Customer Reviews


140 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (38)
3 star:
 (34)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Have read the book, have watched this film
I have to say, with some amount of guilt in my voice that I really did enjoy this film. My expectations were pretty low to start, so maybe my surprise that the story had real content and had many elements of the book actually incorporated have lead to an overly positive review. That said, it was a pretty good movie in its own right. I would just like to also point out...
Published on February 10, 2010 by Novel Enthusiast

versus
36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Slight Nod in Dante's Direction... [3.5 Stars]
There are a couple things you should know before deciding to view this movie: 1) Instead of "Dante's Inferno" a more fitting title would be "A Gentle Nod in the General Direction of Dante's Inferno"; and 2) It's explicit. And by "explicit" I mean there is brazen nudity, unapologetic violence with gushing blood, and man-eating genitalia (I kid you not).

If...
Published on February 28, 2010 by T. Adlam


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Slight Nod in Dante's Direction... [3.5 Stars], February 28, 2010
This review is from: Dante's Inferno (DVD)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
There are a couple things you should know before deciding to view this movie: 1) Instead of "Dante's Inferno" a more fitting title would be "A Gentle Nod in the General Direction of Dante's Inferno"; and 2) It's explicit. And by "explicit" I mean there is brazen nudity, unapologetic violence with gushing blood, and man-eating genitalia (I kid you not).

If you're still with me, that means you're open to experiencing an interesting, gory, and twisted animated tale about a soldier on a quest through the nine circles of Hell to rescue the love of his life. Dante, having returned home from fighting God's war, finds everyone he knew--including his love Beatrice--slaughtered. He then watches her soul snatched into the jaws of Hell after she (apparently) made a deal with the Devil and lost (through no fault of her own). Thus begins the quest. Along the way, Dante meets his guide, Virgil, and learns the fate of (and is attacked by) all the sinners writhing in agony--absolving a few along the way.

Having read The Divine Comedy a couple of times (The Inferno about five), it was difficult getting past the *liberties* taken with the overall story, but I could see why they were taken--watching a frightened middle-aged poet sojourning through the underworld with an old ghost and chit-chatting with various dead people wouldn't be nearly as entertaining as a hot young warrior lopping off heads every few minutes and being chased by lustful women with carnivorous nether-regions.

The animation is beautiful and done well, Anime with Western influences, if a bit inconsistent since there were six directors with six different styles. My main complaint however comes with the pacing and dialog. Scenes went by too fast and barely allowed time for the character to absorb the words being spoken much less the viewer and the delivery of the dialog was too often overly dramatic--think William Shatner (circa original Star Trek) saying, "O Beatrice! Beloved Beatrice! I shall traverse the depths of Hell to rescue you. O my love, Beatrice!" That aside, the story flowed and, for the most part, made sense.

As for the DVD itself, the menu is a bit difficult to decipher, but not a deal-breaker. The bonus materials include sketches of various scenes from the movie--a nice touch for people who are interested in art or animation--and the trailer for the video game. (As an aside: I have to admit, the game looks awesome. I kind of wish the movie was made in the 3D style of the video game, but I'm not too upset about it.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Have read the book, have watched this film, February 10, 2010
By 
This review is from: Dante's Inferno (DVD)
I have to say, with some amount of guilt in my voice that I really did enjoy this film. My expectations were pretty low to start, so maybe my surprise that the story had real content and had many elements of the book actually incorporated have lead to an overly positive review. That said, it was a pretty good movie in its own right. I would just like to also point out that this is a film that persons under sixteen probably should not be allowed to watch. The artists and writers for the film did a very good job portraying Hell.

I doubt that any person who reviews this film will have anything bad to say about its visuals which are indeed, fantastic. Each character in this story had a good deal of thought put into how his or her character was designed, and I think that it was this that was the main payoff of the film. All of the different creatures of the nine levels of Hell were great, many of them imagined in ways that I would never have considered. The levels of Hell, though imaginatively realized were however, quite similar to how they were described in the book and this could be considered either a bonus for purists or a con for those looking for a few more surprises.

The plot which is what I was really concerned would be lost in this film is actually, despite a large degree of artistic license, preserved fairly well so that perhaps a new group might become interested in Divine Comedy. That being said, while it may appear a gory action movie many of the subtle themes of redemption are still here and the film may perhaps require a second viewing to be fully understood as many of the more violent scenes overshadow the more dramatic for sheer memorability.

I am not usually one for anime, cartoons based on video games, video games or adult themed movies but this film gets my sign of approval.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good, February 10, 2010
Featuring multiple animation styles, this adaptation of the video game released by Electronic Arts is a surprisingly good and horrific tale. Dante's Inferno tells the story of Dante, a crusader who returns home only to find his beloved Beatrice murdered, and her soul in the posession of Lucifer himself. As Dante plunges through the Nine Circles of Hell, it is slowly uncovered just how and why all this happened. Featuring some wonderful voice acting, a great score, an buckets of blood and gore; Dante's Inferno: An Animated Epic is a pure blast. Though its ending is pretty underwhelming compared to the rest of the film as a whole, and the final animation style comes off as too cartoony compared to the styles that came earlier, this is still a worthwhile endeavor regardless, even if you have little desire to play the video game. All in all, if mature-themed animation is your thing, Dante's Inferno should be right up your alley.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gory, Grotesque, Good, but NOT Great, April 14, 2010
This review is from: Dante's Inferno (DVD)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Reasons to watch:
+ Awesome animation - from all the artists
+ Interesting storyline
+ Cool if you have surround sound

What will make you wince:
- Done by SIX directors/artists all with completely different styles.
- Difficult to distinguish characters after a director change
- Timing sucks
- It's not really Dante's Inferno, just based on the characters or story or something...

