Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

71 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Provocative!, November 30, 2001
This review is from: Dare We Hope That All Men Be Saved? With a Short Discourse on Hell (Paperback)
This is one of my two favorite books written by Hans Urs von Balthasar. The Catholic Church asserts that certain individuals are in Heaven, but never declares a specific individual to be in Hell. In fact, the Church still hopes that in their final moments of life, even the greatest sinners such as Judas Iscariot and Adolph Hitler would have repented of their terrible sins.
In this book, Hans Urs von Balthasar pushes the hope that in their final moments of life, all souls will repent and make their peace with God. He hopes all will be saved, not because all deserve Heaven, but rather because all will come to know the great mercy and forgiveness of Our Lord Jesus Christ.
Nevertheless, von Balthasar HOPES for the salvation of all. He does not maintain all will indeed be saved, but rather this is his hope. Several times in the work, von Balthasar reminds the reader that Hell remains a very real possibility, and that man must always keep this possibility before his eyes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the more controversial titles. . ., October 15, 2001
This review is from: Dare We Hope That All Men Be Saved? With a Short Discourse on Hell (Paperback)
. . .by the late Catholic theologian Fr. Hans Urs von Balthasar -- but arguably one of the most important.
Critics have unfairly suggested that Fr. von Balthasar is either denying the existence of a literal hell, or denying that anyone is/has been/will be located there. These critics miss the point entirely.
My (extremely brief) summary of Fr. von Balthasar's argument does not concern the existence of hell but rather of the duty of the Christian, which is to fervently pray and hope that all men ARE eventually saved; that the love of Christ CAN eventually reach and be accepted by all; and that knowing through Holy Writ that some will NOT be saved and will choose against God does not free the Christian from the duty of praying for such persons.
In today's troubling times, von Balthasar's message is of timeless importance. To dare to hope and to dare to pray that the love of God will melt the heart of even the most heinous of sinners is a difficult duty. Indeed, such a reminder is liable to make many people angry. But it is, nevertheless, a reminder which needs to be made.
This book is less technical than much of von Balthasar's work, and thus should be much more widely accessible to the informed layman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hell is not about what God is going to do, but about what we are capable of, November 25, 2007
By 
Didaskalex "Eusebius Alexandrinus" (Kellia on Calvary, Carolinas, USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dare We Hope That All Men Be Saved? With a Short Discourse on Hell (Paperback)
"We are allowed to hope that no human is eternally damned. This is a founded theological hope, it is not a certitude. Indeed each person must existentially live with the real possibility that he or she might be doomed. The thesis itself is prompted, we believe, by mercy." Balthasar

Hell and Salvation:
The Church's teaching on Hell has been generally avoided by Christian theologians, who believe that the Lord's own desire that everyone be saved 1Tim 2:4. Hans Urs Cardinal von Balthasar is a notable exception of this attitude, who amended Dare We Hope "That All Men Be Saved"? With a Short Discourse on Hell (1988).

Apokatastasis, Restoration of all things:
Since the soul is essentially rational, argued Origen, it will eventually be restored to the divine truth, salvation will follow. The word Origen used to describe this process of universal salvation "restoration of all things," was apokatastasis. Prompted by his idea of the pre-existence of souls, Origen may have come to view the mission of the temporal Church as "a gathering up of all lost, fallen souls into a unity resembling that which subsisted primordially." Origen could not rationalize the standard Christian idea that certain souls will inevitably fail to achieve salvation, and be plunged into eternal torment. Apokatastasis, may be viewed as restoration, the culmination of gathering souls in a unity of faith. "Origen held a firm conviction that not a single rational being will be lost to the darkness of ignorance and sin. Even the most recalcitrant sinner, he argued, will eventually attain salvation." Edward Moore.

A Historical Debate:
Since Origen proposed his breaking through hope, some of the Church Fathers, including Gregory of Nyssa, and Didymus the Blind held for the universal restoration and salvation of all (apokatastasis). Ultimately Emperor Justinian who provoked the condemnations of Origen was compelled to respond to this teaching through a Church council. This condemnation, directed at those labeled 'Origenists', was adopted by a provincial Synod in Constantinople in 543, approved by Pope Vigilius during his detention in Constantinople (547-55).

