Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As exciting as his tattoo encyclopaedia, September 5, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Danzig Baldaev: Drawings from the Gulag (Hardcover)
Drawings show us revolting images and scenarios that could only be dreamed up by the most sadistic horror authors. This is coupled with background information and references to other literature covering the era. Strongly recommended to all interested in 20th century European history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most valuable resource, most disturbing images., June 24, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Danzig Baldaev: Drawings from the Gulag (Hardcover)
While the brutality of the Soviet regime has been known since the publication of the "Gulag Archipelago", or even before that, from the recollections of left-wing visitors to the Soviet Union (such as Emma Goldman and Bertrand Russell), it is rare to have an insider communicate to us the terror on which the Soviet Union was built and based on.

Danzig Baldaev worked for the N.K.V.D., the secret police of the Soviet Union. His work was to record the tattoos of criminals that were kept in the Gulags, because there was suspicion that tattoos were used to identify members of the Mafia in the Soviet Union. This book, however, is his collection of drawings of everyday life in the Gulags. The violence and sadistic originality shown in this book is shocking. Throughout the pages one sees brutal murder, forced labor, physical and mental torture techniques and rape among other things. This book is a valuable historical resource, but also a unique account of the brutality that human beings are capable of.

I would advice it to anyone interested, but be aware that the images found in this book are disturbing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, April 4, 2012
This review is from: Danzig Baldaev: Drawings from the Gulag (Hardcover)
I found this book at one of Paris' bouquinists - those book stalls along the River Seine. I've not heard of it before. The book is a wonderful source book for students or researchers of Russia's communist years. Each drawing is clearly explained. Great work!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Drawings of the Gulag., April 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Danzig Baldaev: Drawings from the Gulag (Hardcover)
I love Danzig's Tattoo books and this book is very in your face as well it is interesting to see he descriptions on how the gulag system was at that time. This is a very well done book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gulag life, June 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Danzig Baldaev: Drawings from the Gulag (Hardcover)
This was a tough purchase. I had to have it, but I really didn't want to support the author. The terrible things that happened to the Russian peoples are chronicled in this book with quite graphic detail. I found this book when I was doing research on the gulag. I came across a documentary (GULAG by the BBC excellent) and the author of the book was in it. He makes my skin crawl. A very smug, snickering and matter of fact face of evil. I hate to say it but this book is a must have. I wish some of the gulag workers (slaves) would write a book like this. The book is well made hardback, small in size and in Russian and translated on the bottom into English.

Any other suggestive readings please comment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Should be compulsory reading for all lefties., June 14, 2014
This review is from: Danzig Baldaev: Drawings from the Gulag (Hardcover)
To my eternal shame I believed in communism in my 20's. All that changed after I read the Gulag Archepeligo by Solzhenitsyn and Colymer Tales by Varlaam Shalamov. Leftism is liike a cult that brainwashes its victims into blind acceptance. To manage to break free you still have to have within you a degree of open mindedness to read alternative views about an ideology that has killed and enslaved over 100 million people. Since reading Solzhenitsyn I've ready many books on the subject but non of them convey, in such a succinct and visual way, the true nature of this evil ideology. I would go so far as to say that if this book was compulsory reading for all students' communist ideology would never raise its ugly head again after a generation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a great book., May 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Danzig Baldaev: Drawings from the Gulag (Hardcover)
a dark and scary book which is vital reading for anyone interested in politics or history of the 20th century.

quick delievery!
thank you so much!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a very good book, February 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Danzig Baldaev: Drawings from the Gulag (Hardcover)
very good book,it tells us more alive details about gulag and make me unforgetful. strongly recommeded book.you are worthing it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Danzig Baldaev's Drawings, January 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Danzig Baldaev: Drawings from the Gulag (Hardcover)
It would be easy to say that Danzig Baldaev's drawings are not the work of a polished Academic Draughtsman, yes they are more like that of a Trade School student or a self taught artist. A critic like this would miss the real point, which is that Baldaev was a true humanist operating in a grim and horrible time and place working in great difficulty. He had an encyclopaedic mind which drove him to cover all aspects and departments of the Gulag horror. In this he was successful through hard work to show the Stalinist and Soviet reality in all it's bleakness.

Baldaev did what Jacques Callot in France in the early 17th century and what Francisco Goya did in Spain two hundred years later, record insane and tragic periods of history. George Grosz and Otto Dix did the same thing in their lifetimes in Germany.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars drawings depict cruelty inside the gulags of Soviet Russia, December 26, 2013
This review is from: Danzig Baldaev: Drawings from the Gulag (Hardcover)
Disturbing series of drawings depicting cruelty inside the gulags of Soviet Russia drawn by a prison guard. The original Russian text is translated, and notes are added to explain or verify incidents depicted. Not for the squeamish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Danzig Baldaev: Drawings from the Gulag
Danzig Baldaev: Drawings from the Gulag by D. S. Baldaev (Hardcover - October 31, 2010)
$32.95 $24.47
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.