Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Valentine's Day Shop Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon St Lucia easycohice_2016 All-New Amazon Fire TV Subscribe & Save Valentine's Day Cards Knock snow out cold Amazon Gift Card Offer chiraq chiraq chiraq  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Prime Exclusive Savings in Video Games Winter Sports on Amazon.com Sale

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 24, 2011
Judge Napolitano divides politicians into Libertarians who believe in limited government that follows the US Constitution and Progressives who do not honor the Constitution. He says Progressives do what governments always do--greedily increase their power at the cost of individual freedoms.

Napolitano discusses `natural laws' that apply to every human. He teaches much about our Constitution, our Bill of Rights and laws. He also lists many ways our constitution has been ignored and American freedoms lost.

Much of Napolitano's writing sounds accurate. But sometimes he seems ignorant about problems that necessitate laws and limits on freedom of choice. Individuals and companies may not change without the force of laws. That's human nature.

An example: Napolitano believes pornography should never be controlled--that interferes with our right to choose our behaviors. In my work as a licensed professional Psychiatric RN I saw porno harm families, especially children. Youngsters can't choose wisely to ignore porno at home or on a computer.

This judge is against outlawing the right to talk on cell phones while driving. I once stood at an intersection and saw three drivers on cell phones run red lights. They never realized other drivers slammed on their brakes and averted accidents. These cars might have careened into me. Judge Napolitano apparently doesn't understand human attention-deficits. Humans do not always choose rightly even if natural law says they can.

This author does acknowledge that when one person's natural rights causes harm to others, laws may be needed.

Many Federal laws needlessly limit freedom. Do Progressives believe people are too stupid to ever think and act without their laws? Or is the real problem Progressive governments' greed for more power?
0Comment9 of 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon November 13, 2011
Format: HardcoverVine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Similarly to books by James Bovard (Lost Rights: The Destruction of American Liberty and others by Judge Napolitano (Lies the Government Told You: Myth, Power, and Deception in American History, this book is devoted to arguing how we Americans are gradually losing many of the rights supposedly guaranteed us by our Constitution. Each chapter is devoted to a different right we supposedly have by law - the right to speech, to privacy, to travel, to property, etc - and goes from there into an exposition of how, over time, state and national governments have encroached into them.

For instance, the chapter on our right to property discusses the idea of eminent domain under the fifth amendment - that tells us that government can only take things owned by the people if "just compensation" is given, and if the taking is for "public" use (to be used for a public school, public park, or other public function). Well, needless to say, when government is allowed to interpret - as they are - what counts as just compensation, and what counts as public use, we now have governments taking land in order to sell it to private developers, giving the original owner whatever the government happens to think is a reasonable price (of course, it is not, because if it were, the owner would voluntarily sell it!). And that is just one chapter. The right to interstate travel, to keep one's income, to self-defense, etc are covered. And the chapter on how government has gradually encroached on our right to privacy (via things like the PATRIOT Act) is downright infuriating!

Of course, it will be noted by astute reviewers that Napolitano is not simply talking about rights explicitly spelled out in our Constitution. The right to retain our income (though some tax could be considered an unjust taking under the Fifth Amendment), the right to privacy, and the right to travel are nowhere mentioned in the Constitution. All are implied (especially if we take Amendment X seriously, which the Judge makes clear he DOES). But the general point is that what was once a (relatively) classical liberal society - where individuals were largely left free to pursue their own ends free from government restraint - has gradually become a welfare and nanny state, regulating what we can eat, what kind of privacy we can have, how much the money we earn and spend will be worth, and just about anything else we can think of.

So, in a nutshell, the moral of the present book is that while our Constitution guarantees us a certain form of government that operates within certain limits, the problem is that the same government that is to be limited is the one judging how to interpret the Constitution. And surprise, surprise; they are interpreting it so expansively that in many ways, the document is just being used as a blank check that government can interpret to give them any power they'd like.