Balthasar on Salvation:
Von Balthasar mentions as well theologians and other Christian writers who, he maintains, agree with what he is saying. In all cases these men speak of hell as being a "real possibility" but few ask the specific question about whether any humans are actually damned. von Balthasar charges that when writing and speaking of hell "the great man, to whom posterity owes so much, did not do that within the limits laid down by the Gospel."

Balthasar Contra Infernalists:
The in the manner in which he describes the convictions opposed to his, unveil the pain he took writing these views reflects in the unusual amount of reactionary polemic the author targets those criticising his views or are in contradiction of his own, characterizing them as 'infernalists.' He recognizes that some of the Church's historical teacher and theologians; from Augustine, Gregory the Great, Anselm, to Bonaventure, Aquinas, and recently John Newman, belong to this group. von Balthasar finds Augustine's opinion "has cast an enormous shadow over the history of Western Theology," worthy of sharp criticism, while being praised for his ardent charity and as being the pioneering 'Father of the Western World,' " We might ask the great Augustine... whether he ever worried, after his conversion, about his eternal salvation."

von Balthasar's Hell:
"I claim nothing more than this: that give us a right to have hope for all men, which simultaneously implies that I see no need to take the step from the threats to the positing of a hell occupied by our brothers and sisters, through which our hopes would come to naught. I do not wish to contradict anyone who, as a Christian, cannot be happy without denying the universality of hope to us so that he can be certain of his full hell: that is, after all, the view of a large number of important theologians, especially among the followers of Augustine. But, in return, I would like to request that one be permitted to hope that God's redemptive work for his creation might succeed. Certainty cannot be attained, but hope can be justified. ... If we take our faith seriously and respect the words of Scripture, we must resign ourselves to admitting such an ultimate possibility, our feelings or revulsion notwithstanding. We may not simply ignore such a threat; we may not easily dismiss it, neither for ourselves nor for any of our brothers and sisters in Christ."

Comment from a Blog:
- "On the one hand, hell is very real, though it is not about what God is going to do, but about what we are capable of. On the other hand, may hell be empty!, because the Crucified experienced the heart of human darkness and desolation. Passionate, beautiful stuff." kim Fabricius

*In memory of my father, who believed in the merciful restoration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Profound and Important Theological investigation., October 19, 2009
By 
Anne Rice (Palm Desert, California) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dare We Hope That All Men Be Saved? With a Short Discourse on Hell (Paperback)
Are our beliefs about Hell changing? I would say that they are. Many Christians today, I think, are deeply uneasy with the notion of a place of eternal damnation and unremitting punishment. Their faith in God is strong. But they have real questions as to whether any soul can really merit everlasting torment. ---- And non Christians report that the concept of Hell is something that stands between them and embracing faith. ----- This does not mean people don't want to face the consequences of sin, I don't think. It means that they have trouble grasping the finality of damnation and the everlasting punishment for sins committed by flawed human beings. -----Whatever the case, many are troubled by the concept of Hell, but they long to be faithful to their God, to the Scriptures, and to their churches. Does that mean they have to believe more people go to Hell than to Heaven? Does that mean that they have to believe people are burning in Hell now and will be for all eternity? This book by a brilliant theologian explores the possibility that we might indeed hope that all humans can be saved. Balthasar examines Scripture, Christian tradition and the writings of the saints on this subject. And he quotes much very impressive material. Whatever one concludes, after reading this book, one has to be aware of the complexity of the questions surrounding Hell, and God's justice and mercy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dare We Hope: Yes!, June 25, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dare We Hope That All Men Be Saved? With a Short Discourse on Hell (Paperback)
This was a great book which helped me clarify my position on this important doctrine which directly bears on the issue of salvation, eschatology, and the Gospel itself. In this book the notable Catholic theologian Balthasar outlines his position on hell in which he takes issue with much of church tradition, especially Augustine, the Scholastics and Calvin. According to Balthasar their egregious error was their certainity that most or much of humanity was and is damned. How do they know this? Is this the unassailable conclusion received from the Scriptures?

