Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars for the man
my husband requested this while he was deployed, this site was one of the few that had it, so he was very happy
Published on January 22, 2013 by Jennifer L Richards

versus
56 of 59 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sounds Like Fun--But Painfully Uneventful and Unenlightening
I wanted to complete the review of HBO's "Tourgasm" at the same time as I took a look at Dane Cook's concert film "Vicious Circle." I think Dane Cook is a talented and engaging performer, and I think his standup is genial and enjoyable. I can't say that I'm a big fan of his film choices thus far, but his CD's and concerts are genuinely funny and identifiable. In my...
Published on October 20, 2006 by K. Harris


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

56 of 59 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sounds Like Fun--But Painfully Uneventful and Unenlightening, October 20, 2006
This review is from: Dane Cook's Tourgasm (DVD)
I wanted to complete the review of HBO's "Tourgasm" at the same time as I took a look at Dane Cook's concert film "Vicious Circle." I think Dane Cook is a talented and engaging performer, and I think his standup is genial and enjoyable. I can't say that I'm a big fan of his film choices thus far, but his CD's and concerts are genuinely funny and identifiable. In my review of "Vicious Circle", I gave the DVD 4 stars.

Now that you know I don't have an agenda against Dane Cook, you can take this review in the spirit it was intended or not. "Tourgasm" is a reality show broadcast in 9 episodes. It takes a look at Dane with three other comics as they traveled the country to perform for 20 shows in 30 days. On paper, this seems like a great idea--some great comedy, some backstage drama, some insight into the comedy process, a more personal look at Dane Cook. There was a potential for many things.

Inexplicably, however, nothing was delivered. The show has no narrative drive, no hook and nothing to invest yourself in. You want to hear great comedy? Not here. You get a couple of jokes from each show--but anyone familiar with Dane Cook's CDs and Gary Gulman's stint on "Last Comic Standing" will be familiar with the material. But trust me, this series is NOT about the comedy performances. Backstage drama, then? Absolutely not. We're treated to a couple of pranks, and an argument or two (mostly Robert Kelly picking on newbie Jay Davis). Not that interesting. Everyone keeps telling the camera how difficult this trip is, how revolutionary--and yet our view is so sanitized--if there was drama, I never saw it. At one point Gary Gulman actually leaves the tour for a while, I guess he's sick of it. But we see nothing leading up to it and the actual event takes place off camera. One day he's just not there. This is NOT backstage insight. Will you learn about the comedy process? Well, Jay Davis does make up one unfunny joke and we're treated to seeing him do it several times. Personal info on Dane? Nope.

I feel strongly that this could have been fascinating TV. But as it stands, it is so uneventful as to be nonexistent. I'm only trying to warn you! These nine episodes will seem like a lifetime. KGHarris, 10/06.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The show gets 1 star, bonus features *probably* earn 1 more, October 26, 2006
By 
Michael Ramelb (Jefferson City, MO United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dane Cook's Tourgasm (DVD)
I loved the premise, but boy was the show a let down. A four comic team is a real drag when 3 of the 4 comedians aren't that funny. Even this could have been countered by giving Dane a bit more face time than the rest (and with material that most fans hadn't already heard many times)...but of course that didn't happen. The bus footage wasn't very insightful or interesting. Neither were the obligatory reality show excursions that they took.