And it is books like this that will hopefully help to keep citizens aware of, and diligent against, these trends.
1212 comments8 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 12, 2011
I received a free copy of this book from Booksneeze.com and was asked to review it. I do not consider myself to be very knowledgeable about the government and thought this book would be a great way for me to be informed. I have heard older generations talk about how the government is taking away our personal freedoms, but I didn't fully understand exactly what they were talking about or maybe I didn't fully trust that what they were saying was true and was only their opinion. I was hoping to find some viable information by reading this book, and I did. Judge Andrew P. Napolitano is very knowledgeable about the government's workings and addresses each personal freedom individually. He talks about the history of the those personal freedoms and how the government's involvement in those freedoms has changed over the years. This book is great for a 32 yr old who hasn't lived long enough to see enough of the changes in the government's power concerning our personal freedoms.

Once you've read this book, you will totally understand the reasoning for this review's title. This book is cover-to-cover full of information, but in my opinion, it was almost too much to take in and fully comprehend. I gave this book 5 stars based on the information alone in this book, but in my overall opinion of this book, it is 3 stars. The author's writing style is anything but entertaining, but is very dry. I had a hard time staying focused on this book without my eyes glazing over as I took in all the information it has to offer. If you would like to read this book but like books that are generally easy-to-read, then I would suggest getting this book in CD format.
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 9, 2011
It Is Dangerous to Be Right When the Government Is Wrong by Judge Andrew Napolitano was another amazing book. Right off the bat let me confess, I am a big fan of Judge Napolitano and have read a lot of his books and watch his show. In this book the Judge discusses why people fear speaking out against the government too much.

As usual the Judge writes in a very technical way with a lot of legalesse that could scare of some casual readers, but don't let that stop you from hearing what he has to say. There are a lot of 'nuggets' of truth in this book that America needs to hear.

The level of research that was put into this book is easily noticed as you read his explanations of court cases and how they effect our lives and how they oppose the original intent of the founders. The Judge is a constitutional authority and his expertise on the subject is evident in each examination he writes.

I recommend this book to everyone that has any interest in getting to the heart of the problems facing America.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their [...] book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 [...] : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 29, 2011
Judge Napolitano is a well known guest on Fox News, and author of several books. His latest book, It Is Dangerous To Be Right When The Government Is Wrong focuses on the United States Constitution and why we should all be worried about the growth of today's government. He talks about past violations and how easy it is for politicians to expand the governments power during a time of crisis, such as during World War II, and after 9/11. Judge Napolitano is a constitutionalists, so there are plenty of examples throughout the book of the ways our government has already violated our personal freedoms. He makes it clear that the Republicans and Democrats both are responsible for the loss of freedoms that were supposed to be guaranteed by the Constitution. This book should scare a lot of people, and is meant to get a conversation going about changing the government back to the way it was meant to be.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon December 28, 2011
Format: HardcoverVine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
My opinion of this book started high and continued to rise throughout, ending with the realization that I truly am a classic liberal and should register as a Libertarian. As the current discussion of Ron Paul as a candidate for President indicates, both my Republican and Democratic partisan friends disagree with much that the founders of our country believed, but might feel differently if they better understood our founders' ideas.

The key point raised by this book is that Natural Law is as real and unavoidable as gravity, based on the fundamental nature of the Universe. Natural law works out the implications of individuals being inherently free, and the legitimate limits of their freedom, and the legitimate role of government in protecting freedom.

The alternative, called Positive law, in which law is whatever the powerful say it is, values individuals less than society, and oppresses minorities. It is ever-popular, at least among those on top, but was specifically what our Constitution and Representative Democracy were designed to limit.

The book also serves as a very readable and interesting introduction to our entire legal system, including such current topics as "jury nullification". It also cuts right through many of the excuses for big government. (One example from page 228: America gives 1.3 billion a year of military assistance to Eqypt, despite it's poor human rights record - enough that we could instead have given $867 to every homeless child in America.)

After reading this book, I finally understand many of the "crazy" ideas of folks like Ron Paul, and why they are not crazy after all. I highly recommend this to both Tea Partiers and Occupiers as a good way to understand both our current troubles and how they could be overcome, leaving a strong, healthy, and free America to our grandchildren.
0Comment6 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon November 13, 2011
Format: HardcoverVine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
In the Author's Note to the book, Judge Napolitano writes:"It is the purpose of this book . . . to argue for the primacy of the individual over the state, and to help forment a reawakening of the natural human thirst for freedom."

I read the book with this in mind, wondering if the author would prove his point.

Boy did he.

He begins with a discussion of what Natural Law is and how the Founders envisioned government and the Natural Law working together. His description of the Founding and the philosophical origins of our Liberty.

