Customer Reviews


175 Reviews
5 star:
 (154)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


60 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A late masterpiece restored (almost)
This is one of John Barry's masterworks - if not indeed his magnus opus - and we've waited much too long for a comprehensive reissue. Whatever you think of Kevin Costner's film (and I'd hate to base a friendship on whether or not someone loved "Dances with Wolves" as I did) it would be a far less exciting movie without Barry's magnificent score. Eschewing the...
Published on May 23, 2004 by Scott Ross

versus
17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ques and SACD notes
This is a question and not a review. Is this disc multi-channel or just stereo?
For the guys that were complaining about getting this disk and not being able to play it on their cd, if you had looked further down the page (after searching for John Barry) you would have seen the standard cd. Amazon should probably do a better job of letting you know that you are...
Published on February 9, 2004 by Angelo Sellers


‹ Previous | 1 2 318 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Major, Major Film Score, April 27, 2001
By 
Daniel G. Berk (West Bloomfield, Michigan) - See all my reviews
This is a "blinger" of a film score, an Academy Award winning score from an Academy Award winning picture. Unquestionably, the music singnificantly enhances the emotion of the film. This is a clear case of a score that is so good, so strong, so well-done, that it can even stand on its own away from the film. It is a must-have for any serious film music buff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and captivating, February 11, 2001
By 
D. Roberts "Hadrian12" (Battle Creek, Michigan United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
"Dances With Wolves" would not have been nearly so great a movie as it turned out to be if not for the efforts of John Barry. Sure, even with a mediocre soundtrack, it still would have been a very good movie. But, it would not have been great. The soundtrack to this movie is much more than just the "finishing touch." Rather, it forms the very pillars and beams on which the film is built. Famous for his music in James Bond movies, Barry here stirs the imagination with his moving "John Dunbar Theme" and leaves you breathless with the accompaniment to the Buffalo hunt. This soundtrack is SO very well done and such pleasant listening that I would even suggest it to people who have never seen the movie. Of course, I would also urge people to view the film as well - either before or after they listen to the soundtrack. This one earned a well deserved Academy award for the score.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars John Barry's Western Triumph, May 18, 2004
By 
G M. Stathis (cedar city, utah USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dances with Wolves (Audio CD)
Enough has already been written about how John Barry came back from illness to score one of his greatest achievements with "Dances With Wolves." The expanded score from Epic/Legacy is a treasure. It includes the entire score, and at a price that can only be described as a steal. Over one hour and fifteen minutes of some of Barry's most inspired music. The expanded opening and buffalo hunt music alone are worth the price of this recording. Very nicely produced and packaged by Epic/Legacy, this is what every soundtrack album should be. It is also a worthy tribute to one of the true artists in this field.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yes, dear Reader, there IS more John Barry!, December 30, 2002
If I could be transported back to a time where much of the present-day American ladnscape west of the Mississippi was still young, wild, and irresistable, this is without a doubt what it would sound like. John Barry is a genius! If you liked this score, you will ADORE "Swept from the Sea."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ques and SACD notes, February 9, 2004
By 
This is a question and not a review. Is this disc multi-channel or just stereo?
For the guys that were complaining about getting this disk and not being able to play it on their cd, if you had looked further down the page (after searching for John Barry) you would have seen the standard cd. Amazon should probably do a better job of letting you know that you are ordering a SACD and make you acknowledge that before processing the order. Also, some SACDs will play on normal cd players. They're labelled as Hybrid disks meaning they will play on SACD players and on CD players.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome and beautiful, June 5, 2000
By A Customer
This music is one of the most effectual soundtracks I have ever heard. As you watch this wonderful movie, the music so consistantly matches what you are seeing. Sets the mood for every scene. As you listen to the soundtrack by itself, it brings the movie back. It is beautiful to listen to on it's on merit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Materpiece, December 26, 2001
By A Customer
John Barry gives music a new quality. His gracefullness in this score is simply magnificent. The melodies are unforgettably touching, almost timeless. Tracks 2 and 13, John Dunbar, have the same name. But if anyone has seen the movie, the changes Dunbar goes through from the beginning to end are very dramatic. It's the same with the soundtrack. The mood of the melodies change with time. A very well done score. 5 stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It only took 14 years for the real version to appear., March 26, 2007
By 
Marco (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dances with Wolves (Audio CD)
This has always been one of the highlights of my soundtrack collection. Finally, I have the version that should have been released back in 1990. Why, oh why, oh WHY did it take 14 years for the real version to come out? And why did the producers of the original CD see fit to alter the brilliance of the original 'Buffalo Hunt' cue? Did they think soundtrack collectors would prefer a repeat of track 1? Well, finally great moments in film music history are available. The Buffalo Hunt would have to be one of filmdom's great musical 5 minutes. Other expanded cues bring tears to the eyes and shivers up the spine.

If you love John Barry's music, or collect soundtracks, then buy this now! If you bought the original 1990 release, throw it away and replace it with this version NOW! As other reviewers have said, this should be the cornerstone of all soundtrack collections.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Peaceful Perfection, April 11, 2005
This review is from: Dances with Wolves (Audio CD)
John Barry's score for Dances with Wolves is some of the best music I have ever heard. I don't know alot about John Barry, but this score is the work of a master. The music works well in the film, as well as on its own. Mr. Barry uses the whole orchestra in a very moving and powerful way. He wrote many themes that give the film more depth and feeling.

For me(and I hope many others), this score is the most relaxing and peaceful I have ever heard. I have never heard the orchestra played in such a smooth and almost quiet way. Even the action and suspense themes are magnifcantly beautiful.

Dances With Wolves is one of the best soundtracks ever. I recommend this album to any one who seeks peaceful music. Just listen to the sheer beauty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars John Barry at his best, November 8, 2002
By 
Brandon Cutro (Tyler, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This score won an academy award and with good reason. The music is heartfelt, captivating, and leaves you breathless. It is a majestic epic score with stirring themes that make it a true classic. The main theme titled "The John Dunbar Theme" is a dramatic sequence with gorgeous string lines. It appears in several other places throughout the score. There are also adventurous parts in the score as an addition. "Pawnee Attack", "Journey to Fort Sedgewick", "Ride to Fort Hays", and "The Buffalo Hunt" contain bold brass lines along with the usual strings and percussion. I really don't have much to say about this one because it is so good. Just buy it and take a listen. The music will describe itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 318 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Dances with Wolves
Dances with Wolves by John Barry (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.