You Might like:
= Lots of gross, gory violence
= nudity
= unappealing language
= not for children
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Inconsistent Directors make for inconsistent film, October 12, 2010
Dante's Inferno: An Animated Epic is based on the recent video game from EA and Visceral games. Dante Alighieri is a knight who has returned home from the Holy Crusades to find his father and wife murdered. As his wife's soul floats to Heaven, it is intercepted by Lucifer, who drags her down to Hell. Dante must follow down into the depths of the netherworld, battling through the nine circles of Hell to rescue his beloved Beatrice.

The film follows the path of the game closely...perhaps too closely. While it's fun to battle through the legions of Hell, fighting monstrous boss characters and absolving heretics of their sins, watching it isn't quite so fun. As in the game, Dante is aided by the spirit of Roman poet Virgil who guides him on his journey, which basically consists of one battle after another, some sage advice from Virgil, and Lucifer taunting Dante.

The film is told in segments with each representing a circle of Hell. In all, there are five different animation studios who worked on the film including Dong Woo Animation (Justice League Unlimited), Studio Manglobe (Samurai Champloo), Film Roman (Hellboy Animated), JM Animation, and Production I.G. With so many different styles and Directors, the film suffers from a lack of consistency both in terms of animation style and characterization. Some segments have a strong Anime look to them which doesn't work well with the Gothic/Medieval setting of the film. Dante himself looks decidedly different in the various styles, appearing alternatively has a hulking knight to a lithe martial artist.

The film failed to improve on the thick-witted personality Dante shows in the game. He has little to say outside of shouting, "Where's Beatrice!" Or "I must save Beatrice!" Game fans may (or may not) be happy that Circle Two's giant boss Cleopatra who pulled demonic babies from naked breasts is nowhere to be seen. Most of the other bosses of the game are present including Charon, Cerebrus, King Minos, and Dante's own father. The film maintains the game's theme of sin and redemption but like the game the end is left far too wide open. The game we can understand as a sequel will surely be forthcoming. For the film, the ending is unforgivable.

If you enjoyed the videogame you're likely to enjoy the film, if for no other reason than to see the story brought to life. But the film would have fared much better with one animation studio and director to maintain some consistency.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, Certainly a twist to the Orginal Dante's Inferno, March 18, 2010
I certainly see it as a good thing to be bringing old works of art new life... But this is certainly not the original Dante's Inferno. That being said the animation work is stunning. At first I did not notice that there were different artistic styles, but they blend very well together. Much like the Animatrix, but on a continuous storyline.

The designs used to depict hell are stunning and grotesque at the same time. The use of color and animation is great.

I have watched anime for a long time... All sorts of it too, and I must say I would like to see more like this. The story is well scripted and acted.

The morality is layered well into the story and brings about a nice perspective in the end. Very thought provoking....

A must have for fans of the game or anime fans... Even those who have read the original work might enjoy this recreation of the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Your Gonna Need Some Sunblock In The Inferno, February 22, 2010
I think the word "Epic" is most definitely the right word to sum up this new take on Dante Alighieri's divine comedy. Having read the literary work, I was very interested to see how the nine circles would be visually presented, given the development of and adaptation of contemporary styles of animation, as well as the more accepted liberal views on religion of the present day; not to mention that the period in history in which the original story was constructed, the Catholic Church's view on life, heaven and hell were absolute. The combination of all those things had the potential for being something truely unique and inspiring. The final product, I'm pleased to say, turned out to be one heck of a thrill to watch.

Right on the heels of the newly released video game of the same name (concept and all) Dante's Inferno was an excellent piece of work. For those unfamiliar with the story, the plot breakdown is as follows:

Dante, a soldier who took part in the Crusade, comes home from war to find everyone in his father's villa home slaughtered, including his beloved fiance, Beatrice. As Beatrice breaths her last breath and Dante witnesses her soul ascending into Heaven, she is snatched up by Lucifer and dragged to hell. In an effort to free Beatrice from the depths of hell Dante dives head first into the Inferno, with the poet Virgil as his guide, fighting off demons, monsters, illusions, damned souls, and his own dark memories that plague him.

Now, given that this is basically an animated version of the game, you pretty much know what to expect: lots of blood and gore. If anything else is prevelant in this movie, its the blood. Dante goes into the Inferno swinging, hacking, slashing and chopping up anything in his path. Literally. So this isnt for the kiddies, or the soft of heart and stomach. However, just because this is a huge gore fest doesnt take away from how awsome this movie is.