Balthasar argued that it is not. Yes, the Scriptures speak about eternal damnation and Jesus himself gives grave warnings that damnation is a real threat that may befall individuals. It would be improper to try and explain away these passages in scripture with a universalistic picture in mind. Where Balthasar differs from most conservatives (both Protestant and Catholic) is that he also claims that it would be improper to explain away the universalistic texts with an Augustinian view of hell in mind. In the New Testament there are two series of texts which are irreconcilable in one large scale interpretative framework without using one set to undermine what the other is saying. Since the 'hell-fire' texts come more easily to mind to me (and probably many Christians) I will quote below some of the universalistic texts:

"God...desires all men to be saved and to come to the knowledge of the truth. For there is one God, and there is one Mediator between God and man, the man Christ Jesus, who gave himself as a ransom for all." (1st Tim. 2:4)

"[Christ is] the Savior of all men, especially of those who believe." (1st Tim. 4:10)

"Now shall the ruler of this world be cast out; and I, when I am lifted up from the earth, will draw all men to myself." (John 12:31)

"The grace of God has appeared for the salvation of all men." (Titus 2:11)

"God has consigned all men to disobedience, that he may have mercy upon all..." (Romans 11:32)

I could keep quoting but I think that I communicated the point. Throughout most of Church history this part of Scripture has either been ignored or interpreted through the lens of the 'hell-fire' passages so that they no longer have their true universalistic meaning applied to them. Since Augustine, the threats about hell hardened to actualities about the non-Christian other. An us vs. them mentality was spawned instead of a true Kingdom mentality. The tension between grace and judgment in Augustine (which goes back to Paul) was decided on the side of (punitive) 'judgment.' This tension in the writings of the Apostle Paul was abolished by Augustine and from him through the medieval era, through the Reformation and all the way down to many Christians today, the issue was decided.

The alternative view, embraced by Balthasar (and tentatively, me) is that a Christian can and should hope for the salvation of all, meaning the hope that God's grace reaches even the hardest of hearts in the end. Unlike universalists we do not state this hope as a certain fact. We live under judgment and we do not know. Neither can we state the Augustinian converse. It is not our place to judge but Christ's. The threat of hell is not spoken primarily about others but about me. It is placed to each individual reading Scripture or this blog entry. "...whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers of mine, you did for me." (Matt. 25:40)

Balthasar provides this quote from Josef Pieper at the end of his book Dare We Hope:

"In theological hope the 'antitithesis' between divine justice and divine mercy is, as it were, 'removed'- not so much 'theoretically' as existentiall: supernatural hope is man's appropriate, existential answer to the fact that these qualities in God, which to the creature appear contradictory, are actually identical. One who looks only at the justice of God is as little able to hope as is one who sees only the mercy of God. Both fall prey to hopelessness- one to the hopelessness of despair, the other to the hopelessness of presumption. Only hope is able to comprehend the reality of God that surpasses all antititheses, to know that his mercy is identical to his justice and his judtice with his mercy."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dare We Hope "That All Men Be Saved"?:, May 12, 2007
By 
Gino Dalpiaz (Chicago, Illinois) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dare We Hope That All Men Be Saved? With a Short Discourse on Hell (Paperback)
This is a supremely important and courageous work on whether God's infinite love and mercy will allow the people he himself created to perish forever in hell, which is VERY REAL. Dare we hope that hell will be empty, that God was even able to save that poor man, Judas Iscariot? Hans Urs von Balthasar, perhaps the greatest theologian of the last one hundred years, seems to think that "we can dare TO HOPE that all men will be saved." Personally, I dare to hope and pray that all my brothers and sisters in the human family will be sitting with me at the table in our Father's house.

