Daniel Barenboim: Beethov... has been added to your Cart
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by -importcds
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Shrinkwrap may be renewed, no visible damage on disc or booklet. Jewel case may have cosmetic damage, online codes for possible online content are expired or missing. Shipping time 5-21 business days.
Sell yours for a Gift Card
We'll buy it for up to $0.66
Learn More
Trade in now
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Daniel Barenboim: Beethoven - Sonatas Concerts 5 & 6
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available
  • To view this video download Flash Player

Daniel Barenboim: Beethoven - Sonatas Concerts 5 & 6

Price: $24.99 & FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.
13 new from $9.43 7 used from $9.12
Amazon Price New from Used from
"Please retry"
1-Disc Version
$9.43 $9.12
$24.99 & FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details Only 1 left in stock (more on the way). Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.

Frequently Bought Together

Daniel Barenboim: Beethoven - Sonatas Concerts 5 & 6 + Daniel Barenboim: Beethoven Sonatas- Concerts 7 & 8
Price for both: $49.98

Buy the selected items together

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Product Details

  • Format: Multiple Formats, Classical, Color, NTSC
  • Language: English
  • Region: All Regions
  • Aspect Ratio: 1.33:1
  • Number of discs: 1
  • Rated: NR (Not Rated)
  • Studio: Warner Classics
  • DVD Release Date: November 20, 2007
  • Run Time: 177 minutes
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • ASIN: B000W1V5PG
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #266,172 in Movies & TV (See Top 100 in Movies & TV)

Special Features


Editorial Reviews

In 2005, Daniel Barenboim performed the complete Beethoven piano sonatas over 8 concerts in 2 weeks at the Staatsoper in Berlin. The performances were sumptuously captured on film. Andy Sommer conducts. This volume includes Sonatas 5 & 6.

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By David M. Goldberg on May 25, 2014
Format: DVD Verified Purchase
Vol. 3 in this EMI series of 4 incorporates the 5th and 6th of 8 concerts that Daniel Barenboim performed in 2005 before a live audience in the Staatsoper Berlin covering Beethoven’s total output of piano sonatas, 32 in all. They were not played in chronological order. Each concert occupies a single disc. Disc 1 of this Vol. opens with Sonata No 7 in D Major, Op 10 No 3. The 1st movement (Presto) is neither tuneful, complex or innovative, but the pianist plays it with commendable bravura, doing the best he can with the material. The 2nd, Largo, is frankly dull, and Barenboim prolongs the agony by dragging out its length ------- in my view---------- unnecessarily. The following Minuetto (Allegro) is also played much too slowly. The last, Rondo, is made up of contrasting passages ------- slow alternating with quick ------ and Barenboim is much more convincing in the latter. Altogether, this is the most forgettable performance of the series so far.
Next comes No 13 in E flat Major, Op 27 No 1. The 1st movement is a set of variations (Andante – Allegro) marked at different tempos. As is his habit, Barenboim transforms Andante to Molto Adagio, so that these variations tend to drag; while the Allegros fare much better and are dashed off with exhilarating exuberance. The 2nd, Allegro Molto e Vivace is performed ponderously and much too slowly at the beginning, but becomes playful and good humoured, growing in excitement to a thrilling climax. The 3rd ----- Adagio con Espressione ------- is played precisely as described: slowly, but not to the point of strangling the music that is allowed to flow smoothly and poetically. It is in such instances that Barenboim’s lack of haste brings out the spiritual depths of the musical material like no other keyboard artist.
Read more ›
2 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more
Daniel Barenboim: Beethoven - Sonatas Concerts 5 & 6
This item: Daniel Barenboim: Beethoven - Sonatas Concerts 5 & 6
Price: $24.99
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com