Buy Used
$0.01
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Good | Details
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Book shows a small amount of wear to cover and binding. Some pages show signs of use. Sail the Seas of Value.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Daphne Eloise Slater, Who's Tall for Her Age Hardcover – September 22, 1997


See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Hardcover
"Please retry"
$3.27 $0.01
Unknown Binding
"Please retry"

Weird but True Food: 300 Bite-size Facts About Incredible Edibles
Food, glorious food! What's more fun to talk about (and read about) than food? Kids just can't get enough of the Weird but True series and this one about food is bound to be a hit. See more Weird but True books for kids 9 - 12

Editorial Reviews

From School Library Journal

Grade 2-4?A transitional chapter book about a dilemma many kids face?feeling different because of their physical appearance. Daphne is tall for her age. Leonard, the rottenest kid in the third grade, teases her and starts the rumor that she's tall because she's been held back and is older than the other kids. When they are assigned to be lab partners in a science class involving dissecting a lamb's eye, Daphne learns that Leonard is quite squeamish about the procedure, and she saves the day by saving the project. The two classmates do not become best buddies, but a tolerance level is reached in a shaky truce. This is realistic fiction in the tradition of Betsy Duffy and Suzy Kline. Daphne is a likable heroine who comes up with some creative ideas on how to get even with her tormentor. The plot is meaty enough to satisfy those wanting a chapter book, but not quite ready for Joanna Hurwitz or Beverly Cleary. A subplot about Daphne missing her deceased father gives her character another dimension. A strong Grandma and mother help her along third grade's rocky road. The story is divided into simple chapters with easily read print and watercolor illustrations as a part of each double-page spread. A solid choice for those ready for more than beginning readers.?Jane Claes, T. J. Lee Elementary School, Irving, TX
Copyright 1997 Reed Business Information, Inc.

From Booklist

Gr. 3^-5. No one has ever made fun of Daphne because of her height--not until the first day of third grade when Leonard D'Maggio calls her a giraffe and later accuses her of having been held back in school (his mother's explanation of why she towers over her classmates). Mortified, Daphne rushes home to check her birth certificate. Yes, she is really just eight years old, but now she feels like a freak. When she is paired with Leonard to dissect a lamb's eye in science, she braces herself for a barrage of sarcasm. But instead of someone slinging insults, she discovers a boy with a soft heart for animals. A mildly funny chapter book, made more engaging by its likable protagonist, appealing illustrations, and attractive format. Shelley Townsend-Hudson
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Best Books of the Month
Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Product Details

  • Age Range: 8 - 12 years
  • Grade Level: 4 - 6
  • Hardcover: 40 pages
  • Publisher: Clarion Books; Ex-library edition (September 22, 1997)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0395730805
  • ISBN-13: 978-0395730805
  • Product Dimensions: 9.4 x 7.4 x 0.4 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 11.2 ounces
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #6,186,912 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
100%
4 star
0%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
A great read for the second and third grade girls in your life. About how to adapt to difference with tolerance and acceptance and about how people have unexpected gifts. I loved it, as did my granddaughter who absorbed and read it in one sitting, never looking up.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again