Gino Dalpiaz
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dare We Hope? Von Balthasar's Controversial Reflections on Hell., November 4, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dare We Hope That All Men Be Saved? With a Short Discourse on Hell (Paperback)
_Dare We Hope "That All Men Be Saved?" With a Short Discourse on Hell_ is an English translation of two of the more controversial writings of the Swiss theologian Hans Urs Von Balthasar consisting of von Balthasar's reflections on the doctrine of Hell and his interpretation of that doctrine, published in 1988 by Ignatius Press. Hans Urs Von Balthasar (1905 - 1988) was a Swiss theologian and priest who was nominated to become a cardinal and who remains one of the most important conservative Roman Catholic theologians of the twentieth century. Von Balthasar was a Jesuit who became involved for some time with the mystic Adrienne von Speyr, which involvement may have shaped many of his subsequent theological views. In this book, von Balthasar presents a controversial thesis that has led to much criticism of his views. Von Balthasar maintains that while it is impossible to know who is to be damned (or indeed whether any are to be damned) that we may certainly hope that all men may be saved. Officially the church has never dogmatically stated that any given individual soul is damned to Hell, but nevertheless maintains dogmatically that Hell exists. Thus, while the doctrine of Hell cannot be denied it is certainly possible for us to hope that no one is in it. This is the controversial stance that von Balthasar takes and it is precisely this stance which caused some to feel that his beliefs were unorthodox. However, I believe that the insight and hope of Von Balthasar is basically sound and thus that it is indeed possible for us to hope for such a thing despite the fact that we cannot know it to actually be the case.

The book begins with the translation of _Dare We Hope "That All Men Be Saved?"_. Von Balthasar begins by considering the "Issue and the Charge" - i.e. the fact that we as Christians are under judgment ("It is the Lord who judges me." - 1 Cor. 4:4). Von Balthasar considers the views of different theologians regarding the nature of this judgment, noting that some maintain that should one not face up to the harsh reality of the thing then one runs the risk of "wearing rose coloured glasses". Von Balthasar shows how there are various threatening impostures mentioned in Scripture which point to the reality of Hell and could be interpreted to seem to indicate that it is not empty. However, von Balthasar makes a careful distinction between a pre- and post-Easter message. Thus, the pre-Easter Jesus frequently expresses the fact that one need fear Hell and judgment, but the post-Easter Jesus points to a more universalistic message after the salvation of mankind has been bought in His blood. Von Balthasar also considers the role of predestination in Christian thought and the reflections of Newman on Hell. Following this, Von Balthasar turns to the New Testament as a source for our understanding of the doctrine of Hell. Von Balthasar divides the statements made in the New Testament about man's judgment into two types - those that speak in a threatening manner about eternal damnation and those that speak in a more universalistic and hopeful manner. Von Balthasar considers the pre- and post-Easter messages of Jesus, distinguishing between the two, and noting the role of the prayers of the church for salvation of all souls. Von Balthasar also reflects on the letters of John and Paul, noting their messages about salvation. Finally, von Balthasar mentions the use of the term "apokatastasis" (the universal salvation) and noting the role that such a term may not have played in the writings of Karl Barth. Following this, von Balthasar turns to discuss Origen and Augustine. Origen is the church father perhaps most famous for teaching the universal reconciliation; however, certain of his teachings were later condemned. Von Balthasar discusses ancient formulas of the Faith and the Jewish sheol. Von Balthasar also discusses the thought of Origen concerning the apokatastasis and the "restoration of all things", even as this relates to the Devil himself. Von Balthasar mentions such writers as C. S. Lewis and Dostoyevsky to further illustrate his points. Following this, Von Balthasar discusses the thought of St. Augustine who affirmed the existence of Hell against the "compassionate" and the "misericordes", thus beginning the tradition of a strong knowledge of Hell which existed particularly in the thought of the Reformers and the Jansenists. Following this, von Balthasar turns his attention to St. Thomas Aquinas. Von Balthasar notes the doctrines of St. Thomas as revealed in his _Summa_, particularly as they relate to questions on Hell and whether one can hope for the salvation of someone else. Von Balthasar also shows how the Augustinian tradition and teachings on Hell came to play a role in later theological developments, particularly in the writings of St. Thomas Aquinas. Following this, von Balthasar turns to the "personal character", emphasizing meditations on the Last Things, the role of Purgatory, and the cries of the souls in Hell. Next, Von Balthasar turns to "testimonies", emphasizing the testimonies of such mystics as St. Therese de Lisieux and St. John of the Cross regarding Hell. Von Balthasar also mentions his mystical mentor Adrienne von Speyr and her teachings on Hell and the universal reconciliation in this respect. Following this, von Balthasar turns to what he refers to as "Blondel's Dilemma", noting the role of Hell in the reflections of Maurice Blondel and the question of the salvation of all souls. Next, von Balthasar turns to "the eternity of Hell", emphasizing the fact that Hell is eternal and the role of Hell in the thought of the Church Fathers. Next, von Balthasar turns to "the self-consumption of evil", questioning whether evil will be self-consumed in the final reconciliation and the role of Satan, emphasizing his eternal damnation. Following this, von Balthasar turns to "justice and mercy", showing the roles of both justice and mercy in the nature of God and the way these may play out in the salvation of souls.