Story: 5/5
The story is an awesome one to tell, albeit its been changed around a bit for cinematic enjoyment, but its a great action flick. There is a nice balance of action, drama, and suspense, and its ultimately a satisfying view.

Animation: 4/5
Since this IS an animated feature, the art does come into question. This part is kind of tricky to judge. The movie is primarily Japanese Anime style, which is great. Whats interesting is that the styles switch up as the film progresses. I'm not sure, but I think for ever couple of circles of Hell that are traversed, everything gets changed to a new style. This is a very interesting choice of presentation, and adds even more to the impressiveness of the movie, but it can a bit off putting, cuz as soon as your used to a new style and like it, it changes suddenly and you have to start over again. Its a minor annoyance, but still kinda cool. Also, the concepts for the characters of hell are amazing, and so very dark. Some of the levels are downright creepy. I haven't played the game, so I don't know how much influence comes from it, but everything in the inferno was beautifully envisioned.... well, as beautiful as one's vision of Hell can be anyway. In all, I think there are about 5, maybe 6 styles in the movie. Oh, and this looks GREAT on blu-ray on an HDTV.

Sound/Music: 4/5
Usually I'm a big critic of movie scores, but this time I let it slide. You dont really expect too much from the score here because your so into the action, there's really no room for anything fancy. Its ok, but nothing that would stand alone if you were to buy the score itself. Sound quality was pretty good, and it better be since this is a blue ray release. The voice acting was pretty good with a few voices you will immediately catch on to (Mark Hamill, for example). Some were better then others, but it gets the job done.

Replay Value: 4/5
This is a fun flick, good for people who like hack n slash, action packed type animes. Good for an occasional view, and even better for the artistic value packed into it.

Overall, I give Dante's Inferno: and Animated Epic a 4.5/5. If not for those minor gripes of mine, it would be flawless, but then again, not everyone is going to like everything. Either way, I still put out my money for it. Its a great movie, worth the price of money and time. Enjoy! I'm going to go watch it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Old Guy approved, February 26, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Having passed 60 and changed careers, I am now a full-time cartoonist rather than a life-long hobbyist, and enjoy watching good animation, from early Popeye and Disney features, through Pixar and Aardman. I'd read Dante's Inferno while in high-school and was curious about how someone may have turned this classic tale into an animated film. I was not disappointed as all the varied contributors to this production have done a fine job and I would highly recommend this animated feature to any and all animation buffs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Close, Yet So Far..Interpretation of 'Inferno', December 26, 2010
This review is from: Dante's Inferno (DVD)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Based on the Playstation game, but based first (but not necessarily foremost) on the Dante classic (instead of entirely the reverse), this `Inferno' is actually closer to the book and has more actual quotations from one of the greatest pieces in Western literature than any other cinematic version I have yet seen. The GCI is impressive more than not in many scenes--even if the readings and characters sometimes come off with no more emotional appeal than a `Cartoon Network' special or a Saturday morning cartoon. The art direction has quite a scope: from flimsy sketches to splendid panoramic interpretations of hell as we know it from the text.

The circles stay close to the book, but they make Dante the Pilgrim and Poet more like a chivalrous warrior (and anatomically correct--I must add--like today's mannequins and super heroes) who must save Beatrice (who in this interpretation) has been captured by the torturous and deceptive Lucifer. (Yes, this Satan has dialogue and seems more like the evil emperor in Star Wars than the Devil we know from Dante as the eternal emperor of hell, deglamourized, crying eternally with his eyes frozen shut and his bat-like wings moving like a windmill producing an eternal lake of ice [Coccyx]).

Also added to the plot are flashbacks shuffled from faux memories with grueling war scenes (undermining the crusades) to poignantly painful moments in Dante's fictitious past (reading more like a modern family fable than anything allying us to Dante Aligheri's biography).

Even with the departures, the circles are depicted closer to the book and the overall interpretation is closer to Dante than any film version I've ever seen (especially 'What Dreams Must Come' and Sean Meredith's paper cut-out interpretation of Sandow Birks' [et al] novel).

Inspiring, but hardly tapping into the strength of this epic poem by any measure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For Mature Anime Fans, June 10, 2010
This review is from: Dante's Inferno (DVD)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Anime lovers will probably enjoy this Dante's Inferno, especially those who like the more adult theme film. Literature purists will probably not even have this on their radar, but if they did , they'd likely be disappointed with how loosely it interprets the original story.

This is a decent, modern re-imagining of Dante's classic tale. It was not always easy to follow and the pacing was off in spots, but the visual eye-candy, exotic levels of hell and more action than you can swing a sword at, held my interest all of the way through. The use of different artists for different parts of the movie help bring distinction to the various stages of the story, but the work was all similar enough to keep it from being distracting. The voice-over acting was top notch as was the DVD sound quality. The sound design is highly immersive on a good home theater system with the lights down low.

For anime fans, Dante's Inferno is worth a rental and perhaps even a purchase. Those adverse to mild sexuality and gory animated violence should look elsewhere -- this one is definitely not for young children. It is not great cinema, but it is a pleasant 88 minute diversion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Dante's Inferno
Dante's Inferno by Mike Disa (DVD - 2010)
$9.98 $4.93
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.