Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Brett Dennen Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick Father's Day Gifts Amazon Cash Back Offer bighero bighero bighero  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $149.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Outdoor Recreation

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 27, 2014
Great writing, horrible finished product, edges of paper were rough and looked as it it was trimmed by a chainsaw.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 22, 2013
With the advent of globalization we need to understand what that means. Pat Choate is a good source for you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon November 4, 2011
A lot of concerns about what is happening out of sight in China are revealed.
P.11 "Neither the citizens of China nor those of the US can rely on the Chinese government to monitor the production of the bulk active pharmaceutical ingredients used in the manufacture of drugs produced there and shipped here."

P.14 FDA 2002: "The agency is unable to assure the US public that it can prevent unsafe imports from entering the country. Yet agency officials have been testifying before Congress since 2002 that more than 80% of the bulk active ingredients that go into prescription drugs are imported and that that the FDA has information on only 18% of the companies supplying these ingredients."

The book discusses why Americans cannot compete with the Chinese and why we cannot be protected from China and India. Hayek and Milton Friedman were the brain trust that pushed NAFTA and globalization. Both political parties supported them. The book details why their assumptions were wrong, leading to a wrong theory, and how the results were not what was expected. This has led us to the current debacle in Europe and the US.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 9, 2011
This book is serious study of the negative effects of the neo-liberal " free trade" ideology that prevails
among the US political elite and its effect on the well being of the majority of the American people. Choate has a a solid understanding of American economic history and is willing to write truthfully- He was one of the few American economic writers who had the courage to oppose NAFTA in 1992-93.
History now confirms his sincere warning to America. Danger Business: The Risks of Globalization needs
a wide readership and discussion today.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 4, 2011
There are many issues that Pat Choate presents in this book that I feel are genuine concerns for any American. For instance, NAFTA, GATT, CAFTA, the fact that the FDA only checks 1% of imports, that China has and continues to benefit from the U.S. relinquishing her best interests, advancing militarism, etc.

A big BUT is that just because someone may share sentiments about ills does not mean there is shared sentiments about cures. Pat Choate's cures are more of the same, and I feel that is due to his ideology being fundamentally incorrect. I had many bones to pick with his misinformation- whether it was intentional or not. First, Choate obviously understands Laissez-Faire differently from most explanations. Laissez-Faire, French name (not Scottish/English) due to being propounded by the French, is an environment between private parties without State intervention. It opposes governmental interference. Secondly, Adam Smith (Scottish) did not only NOT coin the term Laissez-Faire, but he was also NOT a vocal proponent of Laissez-Faire.

Choate fails at explaining Laissez-Faire or the free-trade Capitalism that Smith propounded. He then devotes an entire book railing against "free-trade" as if NAFTA, GATT, and CAFTA are actual examples of such. He appropriately describes how D.C. is for sale, how there is an ossification of political insiders, how governments are managing economies, etc. At the same time stating that these "managed" economies are some how the fault of unfettered Capitalism. If anything, these are all examples of Fascism, but once again a misleading economist fails to point this out.

This leads to my disagreement with his cures for the ills presented in this book. Choate calls for more of the same. If a government program is underfunded and incompetent, Choate's solution is to add more programs as the cure. If America is losing her sovereignty to Unconstitutional world administrations, Choate's solution is to demand more Americanized rules to the game.

Rather than Choate cheerleading for a sovereign America, he seems to be capitulating a need for global governance over trade. If anything, this should be clear to the reader that global governance is anything BUT Laissez-Faire; and that NAFTA is an example of something he would support (government interference). Choate not only misinforms his readers, but contradicts himself throughout the book. To him unfettered Capitalism and Laissez-Faire are bad, but he also has issues with managed trade (such as NAFTA) and incorrectly blames it on Capitalism. It would be interesting to read Choate's explanation of Fascism considering he's already used it for Capitalism.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 28, 2010
DANGEROUS BUSINESS is another excellent book authored by Pat Choate.
This book exposes some aspects of our government and economic policies that I haven't read before. The link between outsourcing and repayment of loans to American banks is one.
The author observes that both Bushes and Bill Clinton sold out to transnational companies and global finance in "the worst economic policy mistakes in American history."