The second part of this book is a translation of _A Short Discourse on Hell_. Here von Balthasar begins by showing the reactions of some to his previous writings on Hell (_Dare We Hope_) and the "theologian's quarrel" that has broken out regarding whether such a hope is legitimate. Von Balthasar considers the situation as it exists in the church (regarding this quarrel on whether hope for salvation of all souls in justified), the role of Christian faith, the directives of Scripture, the idea of "Hell for others" and how this leads to spiritual conceit, the idea of "joy over damnation" and the horror von Balthasar expresses over such a possibility, the desire of St. Paul to be "accursed and cut off from my brethren for the sake of Christ", and the obligation to hope for salvation for all. Von Balthasar raises interesting points such as the hope of a mother for her wayward son or the attempts of men to place notorious "bad men" such as Judas Iscariot or various tyrants in Hell, despite the fact that the church takes no stance on their possible salvation. Von Balthasar ends this book with an epilogue dealing with the "Apokatastasis: Universal Reconciliation". Von Balthasar discusses the definition of this term "apokatastasis", mentioning that it occurs in the Bible just once in Acts 3:21 during Peter's sermon in the Temple. Von Balthasar explains how this term means a "reconciliation" and how it developed in the philosophy of the Stoics and the Neo-Platonists. Von Balthasar also explains how this term was taken up by the Alexandrian school, mentioning the role it played in the theological writings of such figures as Origen and Gregory of Nyssa. Von Balthasar also mentions the importance of such ideas in the thought of Maximus the Confessor, which he has extensively studied. Following this, von Balthasar ends with possible responses, noting the different responses of theologians to the doctrine of Hell. Von Balthasar is heavily influenced by Origen on this point and notes the tentative nature of his speculations, despite his later condemnation (largely for political reasons). This condemnation was to shape the development for future Catholic theology. Von Balthasar ends by noting that one must have confidence in judgment and the mercifulness of God.

This book provides an important theological understanding of the doctrine of Hell and our desire to hope for the salvation of all men. While it remains controversial within the Catholic church, von Balthasar expresses a unique opportunity for us all to pray for all those who may have fallen by the wayside. While von Balthasar certainly does not deny the doctrine of Hell, he does maintain that we may hope that all men may achieve salvation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The answer remains unclear to me..., September 19, 2008
By 
Bobby Bambino (Collegeville, PA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dare We Hope That All Men Be Saved? With a Short Discourse on Hell (Paperback)
Good, short read. von Balthasar is clear to make the distinction between hope for all men and universalism. In fact, the real question is can we hope that all men be saved as opposed to hoping that every INDIVIDUAL is saved (there is a difference there). I appreciated his quoting of many church fathers and doctors. For example, he quotes a beautiful passage from Catherine of Sienna in which she begs and pleads with our Lord that all men be saved. If nothing else, that was very eye opening for me; that we need to strive to the point of begging our Lord that all men be saved, that not a single soul is lost But I digress.

