Start reading Daniel X: Demons and Druids - Free Preview on the free Kindle Reading App or on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here.
This title is not currently available for purchase
Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Color:
Image not available

To view this video download Flash Player

 

Daniel X: Demons and Druids - Free Preview [Kindle Edition]

James Patterson , Adam Sadler
4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (83 customer reviews)

Pricing information not available.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition $6.99  
Hardcover $16.99  
Paperback $8.00  
Audio, CD, Audiobook, Unabridged $22.98  
Audible Audio Edition, Unabridged $14.95 or Free with Audible 30-day free trial
New Adult Fiction by Rainbow Rowell
Acclaimed author Rainbow Rowell's latest book, Landline, offers a poignant, humorous look at relationships and marriage. Learn more

Book Description

Daniel X's hunt to eliminate each and every intergalactic criminal on Earth is always relentless, but this time, it's getting personal. Number Three on the List of Alien Outlaws takes the form of raging, soul-possessing fire. And fire transports Daniel back to the most traumatic event of his life-the death of his parents.

In the face of his "kryptonite", Daniel struggles with his extraordinary powers like never before, and more than ever is at stake: his best friends are in grave peril. The only way to save them is to travel back-through a hole in time-to the demon's arrival during the Dark Ages. Rip-roaring action and humor sets the pages afire in this gripping time-travel adventure with an Arthurian cast-and countless other surprises!


Editorial Reviews

About the Author

James Patterson is the author of the highly praised Maximum Ride novels and of bestselling detective series featuring Alex Cross and the Women's Murder Club. His novels have sold more than 140 million copies worldwide. He lives in Florida. In 2009 he was nominated as Author of the Year for the Children's Choice Award.

Adam Sadler graduated from Harvard University, and has worked in the entertainment industry in Los Angeles and New York. Daniel X is his first novel, and his first collaboration with James Patterson. He lives in Brooklyn, NY.

Product Details

  • File Size: 132 KB
  • Print Length: 256 pages
  • Publisher: Little, Brown; 1 edition (July 20, 2010)
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B003VWCQA6
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Lending: Not Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #409,707 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
28 of 33 people found the following review helpful
Format:Hardcover
With DEMONS AND DRUIDS, James Patterson and Adam Sadler take the Daniel X series to an entirely new level.

Daniel X is an extraterrestrial who had been living with his family on earth. When his parents and sister were killed in a sneak attack by intergalactic criminals, Daniel made it his mission to wipe them all out. He is a fairly powerful guy who is still testing the extent and limits of his powers. He is able to travel in time, conjure up friends from his home planet, and occasionally and randomly experiences visits from his family, even though they no longer exist. It was Daniel's father who gave him a list of criminals who needed extermination the most, and while Daniel has not been following along in numerical order, he has been doing a good job of systematically whittling down the number.

Daniel's primary target in DEMONS AND DRUIDS is Phosphorius Beta, his strongest foe to date. Beta is a demon of fire --- one of the most basic of elements, and arguably the most dangerous --- and, worse, he comes with an army of similarly powered henchmen who are loaded with bad attitude. Beta is not a late arrival to Earth, either; he has been here for over a thousand years, biding his time while increasing his strength. Daniel soon discovers that the only way to defeat this enemy is to go back in time, to Europe's Dark Ages, and confront Beta before he has a chance to become so powerful.

Daniel has some interesting and unexpected allies in his quest. One of them, surprisingly, is his father, who puts him through a bit of criminal-elimination training, where Daniel learns there is much more to the job than he originally imagined. His other allies? Well, let's not spoil the surprise.
Read more ›
Was this review helpful to you?
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Daniel X: Demons and Druids" is a Rocket Ride August 28, 2010
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
This thriller will grab you and not let go. It's a rocket ride of a book with unrelenting pace and exotic imagination. Daniel's powers makes him super human, yet he's a vulnerable character - without parents or permanent friends. Daniel outwit villains, hunt aliens and gives us a peek at London through teenage eyes. I read the novel in one sitting - zooming through the prose on my Kindle.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a customer review January 1, 2011
By A&D
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I have followed the series of Daniel X and his hunt to eliminate each and every intergalactic criminal on Earth. The pace of these Daniel X stories is always fast and relentless. In this book the Number Three on the List of Alien Outlaws takes the form of raging, soul--possessing fire. And fire transports Daniel back to the most traumatic event of his life: the death of his parents.Also his best friends are in danger. The only way to save them is to travel back--through a hole in time to the demon's arrival during the Dark Ages.
This is a true time-travelling sci-fi action book!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not up to par August 31, 2010
By Granny
Format:Hardcover
I couldn't finish this. This is the ONLY James Patterson book that I gave up on! I read the other two Daniel books and really liked them. This one I just couldn't get interested in. I kept flipping pages just to get through it, but it just wasn't going to happen. Maybe I'll try again down the road.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Daniel does it again! December 5, 2012
By mocobe
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I really enjoyed this one. It's typical that Daniel get himself in a situation that is difficult, but in this one he seems to have feeling a typical teenager would have. We know he is going to defeat the aliens, but to walk back with Merlin and to protect the girl he loves (even though she isn't real) brings a new aspect to the challenge.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another Successful Daniel X Book August 25, 2010
Format:Audio CD|Verified Purchase
Nearly finished with this book\CD. It contains a little more insight into Daniel and his abilities. Great for all age groups. Doesn't have quite the punch of the last book but still doesn't disappoint.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific read September 13, 2010
Format:Hardcover|Verified Purchase
This series from James Patterson is a must read! My grandson (age 14) has read all of the Daniel X series and he loves them. I read them also and thought it is a "great read" for teenagers and adults. It also has some humor mixed in which is great!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This book is not for adults December 10, 2010
Format:Hardcover|Verified Purchase
This is a free book offered by Amazon Kindle. It is designed for young people and mature adults may not like it. Daniel X is a teen-age kid with magical powers. This volume opens with Daniel having turned himself into a soccer ball and allowing his friends to kick him about. These friends are not real. They are people who Daniel created and who he makes appear and disappear from time to time to keep him company. The four friends go to London to catch a monster. They are caught by another monster disguised as an old woman. The monster knew that Daniel was an alien monster hunter and was determined to kill him as revenge for what Daniel did to his brother. His dead father comes to help him.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Recent Customer Reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
great book
Published 2 hours ago by Gail Vandiver
5.0 out of 5 stars Mrp
I love this book I read it all the time. I would read this a lot if it had a sequel.
Published 3 months ago by Kimberly White
5.0 out of 5 stars Supernatural and unexplainable
TV rotting your brain - expand your mind with new Ideas by reading this book. Believe it or not - who cares
Published 3 months ago by Brandon R Barbano
5.0 out of 5 stars Daniel X
I would give it a 10 out of 10.
I loved the adventure of the story and the suspense of the book.
Published 3 months ago by hfvfgfc
3.0 out of 5 stars Demons and Druids ok
I liked the concept of the book, but writing a literary review based on a few chapter teaser is difficult. I was not invested in the characters by the end of the preview. Read more
Published 5 months ago by R. Leveille
5.0 out of 5 stars Great
It was a great book. It was action packed an interesting. So if y you want something good to read this is the bb ook
Published 6 months ago by Kyle
5.0 out of 5 stars it was inspiring
I like the fact that it paints a picture in your head and that it walks with you step by step I read I love and I enjoyed it
Published 7 months ago by Diana R Lyons
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best teen level series
I have read all these books in this series and find them perfect for teens. My (fifteen year old) granddaughter loves them and I'm hoping the following four sisters will do the... Read more
Published 9 months ago by Gareth H Bond
5.0 out of 5 stars Winner
Best book ever created in the world
Uhh
Minecraft
By
H
Never read it if you want to live
Not to mention that the McDonald's
Published 10 months ago by Karen Slusher
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed very much
Very entertaining and kept my interest.
Would definitely read the sequels to this story line. I have liked all of James Patterson's books.
Published 11 months ago by Annette
Search Customer Reviews
Search these reviews only

More About the Author

It is no surprise that in January, 2010, The New York Times Magazine featured James Patterson on its cover and hailed him as having "transformed book publishing," and that Time magazine hailed him as "The Man Who Can't Miss." Recently, NBC's Rock Center with Brian Williams profiled Patterson's prolific career, AARP named him one of the "50 Most Influential People Who Make Our Days a Little Brighter," and Variety featured him in a cover story highlighting his adventures in Hollywood.

In 2013, it was estimated that one-in-five of all hardcover suspense/thriller novels sold was written by James Patterson, his books have sold over 300 million copies worldwide, and he holds the Guinness record for the most #1 New York Times bestsellers of any author. And his success isn't based solely on thrillers like the perennially popular Alex Cross, Women's Murder Club and Michael Bennett series. Patterson is now also the current bestselling author in the young adult and middle grade categories.

He's been called the busiest man in publishing, and that's not just because of his own books. For the past decade, James has been devoting more and more of his time to championing books and reading. From the James Patterson Pageturner Awards, to his website ReadKiddoRead.com, to his College Book Bucks scholarships and his regular donations of hundreds of thousands of books to schools here in the states and troops overseas (see interviews on Fox & Friends, The Dennis Miller Radio Show and CNN.com), Patterson has passed on his passion of books and reading and supported those who do the same. Jim personally funded a major ad campaign re-printing a recent opinion piece on CNN.com about how it is our responsibility to get our kids reading. The ad has run in the New York Times, The New Yorker, and USA Today. Those ads are a call to action to parents to make their kids reading a top priority; and were featured by USA Today here. Patterson believes that we cannot rely on schools, teachers or the government to get our kids reading; only parents can make this crucial change in the reading habits of our kids. Here are links to some interviews on his first-ever dual lay down (two books, one for parents and one for kids, in one day): AOL's You've Got, NBC's "Today Show" with Hoda and Kathie Lee, USA Today and Family Circle, NBC's "Today Show" with Al Roker, as well as an interview with AARP.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?



Forums

Topic From this Discussion
thought this was free for a time
It was free yesterday.
Jul 22, 2010 by Susan Hokanson |  See all 2 posts
Have something you'd like to share about this product?
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions


Look for Similar Items by Category