Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars RATT's most underrated album
RATT's third album "Dancing Undercover" (1986) sounds a lot like the first two; Van Halen/KISS derivative hard-rock with a lot of impressive, screeching solos, songs concerning sexual escapades and melodic, sing-along choruses. This time around, however, while the writing is still strong, the songs have a certain looseness to them. The album's hit singles "Dance," "Slip...
Published on June 29, 2007 by Daniel Ferguson-Maltzman

versus
20 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Definitely Good, But Not Their Best
Now before anyone looks at my three star rating and assumes it's a knock to this album, hear me out. I usually reserve five stars for an album that is timeless -- something like Led Zeppelin IV or The Beatles' "Sgt. Pepper" album. Something that has left an indelible stamp on the face of the music industry. Four stars is reserved for the a great album that,...
Published on February 12, 2004 by James Choma


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars RATT's most underrated album, June 29, 2007
By 
This review is from: Dancing Undercover (Audio CD)
RATT's third album "Dancing Undercover" (1986) sounds a lot like the first two; Van Halen/KISS derivative hard-rock with a lot of impressive, screeching solos, songs concerning sexual escapades and melodic, sing-along choruses. This time around, however, while the writing is still strong, the songs have a certain looseness to them. The album's hit singles "Dance," "Slip of the Lip" and "Body Talk" have a certain swagger, a groove that makes them utterly irresistible. The rest of the album is also quite good, if not as strong as the singles.

"Dancing Undercover" is probably RATT's most underrated album, and I would rank it my second favorite of theirs right after the classic debut "Out of the Cellar." This isn't mold-breaking profound stuff here, but it is good, solid 80s rock. There isn't a lot of filler or obligatory generic power ballads on "Dancing Undercover;" in fact, there are no ballads at all. This album is ten songs worth of dated but totally fun, infectious pop-metal that fans of the genre will love.

"Dancing Undercover" has the advantage of not having any of its singles played to death on 80s comps or "retro-lunch" radio programs, so for those that love 80s melodic hard-rock, listening to this album will be a fresh and rewarding experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RATT AT THEIR VERY BEST, October 1, 2003
By 
JS (New Lenox, IL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dancing Undercover (Audio CD)
Ratt was one of my favorite bands from the 80's. Their first two full albums "Out of the Cellar" and "Invasion of your Privacy" were very good, but for me, this is where the band put it all together. Never have they sounded so smooth and tight, with razor sharp guitars and great hooks throughout. "Dance", "Body Talk", "One good Lover" etc. are all outstanding 80's hard rock. If you get one RATT album, this is the one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Definitely Good, But Not Their Best, February 12, 2004
This review is from: Dancing Undercover (Audio CD)
Now before anyone looks at my three star rating and assumes it's a knock to this album, hear me out. I usually reserve five stars for an album that is timeless -- something like Led Zeppelin IV or The Beatles' "Sgt. Pepper" album. Something that has left an indelible stamp on the face of the music industry. Four stars is reserved for the a great album that, while not a classic, is exceptional. For me, "Dancin' Undercover" is a good album, not a great album.
I remember buying this after wearing out my "Out of the Cellar" and "Invasion of Your Privacy" tapes. It was released in 1986 to a lot of hype in the music magazines of the day, as well as teaser clips on MTV. You'd think this album was going to be the end-all-be-all of, well, everything. As soon as it came out, I shelled out my cash and bought a copy on tape.
I listened to it once and was instantly underwhelmed. Whoa... only "Slip of the Lip" stood out. I listened again and took a liking to "7th Avenue," but everthing else seemed so uninspired. Stephen Pearchy's voice still sounded good, Warren DeMartini was still impressive, but something was missing. To this day, I still can't put my finger on it.
I'd place this as my fourth favorite album by the band, following "Out of the Cellar," "Detonator," and "Invasion of your Privacy." It's not a bad album, I still enjoy listening to it, it's just not a "great" album to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Confident `RATT Gang' was peaking in 1986, August 13, 2008
By 
Sal Nudo (Champaign, Illinois) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Dancing Undercover (Audio CD)
The central themes to RATT's "Dancing Undercover" are mostly these: Have a good time, be sure to have an even better time and, by the way, just have the best time of your life. And all things considered, I suppose there's something a little off kilter with a bunch of macho heavy metal dudes dancing the night away, so perhaps the band was right on target when it named this CD. Thankfully, though, "Dancing Undercover" is a happy median of sorts for RATT, halfway between the gritty metal pop blast of Out of the Cellar but also showing signs of a more commercial direction that would be overly evident on future records. This is the third of RATT's six studio records, and it really does display the band in fine fighting form and nicely hitting its stride.