Alas, it still isn't clear to me if the Church does indeed allow us to hope that all men be saved. It was an enjoyable read from one of the top theologians of last century.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dare We Hope Hell's Population is Redeemed?, February 10, 2008
By 
TheoGnostus "Encycoptic" (Sketes,Theognostic America) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Dare We Hope That All Men Be Saved? With a Short Discourse on Hell (Paperback)
"... God may inflict suffering upon us, both in this life and after our death; but always He does this out of tender love and with a positive purpose, as to cleanse us from our sins, to purge and heal us. 'The fury of God's vengeance avails to the purging of our souls.'" Origin, De Principiis, as narrated by Bp. K. Ware

"We are forbidden to seek our own salvation in a selfish and egotistical way. We are keepers of our brothers and sisters. The more we work for their salvation, the more of God's favor we can expect for ourselves." Cardinal Dulles

Christianity & Universalism:
The Doctrine of Universalism, that has been prevailing in the Church during the first fivcenturies, when led by Alexandrine theologians is nothing new. Apocatastasis is as original as Origen had first taught the daring Christian hope in a loving and redeeming Father. Many Orthodox scholars acknowledge that the early Church of Alexandria which did not primarily believe in an apocalyptic Hell, but merely in the Cosmic salvation including all mankind. They termed their belief in Greek 'apocatastasis,' the restoration of all things back to God, as initiated as initiated and defended by Origen. Some of those Orthodox early church leaders who followed suit, as well, taught universalism through Jesus Christ the redeemer. Every major Christian Denomination has in its ranks some strong Universalists like Karl Rahner and John Macquarie. Universalism, some think, is pretty much an American Protestant phenomenon. While most Universalists are in fact Sola Scripturists of a different accent, many of them have studied the early church, and found a kind of vindication for their beliefs by Origen.
They appeal to the statement that God "desires all men to be saved and come to the knowledge of the truth" (1 Timothy 2:4). Equally unavailing, are appeals to passages that say that God's plan is to reconcile all things in Christ (Ephesians 1:10; Colossians 1:19-20). Although this is surely God's intent, says Avery Cardinal Dulles, "He does not override the freedom that enables men and women to resist His holy will. Paul is apparently seeking to stimulate the apostolic zeal of missionaries who will bring the saving truth of Christ to all who do not yet believe. The absolute necessity of faith for salvation is a constant theme in the writings of Paul. I see no reason, then, for ranking Paul among the universalists."

An Empty Hell ?
It is because of texts such as "Many are called, but few are chosen" (Mt. 22:14), that the Church has never accepted the hypothesis of an empty Hell. Since then, a vacant Hell seems to have been upheld by virtually few Church fathers. Origen who proposed it ( Hell being in the Church's sense, meant an eternal state of condemnation). Origen said he was speaking tentatively, or more precisely as a hypothesis. Possibly few of the Fathers followed him; the exact number is disputed. Emperor Justinian wrote his "Liber adversus Origenem", containing the reasons for condemning it with texts taken from the "De principiis", and lastly ten propositions to be anathematized. Justinian's new edict, which is not extant, resulted in the assembling of the fifth ecumenical council, in which the three chapters were condemned (553). Were Origen and Origenism anathematized? Many learned writers deny that they were condemned; most modern authorities are either undecided or reply with reservations.

