Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely informative and beautifully presented
This book, for me, is a new departure in the field of cannabis publishing. There are plenty of sub-genres in this field, but most of the literature tends to be 'How to grow great pot' guide books (for example Soma, Mel Frank, Greg Green etc) of varying qualities. There are wonderful travelogue and ethnobotanical photo studies (probably the best being the Lawrence Cherniak...
Published on November 8, 2008 by David Jones

versus
9 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected
I thought this book would be similar to Soma's or Dj. Shorts books, in that, it would be full of cool tips and master breeder insight. Instead, it felt like an infomercial. I was a bit put off that it was another strain guide style book. That would normally be fine with me, but he only talks about how great his strains and genetics are. There are no tips on growing,...
Published on November 2, 2008 by Michael Mathews


Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely informative and beautifully presented, November 8, 2008
By 
David Jones (The Wild West Midlands, England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dank: the Quest for the Very Best Marijuana: A Breeder's Tale (Paperback)
This book, for me, is a new departure in the field of cannabis publishing. There are plenty of sub-genres in this field, but most of the literature tends to be 'How to grow great pot' guide books (for example Soma, Mel Frank, Greg Green etc) of varying qualities. There are wonderful travelogue and ethnobotanical photo studies (probably the best being the Lawrence Cherniak 'Great Books of Cannabis' series), but this book is something different.
Subcool is a breeder whose reputation has been growing quickly over the last few years and whose strains are notable for their fruity flavours and potency. As is apparent from this book, he is also a very talented plant photographer who is extremely enthusiastic about what he does.
The book itself is a lavishly-presented, glossy coffee table-type production that will let you gain fascinating insights into what Subcool looks for in a breeding plant, and it amounts to a historical record of his strains and his development as a breeder.
If you are looking for a straightforward 'how to do it' book, look elsewhere, as another reviewer here has suggested. This book has more to do with the work of Ferran Adria, or Heston Blumenthal (two of the world's greatest chefs) in their books on the evolution of their recipes, full of musings and useful details.
Do I have any quibbles about this book? Just one - for a book that is so well-produced (the layout is excellent, the photos exceptional, the content so interesting), it is let down by the spelling and grammatical errors that appear all too frequently, and I can only conclude that the copy editor/proof reader should be shot. This might seem to be nit-picking, but given the skill and effort that has gone into producing this book, it seems a shame to have not paid sufficient attention to this aspect although it does not detract from the value of the book.
I think this book will appeal to people who have an interest in cannabis, cannabis breeding and photography, whatever their motivation. Sure, you might see it as a series of glossy advertisements for his seeds, but suspend your cynicism and enjoy the art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing book from a amazing breeder, December 4, 2009
By 
P. Taylor (Wilmington, NC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dank: the Quest for the Very Best Marijuana: A Breeder's Tale (Paperback)
This book has some of the most gorgeous plant pictures you've ever seen. Subcool has been growing for a long time and his breeding is second to none. His genetics blow the standard dutch seeds out of the water! If you want information of West Coast strains and you love gorgeous bud photo's, then this book is for you. Lot's of information about the man and his work. I own it and ever single person that has opened loved it. No, it's not growing instructions, but there's more to this "life style" than that. Some of us like to look at killer buds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dank, December 2, 2008
By 
AEIOUY (San Francisco, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dank: the Quest for the Very Best Marijuana: A Breeder's Tale (Paperback)
This makes an excellent coffee table book, but also a good read to curl up on the couch to and smoke a joint with.

What makes the narrative so intriguing however, is that author and breeder SubCool mentions outright that he is not a drinker nor drug user, he simply smokes marijuana because it enhances his life.