Now you may not agree with his points about the importance of Natural Law (and the evidence of how common that opinion is is all around us) but if you grant him his premises about this, everything which follows is perfectly logical and upsetting in how much of our freedom has been taken from us.

The bulk of the book is taken up by examining our freedoms, based on natural law, and how the government has passed laws (since almost the time of the Founding) that take away these freedoms. He uses examples from history and the present day to show how the government has continually passed laws that restrict our natural, inalienable rights.

The chapters cover not only the freedoms you might immediately bring to mind: speech, assembly, right to bear arms, association. But others that we might take for granted but which are vital such as the right to travel, the right to be secure, the right to petition government, and the right to sound money.

In every case, the government comes off, not as the defender of our freedoms, but as the thief of our freedoms. That's right, in every case. It brings the question of whether we are free at all to mind.

Each chapter has a conclusion summarizing what we have lost.

So what to do? While Napolitano does not make concrete suggestions he does point out some possible lines for revolt in his last chapter from civil disobedience to the Tea Party to actual revolt.

There are only some minor complaints with the book. Napolitano's prose is clear and exact (what you would expect) but it is also one that uses words that are longer (and more precise) than what you'll read in your average OpEd piece. But following the argument closely will reap great insight.

I have to go now, I'm thirsty for freedom.
0Comment6 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 22, 2011
In his latest book "It Is Dangerous To Be Right When The Government Is Wrong" Judge Andrew P. Napolitano continues his crusade of presenting "the case for personal freedom". If you have ever watched the judge on FOX business then you will quickly realize that he writes as passionately as he speaks. The book goes into greater detail of the discussions he has on television.
It is important to understand who you are as an individual and the role government should and should not play in your life or the lives of others. If you are not familiar with The Judge then the Introduction will be a much needed read; there he defines a few key concepts such as: "Natural Rights" and "Human Law". The book exams areas in which the government has in the past and continues to impose in such as: property (including slavery), speech, travel, gun ownership and money. These issues are contrasted with what is in the constitution revealing how far the nation has deviated from its foundation. As he himself states "It Is Dangerous To Be Right When The Government Is Wrong" is not a happy book but it is a necessary read particularly in a time when citizens are losing more of their rights in the name of "national security.
I recommend this book. Marsha L. Randolph

I received a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for an unbiased review.
0Comment6 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 16, 2011
Napolitano contrasts our natural rights, those given to us by God, with the rights detailed in the Declaration of Independence. Then he shows us how a big governemnt out of control slowly legislates away our rights.
The conclusion of each chapter sums up what we can do, if anything, about it. I recommend it for everyone who wishes to know what has happened to his rights.
0Comment11 of 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 19, 2011
When we had TV programming in our home, more often than not, the channel would be tuned to the Fox News Channel. Although they aren't perfect either...they are a news source I actually trust, for the most part. Judge Andrew Napolitano is the senior judicial analyst there...and also has his own show on the business network. One thing I always liked about the Judge was his firm holding to the Constitution...even if it allowed things that he didn't agree with (although some of his beliefs I question and am not in complete agreement with).

In his book, "It is Dangerous to be Right When the Government is Wrong", he shares so many things...giving examples of how the government often twists the Constitution to line up with what works best for them. Truly, it's a bit frightening and an eye-opening read. The amount of power the government has seized is not how this country was started. Judge Napolitano cites many examples to help explain his points in each chapter....stories of individuals affected by government intrustion.

I must admit I only find my comfort in my Father, above. He, alone, has the ultimate power and because I know that He is perfect and almighty...I know my life is in His hands. The government may take my land, my possessions and my freedoms but they can never separate me from the love and salvation of my Jesus. I must admit though, I'm not very fond of the government infringing upon my rights...given by the Creator. The government is there to protect...not tell me *how* to live my life.

I would recommend this book to anyone who is interested in the Constitution and our freedoms (where they come from and what they are). For those not truly interested in politics and how our country is governed (and how it affects us)...this would be a difficult read. I struggled with reading the ways our government behaves and feeling so helpless. The most important thing we can do, I think, is stay in prayer for our nation; our leaders and the people who live here.

I received this book compliments of Book Sneeze.
All comments are my own, honest opinions.
0Comment7 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse