Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant
Honestly, I could write endlessly about how incredible this band is both on cd and live in concert but I really wouldn't be saying anything different from all the other reviewers. I guess the greatest compliment I can give Glen and the rest of the band is that on Friday, I am flying from Vancouver, Canada to London for four days and my sole reason for going is to attend...
Published on February 12, 2007 by Geoffrey M. Dominy

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Somewhere between Counting Crowes and Radiohead
An excellent album, if a bit on the radio-friendly side. But the songs are there, and you get the feeling that if the band wasn't on a major (which they're not, anymore), they'd really make a killer indie rock record.
Published on October 31, 2000


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, February 12, 2007
By 
This review is from: Dance the Devil (Audio CD)
Honestly, I could write endlessly about how incredible this band is both on cd and live in concert but I really wouldn't be saying anything different from all the other reviewers. I guess the greatest compliment I can give Glen and the rest of the band is that on Friday, I am flying from Vancouver, Canada to London for four days and my sole reason for going is to attend The Frames show on February 20, 2007. If you get the chance to see this amazing band live, you should grab it. They are the #1 live band. Glen has to be seen to be believed.........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Making of Legends, September 26, 2001
This review is from: Dance the Devil (Audio CD)
If i asked "Who are the most talented band from eire?"-The large % of the world would instantly answer "U2!!"
This is due to the fact that most of the world live in ignorance to the amazing songs, lyrics of "The Frames" and the greatest voice ever in Glen Hansard!
The third album from this Dublin group finds them in great form, dare i say bettering their first 2 albums ( If that was possible!). Immediately songs such as Star Star, Pavement tune & Perfect opening line stand out as Massive hits!But if you listen deeper into the album, you will hear the beauty of "Neath the bridges", the incredibly catchy "God bless mom" & the Sublime "Dance the devil..."....With the great excert from willy wonka near the end of that song(for those who noticed)
There is no doubt that "The Frames" will make it big & when they do, thousands will be reading these reviews - So i would just like to say "Welcome everybody to the world of The Frames & enjoy this album from the greatest rock band in existence!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We're going on a pilgrimage, June 2, 2000
This review is from: Dance the Devil (Audio CD)
A favourite of recent years.
Intriguing soul-rock from a genuinely honest, refreshing band. This album is a hidden treasure... ignored by the critics and public for some strange reason. Take this album to bed, it deserves to be cuddled. It deserves attention and it demands respect (so no looking at other albums out the corner of your eye). In return, the crisp and chunky sound and great melodies will pay you back a millionfold.
After their passionate gig at The Borderline, my brother and I went misty eyed and made a pact there and then. Right on the dance-floor. We will go to Dublin and see them perform the next time.
Pay back time, you see. For all those times I listened to this album and got lost in a sea of cool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars musicians enjoying themselves, energising and warm., October 9, 1999
This review is from: Dance the Devil (Audio CD)
If you like rock music, which isn't one dimensional..listen to this. I'm a golden oldey and got a great kick from this CD. Even my daughter loves it, especially Star,Star. I live in Ireland and can't figure why this band aren't mega mega stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best unknown band, April 2, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Dance the Devil (Audio CD)
The Frames have been making music for over 11 years, and each album has been better than the last. This album has many touching ballads with a couple of grittier numbers and Glen Hansards voice is enough to make you cry. Any band that has a fiddler with an electric fiddle is worth a listen. All members of the band are amazing musicians and the chemistry on Dance the Devil is obvious. If you like this album you have to get "The Dancer" from 1993, powerful lyrics with a stronger influence of Irish music and the angelic voice of Noreen their female vocalist who has since left the band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars let them take you for a spin, October 7, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Dance the Devil (Audio CD)
here come the "invisibles"...ladies and gentlemen Irelands best kept secret - dublin's hotest ticket today!...please welcome THE FRAMES!!!
their name has just returned to the shelves with their third longplayer out this summer. The charismatic Glen Hansard and associates have traveled a long and rocky road...and so they have a lot to tell. Their observations are full of passion, love, humour, poetry, anger as well as triumph. All those strong emotions are enforced by rich rhythms and great guitars and violins(!) Experimenting on one or two songs with what you might tag LOWFI or CYBERCOUNTRY they continue the tradition of well crafted fresh and inventive compositions. Trevor Horn gives a hand with some of the production and Craig Ward of dEUS also joined staff.The first three songs especially "seven day mile" are true gems...the more pensive "star star" is nevertheless great in style and message...for me however "rent day blues" is the highlight of the album "an maybe even" THE "ANTHEM" of the decade!!!(check it out as it might be coming out as an EP). Don't leave the Frames to the Irish!!...DISCOVER one of the greatest potential in "alive"(music with a soul!) "alternative" rock!!!!...this record will sure make you dance!!!!THUMBS UP-BIG TIME!!!!!! PS:if you get a chance to catch them live..GO!!!!! as they are such intense performers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Addictive..., August 5, 2004
By 
"gserniuk" (Pointe-Claire, Quebec Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dance the Devil (Audio CD)
A CD that should be in your collection. I think it is the best Frames CD in print. It will take you several listens to get into this CD, but once hooked, you are hooked. Buy it, keep it in your CD player and play it in the background for a couple of days. You will be hooked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where Dave Matthews Left Off?, January 11, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Dance the Devil (Audio CD)
This CD is exactly where I've been hoping Dave Mathews would go after he finished "Crash". But he didn't he went into this angry music. This CD is beatiful. They are masters of the build-up, starting slow and simple building into this emotional climax that leaves you taking a deep breath after each tune. They also have several tunes that kick right of the bat. If you don't get this CD you're missing out of some of the best music written in the past 10 years. How could these guys be passed up for so long?
Also Check out The Frames DC. More or less the same band only older stuff. Their one CD is just as powerful, but harder to get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this is when they came into their own, January 29, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dance the Devil (Audio CD)
The Frames begin their journey on another love song and begin to come into their own on fitzcarraldo, dance the devil is where they fully hone their sound and only build upon it on future albums, I'm not saying don't get their albums before this, but if you want the frames are their full potential get this and all future albums, also get fitzcarallado because that is where their real beginning is, another love song has too many of their influences shining through but it still in it's own a right a good album, the bonus tracks are an added bonus to an already amazing album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MOST UNDERATED IRISH BAND SINCE U2 IN THE 70'S, July 4, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Dance the Devil (Audio CD)
This third record is truley amazing! Glen Hansard has joined forces for one more masterpeice with Trevor Horn on this one!!! Original, Strong, and a MUST have for any rock fan who appreciates the whole realm of recording! GOOD LUCK GLEN - YOU DESERVE THE ABSOLUTE BEST!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Dance the Devil
Dance the Devil by Frames (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.