Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Water Sports

Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$17.97+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon March 10, 2010
4.8 stars

By far the best stand-up performance I've seen since Chris Rock's perfect Bigger And Blacker, this is one hour of extremely edgy yet somehow good-natured comedy. Tosh spares nothing and no one, least of all America in general. And he does it all so slyly, with that engaging grin and flashing eyes that say, yeah, you know I'm right, admit it.

The material here is twenty minutes longer than what the Comedy Chunnel shows from this dvd. They cut a lot of the best, most over the top bits, so it's a treat to see them here. What really distinguishes Tosh is the intelligence and subtlety of some of his lines. He's skewering all of us, and our selfish society, and does it with so much verve and bonhomie that you hardly notice how deep the cuts go.

I enjoy a comedian who can get straight to the heart of things, and Tosh is a master at that already on his first dvd. He's one of the few stand-ups I've seen in years who clearly has the goods in spades, and seems more interested in commenting on his version of the truth than getting easy laughs. He says things that seem so wrong at first, but one quickly realizes what's really wrong is how right he is about our complacency and prejudices.

His new show on CC, Tosh.0, is decent, but goes for easy laughs and is nowhere near as funny as this dvd and his earlier cd. Let's hope the tv stardom doesn't derail his excellent stand-up, and that he doesn't go the Rock route and release only one performance every five years. Truth is at a premium these days, and this guy is poised to be a prime conduit.

Absolutely recommended to any fan of Carlin, Pryor, Hicks, or Rock.
11 comment| 41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 20, 2012
Just watched this free on Prime Instant Video and it was GREAT!!!! I have seen his Tosh.O show a couple times, but never thought that much of Tosh as a comedian. After this I am a HUGE fan. Everything he said was true, but offensive, which is ok. I think most people are too PC these days. It reminds me of "It's Always Sunny In Philadelphia", in that they say the things we are thinking, but are "ashamed" to say. I liked how he wasn't afraid to make fun of his crowd, and thought the jokes about the Midwest were hilarious (I live in Missouri). If you like shows like "Louie" or "It's Always Sunny", then you will LOVE this standup special. Give it a try.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 9, 2012
This may be my favorite comedy album (DVD whatever) of all time. I have watched this over, and over and just laugh my ass off every time I play it. Tosh just has a way of putting forth jokes so quickly and to the point. Its like condensed comedy. Also, he is very blue and pokes fun at all racial stereotypes, etc. But the difference between a racist joke and a non racist joke is this; "is it funny". The answer is an overwhelming, yes.

But, if you can't take blue humor or jokes on the edge of civility (well mostly well outside of it) then you should skip it. But if you want funny, Daniel Tosh brings it in abundance. This show is a non-stop onslaught of smart humor. You just have to "get it". Many do, but some will not. Too bad for them because if you want your stomach to hurt from laughing, get this Blu-ray/DVD/MP3 however you do.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 27, 2014
People who think he's "mean" don't get his comedic style. He's just so good at stating everything AS IF he were repulsive, and means it, that people get turned off...but that's a GOOD thing. He starts out with something you can totally identify with, delve a little deeper, push you past the point of "this is really icky, why did I ever laugh at that?," make you a bit uncomfortable for ever laughing, then closes with an explosive zinger that makes you laugh till it hurts! That's a HUGE reason that I'm so upset with all the "I watched for 10 minutes, then shut it off" reviews. Ten minutes is enough time to get you about 2/3 the way through joke #1, you still haven't seen the end of the joke that pulls everything together.

My next point is that in this special, he really doesn't go out of his way to emphasize THAT he's joking. Another GOOD thing. There's nothing less enjoyable than watching a good comedian, on the verge of being a great comedian, kill their show by sprinkling in, "Remember, this is a comedy show. I'm just kidding..." EVERY FIVE MINUTES! He doesn't, that's why his show has been on for 8+ seasons with no sign of stopping. I just hope he keeps going.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 19, 2011
I'll start by saying I really like comedy. I have well over 200 comedy CDs and DVDs from Abbott and Costello to Lenny Bruce to Steve Martin to David Cross (oops!) to guys stumping the clubs today.

If you listen to a lot of comedy, you get a feeling for who has put in the work to really polish their material, and for who has a unique and compelling voice. Tosh has worked this material to perfection; the timing is spot on, the delivery is expert, and he works the line that has you squirming AND laughing.

For me, "Completely Serious" has to be one of the ten best comedy albums ever. OK, it's a DVD, but I ripped the soundtrack and listen to it on my portable music player. Its software tells me I've heard the album 55 times. I've played the video at least a half dozen times.

I recommend this to anyone who's willing to laugh at taboo subjects. If you're familiar with Louis C.K., I'd say the "willing to offend" meter deflects similarly for the two, though they are otherwise quite different. If you're at all easily offended, this is not for you. Otherwise, buckle up. You're in for a treat.

Since CDs come with track lists but DVDs don't, I'm going to list the first dozen of the 27 "tracks" I got from ripping the DVD. This might give you an idea of whether you'll like this set:

1) Intro / The O.C. / How Much Longer Do I Have?
2) Swearing in Heaven / Ashton Kutcher is a D*****bag
3) Banging Teachers
4) Snapple Knowledge
5) Seal the Border
6) Is Poker a Sport?
7) Bring the Troops Home (to War in Nebraska)
8) Parade or Fireworks?
9) Happiness Through Material Possessions
10) I'm Not Honest (But You're Interesting) / Stupid Wh**es and Plastic Surgery
11) The Myth of the Hot Female Athlete
12) The Polite Version of Tourette's
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 17, 2015
HILARIOUS! I've watched this video at least 7 times and I still enjoy every minute of it, dying, & laughing out loud. You've got to like dirty jokes and not get offended too easily though. This standup can put an immediate smile on your face when you're having a bad day. GREAT one to have in your library; one of my favorites by far!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
To start, if your easily insulted...or even semi-easily insulted, this one isn't for you. You have to be able to see the humor in just about everything to like Tosh's stand up. His unique in how one joke always flows into the next, yet there's no real story to his lines. He's not up on stage telling about something funny that happened to him on his way to the airport. His lines come off like that sarcastic friend who's always off in his own head thinking about something else entirely than what is currently the topic at hand.

His comedy will offend every kind of group out there, and that's pretty much the point. His jokes are meant to shock and cause you to laugh at all the things you know you're not supposed to. There is nothing in this film appropriate for kids of any age. He swears and talk about things that would make a porn star blush.

What I like about his stand up show over his TV show is this is all his material and there's no videos of anyone doing anything sick on YouTube. I think Tosh is hysterical, but I can't watch Tosh.0 because of the America's Funniest Home Videos rejects clips he shows. Half of them make you want to gag or at least ruin the idea of eating anything for the rest of the day. So if you think Tosh.0 is funny, you're going to love his stand up show.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 28, 2014
I like Tosh and I like his TV show, although it's lost direction a bit over the years and now seems to focus on gross instead of funny. His stand up is "OK" but his style is not my favorite. I don't care for the way he dissects his jokes and explains them. Just tell the jokes / stories. We can decide if they're funny or not!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 4, 2013
A rating on this event depends entirely on whether you have seen Daniel Tosh before. Tosh has a shocking type of humor that you will either hate or find really novel. I find that the more I see him, the more I accept his type of humor and have begun to find it somewhat entertaining. Still, I sometimes get a little shocked by his rude comedic references to actual tragedies in the news. Tosh can find comedy in everything, including death and other usually taboo subjects (see Tosh.0 on the comedy channel). I expect the ratings on this event to hit both extremes and depend only on the viewer. There are no absolutes with Daniel Tosh.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 22, 2013
Yes, he was crass, yes he crossed boundaries you don't even know you had but miss them when they are gone; but if you can live with that it is just really really funny and you will learn something about cheetahs.
Tosh is a Vanilla Trainwreck. And he knows it. And he is not apologizing, it tastes so good.

What astonishes me the most is he writes his own stuff, somehow memorizes all of it, and presents it with a smile.

God broke the mold when they made him.
High five...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.