The resistance to Country Of Origin Labels on food for consumers is used as an example of how transnational companies are in collusion with elected officials in government. Remember the poisoned pet food from China?

The chapter titled "Corporatism" details government corruption and cronyism.

Mr. Choate also gives a clear explanation of mercantilism.

Another strongpoint of this book is that this author gives an expansive treatment to the secretive, unconstitutional North American Union plans. I can't think of another book that I have read that has as much detail on that subject.

Another feature of this book that I have to mention is the Appendices.
The author provides numerous lists of names of lobbyists from Congress, special interests, foreign countries and the revolving doors that access both sides of lobbying.

This is a book that every working-class American should read for an understanding of what's wrong with our economic policies.
I also highly recommend Pat Choate's book that was released in 2009.

Saving Capitalism: Keeping America Strong (Vintage)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 12, 2009
Unless and until the thinking in this unassuming book becomes mainsteam in the US, the country will have a dire future, going down a path of rapid decline, led by its own elites' dogmatism and blinding stupidity as well as greed and total lack of morality.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 19, 2009
I am a working stiff getting the shaft from NAFTA.
All working Americans should have this book on the table, better yet, in the back pocket. Make the kids read it as well. Thanks Pat.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 11, 2009
This is an adequate, if late/incomplete, survey of the globalization of trade, production and finance, relative to the US. Easy to understand, well documented, and without rhetorical baggage, Choate's text shows the losers and some of the winners of globalization. I won't repeat the strengths of this book, for most all comments do a very good job at it. In fact, I'll raise a question for the benefit of all, which the author might not have intended to answer anyway.

So, given the fact that most US elites, US presidents of all political persuasions and backgrounds, together with a majority of an equally diverse Congress, seem to favor globalization at all costs and despite its negative externalities on the American public, I wonder if globalization is not indeed the engine of capitalism in its current stage--financial in its nature, and therefore one that has exhausted its traditional growth potential. By "traditional" I mean market expansion through territorial expansion, investment in production and so on along the lines of some 'golden period' when today looked better than yesterday for growing numbers of Americans.

Now, if growth can only happen by squeezing the highest cost on the balance sheet of any operation, (labor, that is) globalization is indeed the way to achieve it. If we agree so far, before questioning globalization, shouldn't we question the kind of society/capitalism we want to live in? Yes, to properly do such an evaluation, any black and white type of analysis will only make a caricature of our options, for we quickly run into deciding between capitalism vs. socialism/communism. Yet, the happy existence of so many peoples, well in between capitalism and socialism, seems to indicate there are more options available.

Myself, I would have expected Pat Choate to go all the way by the end. He came somehow short and I hold a star not to diminish his achievement, but point one's attention to what's missing/next.
22 comments|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 6, 2009
Pat Choate has prepared an easy to understand layman's review of International Trade in the era of the 'Global Economy'. Reading it, I was amazed but not surprised by the design of this globalist's ideology of maximized profit-taking that costs America jobs, security and credibility.

Dangerous Business is a screeching siren sounding in the ears of everyone willing to listen and take note that change must come now. Its the type of book that will send you out scanning the shelves of your local stores for products Made in the USA. You'll likely write an email or two to your elected representatives with your new verifiable concerns. However, be prepared to receive the static reply that "all is well, no reason to panic" response.

Considering our current economic condition, Choate's work couldn't have had better timing but are we reading and are we willing to make changes? According to Choate, we'll have to change to survive let alone prosper. Dangerous Business closes with several pages of advice for politicians and decision makers regarding a correction in our course. It would have also done well to show the little people actions we can take to patch up the American condition. Choate has led the way in sounding the alarm, now we need the information and know-how connected to visionary leaders that will do just that, lead!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.