks with Dailey about his relationship to art of the past, his subject matter, and his training in glass factories in Italy and France. Photos of Dailey and his assistants as well as supplemental material about his career round out this visually stunning coffee-table book. (Oct.)
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.

About the Author

William Warmus is a former curator of The Corning Museum of Glass, a past editor of Glass magazine, and the author of books on many artists. He lives near Ithaca, New York.

Milton Glaser is one of the most celebrated graphic designers in the United States. In 2004 he was awarded a lifetime achievement award by the Cooper Hewitt National Design Museum.

Tina Oldknow has been the Curator of Modern Glass for The Corning Museum of Glass since 2000.
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE


Product Details

  • Hardcover: 384 pages
  • Publisher: Harry N. Abrams (July 10, 2007)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0810993198
  • ISBN-13: 978-0810993198
  • Product Dimensions: 9.5 x 1.5 x 11.6 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 4.8 pounds
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #2,696,631 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

5 star
50%
4 star
0%
3 star
50%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
See both customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
Beautiful photos of Dailey great work. Even people without an interest in glass love the photos.
Comment 2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
By Sharon on April 3, 2013
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
The book is interesting, but didn't include enough about the Dan Dailey pieces I collect. Other than that, it's great.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse