Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Small treasures from Gerda Bengtsson
This book of exquisite small projects is just right for the counted cross stitcher who wants to create something for the person who has everything.
The designs are small and need to be enlarged on a copier before they can be used (I enlarged at 159 percent). Most designs are square, about 65 stitches in each direction. Three or four designs grouped in the same frame...
Published on November 5, 2000 by SciFi Lover

versus
4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars danish floral charted designs
This book is a good book for the cross stitcher or the emboidery it is wonderful.
Published on June 10, 2000 by Leslie Woirhaye


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Small treasures from Gerda Bengtsson, November 5, 2000
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Danish Floral Charted Designs (Dover Embroidery, Needlepoint) (Paperback)
This book of exquisite small projects is just right for the counted cross stitcher who wants to create something for the person who has everything.
The designs are small and need to be enlarged on a copier before they can be used (I enlarged at 159 percent). Most designs are square, about 65 stitches in each direction. Three or four designs grouped in the same frame would make a nice presentation.
Thread colors for both DMC and Danish Flower Thread are given.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tiny and exquisite, March 6, 2003
By 
Diane Maennle (Grosse Pointe Park, Michigan United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Danish Floral Charted Designs (Dover Embroidery, Needlepoint) (Paperback)
Gerda Bengtsson is Denmark's greatest fiber-artist and created more than 1000 designs. She achieves the essence of botanicals using just a few, well-placed stitches. Most of her botanicals are large, stunning pieces. This is a collection of tiny, exquisite plants. (No, you won't find anything cute in here; no teddybears or santas).
Over the past thirty years, I have made many of these, framed them for my home or given them as gifts. They are best when stitched on pure linen with Danish Flower Thread. [Still available from the Haandarbejdets Fremme]
I was delighted to see this gem of a book for sale and bought up 5 copies! Mine is so worn!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a "class"!, June 14, 2002
By 
Miyako Okada (Kanagawa, Japan) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Danish Floral Charted Designs (Dover Embroidery, Needlepoint) (Paperback)
This book is very reasonable, yet contains about 45 charts mostly wild flowers and berries. If you like simple scandinavian designs, you must love this. I recommend to stitch them on linen using danish flower thread to make your piece more elegant. I stitched a rosehip design on natural linen and turned out to be a beautiful pin-cushion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CHARMING, PETITE DESIGNS, March 13, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Danish Floral Charted Designs (Dover Embroidery, Needlepoint) (Paperback)
This book has the most CHARMING small florals which would be delightful in a European or "cottage" decor! I'm going to make some sachet pouches with these designs on them to place throughout my home or give as gifts. They add a delightful touch to any small project.

I thought the suggestion to enlarge the charts on a copier was a good idea. To make the charts even easier to follow, and more interesting to look at, I would suggest coloring the enlarged charts in with colored pencils that resemble the floss colors.

I see that DMC has come out with "linen" floss in soft floral colors . . . I bet they would produce an especially lovely effect. I saw them at A.C. Moore in the cross stitch section. I do not know how these "linen" floss colors are numbered, but I suppose this could be checked out at a DMC website?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, September 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Danish Floral Charted Designs (Dover Embroidery, Needlepoint) (Paperback)
The patterns are really nice. I can't wait to get started on some projects. You would need to copy & enlarge them to see well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, simple flowers, March 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Danish Floral Charted Designs (Dover Embroidery, Needlepoint) (Paperback)
I was hoping that this was some cross stitch and some other surface embroidery, but it's all cross stitch. The designs are simple and pretty though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gerda Bengtsson--topnotch designer, June 19, 2013
This review is from: Danish Floral Charted Designs (Dover Embroidery, Needlepoint) (Paperback)
I love Gerda Bengtsson and have several of her Dover books. I haven't done the little flowers on the cover...so many projects, so little time...but I did the Spring Flowers in the middle of the booklet. The stitch count is about 120 x 160 and it works up quite quickly because you use just one color in the Assisi format: the outlines of the flowers and the background, Assisi is done in relief.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars caught me flatfooted with different dmc thread and not having ..., September 11, 2014
This review is from: Danish Floral Charted Designs (Dover Embroidery, Needlepoint) (Paperback)
caught me flatfooted with different dmc thread and not having equivalent or explanation but then again is published overseas. Mayhaps with next reprint the publishers should consider an international note, since with the internet, it is an international market. My netstore has helped out with the thread issue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, September 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Danish Floral Charted Designs (Dover Embroidery, Needlepoint) (Paperback)
Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars danish floral charted designs, June 10, 2000
This review is from: Danish Floral Charted Designs (Dover Embroidery, Needlepoint) (Paperback)
This book is a good book for the cross stitcher or the emboidery it is wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Danish Floral Charted Designs (Dover Embroidery, Needlepoint)
Danish Floral Charted Designs (Dover Embroidery, Needlepoint) by Gerda Bengtsson (Paperback - July 1, 1980)
$5.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.