Stephen Pearcy and the "RATT Gang" always started their CDs off in a fiery, loud, in-your-face manner, and this album is no exception. "Dance," "One Good Lover," "Drive Me Crazy" and "Body Talk" are all sex-crazed, chorus-heavy and self-explanatory tunes just itching to be played in the nearest 16,000-seat arena. The single "Slip of the Lip," meanwhile, is one of RATT's best-ever songs, a slickly worded, truly catchy song that contains honest-to-God groove -- this band's specialty.

Rather than coming off as a letdown, "Side 2" of this CD also boasts great tunes and is, in some ways, a little more musically diverse and interesting. The vibe on the back half of the album is a little less pumped up but the songs are every bit as grabbing -- to the point that they may even exceed the first five songs. Of particular note is another great groover, "7th Avenue," but the screw-`em-all attitude heard on "It Doesn't Matter" is cool, too. "Enough is Enough," the final tune, starts off with Pearcy's stark lone voice coupled with an equally isolated guitar. The song, due to its pleading, slightly desperate tone from Pearcy, is oddly touching despite simple lyrics. It's the closest thing to a ballad on this rock-heavy album, and it may just be, surprisingly, the best song within a slew of 10 greats from the mighty RATT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4.3, September 28, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dancing Undercover (Audio CD)
My 2nd Fav. RATT CD! Right behind the obvious "out of..". Great riffs here and a thick groove adds to most tracks. Great sounding as well. Best songs are "Looking for Love", "Slip of the Lip" and "Drive me Crazy". But there is little fluff material on this cd. Must have Ratt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A cool album, October 11, 2004
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dancing Undercover (Audio CD)
Dancing Undercover, Ratt's third full-length album, was released in 1986. There are ten tracks. No power ballads are contained. The material is in a straight-ahead hard rock musical direction. Altogether, I find the songwriting to be solid, the musicianship to be tight, and the sound quality to be satisfying. Stephen Pearcy's vocals are unique, magnetic, and industrious. I am impressed by the rhythm guitar work of Warren DeMartini and Robbin Crosby. Also, Bobby Blotzer's drumming is prominent in the mix. This album sports enjoyable choruses, too. My favorite songs are "Dance," "Slip of the Lip," and "Body Talk." The fun, album-opening "Dance" features a cool intro, a memorable refrain, and engaging singing from Pearcy. The swaggering "Slip of the Lip" exhibits a striking main guitar riff and an infectious chorus. The vivacious "Body Talk" displays a captivating principal guitar riff, a notable refrain, and an attractive beginning. Examples of other cuts that I like are "One Good Lover," "Drive Me Crazy," "Looking for Love," "It Doesn't Matter," "Take a Chance," and "Enough Is Enough." "One Good Lover" has a taut main guitar riff and a pleasing chorus. "Drive Me Crazy" is a vibrant one that presents a nice guitar solo from Crosby, an indelible refrain, an engaging drumming workout from Blotzer, an appealing principal guitar riff, and a creative ending. "Looking for Love" and "It Doesn't Matter" sport tasteful choruses, while "Take a Chance" features a pleasant main guitar riff, and the album-closing "Enough Is Enough" exhibits a catchy refrain. The CD insert does not include the song lyrics. The album cover is cool. The disc is just over 35 minutes. Dancing Undercover is a recommendable album from Ratt that is fun, invigorating, and urgent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars All for one and one for all..., April 7, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dancing Undercover (Audio CD)
Not a real big fan of this record though Ratt thought they could do no wrong in the mid-eighties. `Dancing Undercover' is where the rips in the satin and silk first made their appearance. A very difficult recording from the band accounts as internal chemistry and excessive partying started to take its toll on the quality control of the music. Though filler had reared its ugly head through much of the second half of `Invasion' it pretty much proliferates album number three. "Dance" is a justified lead track and other high standards were set with "Body Talk" and "Slip of the Lip" but I mean after "Looking for Love" there really isn't much to recommend here. Warren De Martini does indeed shred but any talk of a real guitar partnership with Robbin Crosby must have seemed meaningless by this point. "Drive Me Crazy" is sort of hectic but again like much of the LP it pales in comparison to much of `Out of the Cellar'. `Dancing Undercover' isn't a bad record but is it indispensable hard rock? Hardly like much of commercial metal from 1986.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ratt n roll, right on, October 23, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dancing Undercover (Audio CD)
Generally, in my opinion Ratt's albums follow a decline from the beginning of their career to the end (when Robbin died, that was "the end" of Ratt in my opinion). Now, that's not to say that the albums from the tail end of Ratt's catalog are bad, because they're not. If you like Ratt, all of their CDs are pretty good, but I'd say Dancing Undercover is about their 3rd or 4th best effort, behind the Ratt EP, Out of the Cellar, and Invasion of Your Privacy. Dancing Undercover and Reach For The Sky are both solid CDs, and Detonator is kind of a small step down from those. Crosby was still contributing to the material during this one, and Warren DeMartini's guitar solos are breathtaking as usual. Even Ratt's "4th best album" is better than most mainstream rock music and worthy of admiration from rockers of any age. If you like the music from the LA glam scene of the 1980s, or are into bands like Motley Crue, Skid Row, Kiss... Ratt's Dancing Undercover is a CD worth checking out. Standout tracks: Dance, Body Talk, Slip of the Lip.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars heavy rythms, great hooks, Demartini's craftiest effort..., March 11, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Dancing Undercover (Audio CD)
"Dance" and "Body Talk" were the two big hits here but, as with most hard core fans, you need to dig deeper to find the REAL gems. "One Good Lover" and "7th Avenue" possess two of the best Demartini solos I've ever heard. "Drive Me Crazy" is a great driving tune. "Slip of the Lip" is a heavy slow groove. But listening to these tunes out of the context of the CD is not the same. It is best to listen to this CD straight through to really appreciate it, but I guess that could be said for any Ratt CD. As a complete package, this Ratt album wins hands down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The 2nd last decent Ratt Album, April 28, 2009
By 
rocky49152 (Lyndhurst, OH USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dancing Undercover (Audio CD)
Basically Ratt have a downward trajectory that's almost a straight line. Their first album "Out of the Cellar" was their hands-down best - and their later records just get progressively a little worse over time. This record was made when Ratt was still on the favorable end of that curve.