This book is not only great for its aesthetic and informative values, but also as a book on the admiration for the botany of the plant while adding an air of legitimacy to the marijuana activist movement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Coffee Table Book!, May 29, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dank: the Quest for the Very Best Marijuana: A Breeder's Tale (Paperback)
This book is pure unadulterated Bud Porn! It is crammed with photographs taken by the author Subcool, which are rich in color and depth, extreme close up shots that will take away the breath of any cannabis lover. It also includes very interesting histories of the strains shown in this superb book of cannabis. This book is a definite must have for all who share a passion and love for conniseur grade cannabis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars pics., August 20, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dank: the Quest for the Very Best Marijuana: A Breeder's Tale (Paperback)
Nice looking pictures, but that's about all. Mostly Subcool seeds are shown. I liked "The Big Book of Buds 1, 2, &3" much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True Head Review, September 10, 2009
This review is from: Dank: the Quest for the Very Best Marijuana: A Breeder's Tale (Paperback)
Great book. Will show you glorious bud from all over. It is a little long of a book to fit on a book shelf but I would definately buy this book. I mean it's subcool and he doesn't f*** around beautifull explainations and in depth reviews. I only wish I knew this man personally as I have been following him in high times articles and recently he started his own seed company with some remarkable strains. Get this book it is a definate add to your bud book collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dank is DA KINE, November 7, 2008
This review is from: Dank: the Quest for the Very Best Marijuana: A Breeder's Tale (Paperback)
a long awaited story told from one of the best cannabis breeder/growers in the industry today , Subcool , this is NOT a how to book , but an insight to the journey , sub takes us all with him on his lifelong search for DANK , throughout the book you will also take notice subcool is one of the most accomplished cannabis photographers in the industry as well , mouthwatering photos , a lifetime journey shared , info and tales you will not find anywhere but else , an all around MUST HAVE book , NO cannaseur should be without , if you're not reading DANK ..... you're reading shwag !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars VERY GOOD, October 30, 2008
By 
JMNP (Jamindelphia, PA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dank: the Quest for the Very Best Marijuana: A Breeder's Tale (Paperback)
A really nice book. Great pictures and concept. Enjoyable and informative. SUBCOOL is the MAN!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dank, January 25, 2009
This review is from: Dank: the Quest for the Very Best Marijuana: A Breeder's Tale (Paperback)
http://www.amazon.com/gp/r.html?R=DO320TN6JPD4&C=1XU1P2Y6Z4GNA&H=KOasyvhlI8dH7fnQhsz7Halru3EA&T=C&U=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.amazon.com%2Freview%2Fcreate-review%2Fref%3Dpe_6680_11184990_cm_cr_ec_add_1_h_c11184990%3Fie%3DUTF8%26nodeID%3D%26asin%3D0932551890%26customerID%3DA2G2OP4GGZZSRB

Excellent book, quality, which is nice because you will want to turn the pages many times to look at the excellent photography.

The book does have all information that you want to know as well.

Nice book, excellent value, good quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected, November 2, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dank: the Quest for the Very Best Marijuana: A Breeder's Tale (Paperback)
I thought this book would be similar to Soma's or Dj. Shorts books, in that, it would be full of cool tips and master breeder insight. Instead, it felt like an infomercial. I was a bit put off that it was another strain guide style book. That would normally be fine with me, but he only talks about how great his strains and genetics are. There are no tips on growing, selection, or anything. Just totally subjective reporting on tga's strains or their relatives. Oh, and he does mention a few strains other strains, but just to mention how bland they are compared to his. Trainwreck is ditch weed compared to his magical jack the ripper, by the way. I would only get this book if you want to become more familiar with tga's genetics and want to find out more about them, or you like pretty pictures. If you want an informative breeder written book on growing organically or breeding, get Dj Shorts book or Soma's.

EDIT: After Trying several of Tga's strains, I must say that there should be ten books written on his strains. As a medical user, I found Jillybean euphoric and wonderful for anxiety. And taste! Whoa! Sub's the master!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Dank: the Quest for the Very Best Marijuana: A Breeder's Tale
Dank: the Quest for the Very Best Marijuana: A Breeder's Tale by Subcool (Paperback - October 1, 2008)
Used & New from: $73.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.