I haven't seen the DVD yet (it's still on pre-order). Hopefully the bonus footage captures some of what the show itself missed. If not, count this as a 1 star review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars B-O-R-I-N-G!!, December 29, 2006
This review is from: Dane Cook's Tourgasm (DVD)
Got this DVD set as a delayed Xmas present. I was under the impression, from the case, that this was going to be a lot of stand up performances of Dane and the others. All it is is a series about them going on tour. There is nothing interesting about it. Nothing rewarding about it. I love Dane's jokes and all, but you only see about one joke from each comedian per episode. And the jokes that Dane tells are the one's from Retaliation. I wouldnt recommend this. I gave this 2 stars because it comes in a metal case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, December 5, 2006
This review is from: Dane Cook's Tourgasm (DVD)
A good premise gets wasted with Dane Cook's Tourgasm, which promises to give a first person back stage view of the cross country comedy tour piloted by Dane Cook, Gary Gulman, Robert Kelly, and Jay Davis. Cook has since become huge in the comedy world, and is even branching out into movies, while Gulman will be familiar with those who frequently watch stand up specials on Comedy Central. Robert Kelly isn't very funny, and Jay Davis a newbie comedian who frequently gets made fun of by Kelly. There's a few interesting and funny moments here, including Davis bombing frequently and given advice from Cook, but these moments are few and very far between. Not to mention that for a series dealing with comedians, you'd expect maybe a few more snippets of the shows they play, and you get a few, but not as many as you might like. Not to mention there is a point in the show where Gulman departs, and no background information as to why is ever really given. Even if you are a die hard fan of Dane Cook, you'll have a hard time enjoying Tourgasm, especially if you're looking for frequently funny moments. All in all, this may be worth a look for said die hard fans, but proceed with caution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Tourgasm, a painful experience - ZERO stars, January 9, 2008
By 
This review is from: Dane Cook's Tourgasm (DVD)
Tourgasm is an example of ego-gone-wild. Dane Cook could only have been blinded by his super-fi-ego to have allowed this past the edit bay. Tourgasm is how I know I would never see Jay Davis or Robert Kelly on Comedy Central, and that is fine with me! Stand-up fans want to see comedians on-stage, not behind the scenes; and we only want to see interviews of established comedians. We certainly don't want to see a bunch of middle-schoolers battle it out with their insecurities. Watching this mistake-of-an-idea was a wrenching experience. I congratulate Gary Gulman, a talented and very hot-looking comedian, for leaving the tour for many days in order to keep away from the supreme negativity of his colleagues, day in and day out. Gary Gulman has depth, and you can see it, and hear it in his comedy. Dane Cook's shining moment was in Viscious Circle - not sure if he can do another thing like that, but let's hope so. Gulman's fan base is all ages due to his depth; Cook appeals mostly to teens and 20-something's. Some of us in our early-40's will enjoy Viscious Circle and that may be it. He seems to keep himself hyped-up and convinced of his awesomeness, surrounding himself with the positiveness of fans who think he's awesome and cute, supposedly never doing drugs/alcohol. Maybe he should go into depth-training and have a drink with some other types of people for a change...and listen to them. I don't doubt for one minute that "he can't make a relationship last past 55 minutes".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A waste, May 7, 2007
This review is from: Dane Cook's Tourgasm (DVD)
I'm also a Dane Cook fan, but not this time around. Tourgasm had potential. And despite that potential - 4 comedians traveling across the country in a tour bus - this reality TV-like concept falls flat on its face. There was no comedy throughout the entire DVD. NOTHING WAS FUNNY! The comedians in it complain more than they make jokes. This DVD was a waste of money and time. Spare yourself.

Dane, if you're out there, stop with this promotional stuff and give us something with more substance. Your bits are hilarious. Your future as a reality TV-star? No so much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars More Reality Show Stupidity Than Comedy, June 24, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dane Cook's Tourgasm (DVD)
I am a huge Dane Cook fan, but he's been disappointing me lately. My biggest complaint about this DVD is that it does not include a clip of the full stand-up act. It's mostly about their 'adventures' on tour, providing only sample bits from the show. And the bits are FUNNY! I want more stand-up comedy, less reality show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pass - Only for the hardcore, December 28, 2006
By 
Rob S. (San Francisco, CA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Dane Cook's Tourgasm (DVD)
Love Dane, often listen to his CDs repeatedly at work. Show was "blah". Best thing to come out of it was me 'discovering' Gary.

If you're a hardcore Cook fan, of course pick this up. O/w even if you love his stand up, it's just not an entertaining show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sounds Like Fun--But Painfully Uneventful and Unenlightening, June 9, 2011
I wanted to complete the review of HBO's "Tourgasm" at the same time as I took a look at Dane Cook's concert film "Vicious Circle." I think Dane Cook is a talented and engaging performer, and I think his standup is genial and enjoyable. I can't say that I'm a big fan of his film choices thus far, but his CD's and concerts are genuinely funny and identifiable. In my review of "Vicious Circle", I gave the DVD 4 stars.

Now that you know I don't have an agenda against Dane Cook, you can take this review in the spirit it was intended or not. "Tourgasm" is a reality show broadcast in 9 episodes. It takes a look at Dane with three other comics as they traveled the country to perform for 20 shows in 30 days. On paper, this seems like a great idea--some great comedy, some backstage drama, some insight into the comedy process, a more personal look at Dane Cook. There was a potential for many things.

Inexplicably, however, nothing was delivered. The show has no narrative drive, no hook and nothing to invest yourself in. You want to hear great comedy? Not here. You get a couple of jokes from each show--but anyone familiar with Dane Cook's CDs and Gary Gulman's stint on "Last Comic Standing" will be familiar with the material. But trust me, this series is NOT about the comedy performances. Backstage drama, then? Absolutely not. We're treated to a couple of pranks, and an argument or two (mostly Robert Kelly picking on newbie Jay Davis). Not that interesting. Everyone keeps telling the camera how difficult this trip is, how revolutionary--and yet our view is so sanitized--if there was drama, I never saw it. At one point Gary Gulman actually leaves the tour for a while, I guess he's sick of it. But we see nothing leading up to it and the actual event takes place off camera. One day he's just not there. This is NOT backstage insight. Will you learn about the comedy process? Well, Jay Davis does make up one unfunny joke and we're treated to seeing him do it several times. Personal info on Dane? Nope.

I feel strongly that this could have been fascinating TV. But as it stands, it is so uneventful as to be nonexistent. I'm only trying to warn you! These nine episodes will seem like a lifetime. KGHarris, 10/06.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring and Not Funny, March 2, 2009
By 
Kalbawe (San Francisco, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dane Cook's Tourgasm (DVD)
It took me several tries to get through these DVDs. How could someone so funny be this unfunny... His friends are annoying... there is no real drama...Stay away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.