Universalism Revived:
Of the Roman Catholic Universalists stands tall the late Hans Urs von Balthasar, the renowned Swiss theologian, who wrote in Dare We Hope That All Men Be Saved: "Will it really be all men who allow themselves to be reconciled? No theology or prophecy can answer this question. But love hopes all things (I Cor. 13:7). It cannot do otherwise than to hope for the reconciliation of all men in Christ. Such unlimited hope is, from the Christian standpoint, not only permitted but commanded." Earlier in the same Church, the great medieval mystic Julian of Norwich appeared to be a hopeful universalist. Karl Barth, the great pro Alexandrine Neo-Orthodox, has expressed strong universalistic hopes. Recently Bishop Kaistos Ware, The Inner Kingdom, SVS, 2004, the eminent Oxford scholar, and Greek Orthodox Bishop is challenging a discussion of Master Origen and his pupils Sts Gregory of Nyssa, Evagrius Ponticus, and Issac the Syrian and in conversation with them he asks the most daring question, for a Greek Clergy, "Dare we hope for the salvation of all?"

What do the Neo-Taliban Say?
A Neo-Taliban, when applied to Christians, means they are petrified ritualists, who try to prevent the faithful from living a life in abundance, imposing that to laugh is sinful, and to hope is mortal, Universalism is a mortal heresy. It is sad that in Origen's Church of Alexandria, (the Coptic Church) with Old Calendar Greeks are in this blissful ignorance of mere hate alliance with pre-Vatican II Catholic and Protestant fundamentalists, alike. They quote Peter's question in his First Letter, "If the righteous is scarcely to be saved, where will the impious and sinner appear?" (1 Peter 4:18). The Book of Revelation, not read by any Orthodox, teaches that in the fiery pit, Satan and his followers will be eternally tormented, "their lot shall be the lake that burns with fire and brimstone, which is the second death" (Rev 21:8).

The Population of Hell:
In his essay, the Population of Hell, Cardinal Dulles says, "Sometimes the complaint is heard that no one preaches about hell any longer. The subject of hell, if not attractive, is at least fascinating, as any reader of Dante's Inferno or Milton's Paradise Lost can testify. Equally fascinating, and decidedly more pressing, is the question of how many of us may be expected to go there when we die. In his All told, it is good that God has left us without exact information. If we knew that virtually everybody would be damned, we would be tempted to despair. If we knew that all, or nearly all, are saved, we might become presumptuous. If we knew that some fixed percent, say fifty, would be saved, we would be caught in an unholy rivalry. We would rejoice in every sign that others were among the lost, since our own chances of election would thereby be increased. Such a competitive spirit would hardly be compatible with the gospel.

An Expert's Conclusion:
Those of us who believe and make use of the means that God has provided for the forgivenessof sins and the reform of life, concludes Avery Cardinal Dulles, have no reason to fear. We can be sure that Christ, who died on the Cross for us, will not fail to give us the grace we need. We know that in all things God works for the good of those who love Him, and that if we persevere in that love, nothing whatever can separate us from Christ (cf. Romans 8:28-39). That is all the assurance we can have, and it should be enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hope, October 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dare We Hope That All Men Be Saved? With a Short Discourse on Hell (Paperback)
Hans Urs Von Balthasar writes this book fundamentally on the subject of hope. What may we, as Christians, hope for? Let me say right from the start, this book is 100% Orthodox and in line with the magiestirium of the Church. This is proved by the fact that Balthasar was one of John Paul II's favorite theologians, and he elevated him as a cardinal shortly before his death.

The thesis of Balthasar in this book is this: We all, as Christians, are under the judgement of the Lord. We are all anticipating a final judgement. It is a judgement that we do not have a verdict for. So we must reckon with the real possibility that it is in our power to be lost. The path of good and bad lie before all. So we must be zealous for ourselves. We also can have a firm hope for everyone, because Christ has died for all, therefore all have died. On the Basis of Christ's universal atonement and desire for all to be saved, we can have a hope that all may be saved.

This thesis that we may have hope for all men should not have been controversial, but sadly it has been. This book can often be a bit dense and unreadable, and not much in the book was new or radical. None the less this book has garnered much controversy and is a testament to the hope that we have in Christ for the human race.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Dare We Hope That All Men Be Saved? With a Short Discourse on Hell
Dare We Hope That All Men Be Saved? With a Short Discourse on Hell by Hans Urs von Balthasar (Paperback - November 1, 1988)
$19.95 $15.80
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.