If you like "Out of the Cellar" and "Invasion of your Privacy", this record has the same sound, Beau Hill production, and hedonistic anthemic feel that made Ratt such a great band in the 80's. So if you know that sound, and you like it, you will enjoy this record. If you're new to Ratt, I would recommend picking up their self-titled debut before this one. Avoid their later output, because most anything they've done without Beau Hill is mediocre at best. In fact, Ratt in my book basically has 4 albums worth owning: "Out of the Cellar", "Invasion of your Privacy", "Dancing Undercover", and "Reach for the Sky" - but I digress.

Truthfully, this album gets an unfair amount of criticism, as there's a lot to like here. For one thing, the album plays better than any other Ratt record from beginning to end. Individually, the songs themselves, with a couple exceptions, are just ok, but the songs are sequenced in the first half in a way that draws you in from the anthemic but sort of forgettable "Dance" - which immediately seques into "One Good Lover" - the best song on the record in my opinion, and good enough to buy the album for, to the energetic "Drive Me Crazy" which showcases the rhythm section a little bit. Although the guitars and Pearcy's voice really define the sound of the group, these guys are all capable musicians in the studio - at least they were when this was made before drugs and sex addictions started to rip them apart.

We slip back into average with the mid-tempo "Slip of the Lip" and pick up again for "Body Talk", which leads into "Looking for Love", which is another good 150 BPM metal anthem.

Unfortunately, this is where things drop off. The album continues on with respectable Ratt anthems that stand well together but not as well on their own. "Enough is Enough" is the only minor standout, which of course, they put at the very end of the record.

Overall, I've got an admitted soft spot for this group and continue to hope that they'll put something out today that would even approach this record or any of their earlier output in terms of quality (rumor has it that there is, in fact, a new album in the works for 2009) - for change has not been good to them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Dancing Undercover
Dancing Undercover by Ratt (Audio CD - 1990)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.