Customer Reviews


861 Reviews
5 star:
 (257)
4 star:
 (266)
3 star:
 (133)
2 star:
 (92)
1 star:
 (113)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


219 of 226 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Improved version of "Daredevil"
A marked improvement over the previous version of the film, "Daredevil" (Director's Cut) allows director and co-writer Mark Steven Johnson to adjust his film to the darker aspects he originally wanted to portray on screen. I won't be reviewing the previous edition in this review at all (since amazon.com inadvertently combines all editions into one pool this may end up...
Published on November 27, 2004 by Wayne Klein

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Much better than the original!
I picked this up with a gift card I got for Christmas, since I heard it was a much better cut than the original, and also because I'm into the whole superhero genre. Anyways, they were right. It's much better than the original. While I felt the theatrical cut was so-so, this one has some edge and bite to it. The characters are fleshed out a bit more, and more screen...
Published on January 3, 2005 by R. Longman


‹ Previous | 1 287 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

219 of 226 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Improved version of "Daredevil", November 27, 2004
This review is from: Daredevil (Director's Cut) (DVD)
A marked improvement over the previous version of the film, "Daredevil" (Director's Cut) allows director and co-writer Mark Steven Johnson to adjust his film to the darker aspects he originally wanted to portray on screen. I won't be reviewing the previous edition in this review at all (since amazon.com inadvertently combines all editions into one pool this may end up under the previous theatrical DVD release), but will focus on what makes the "Director's Cut" unique and worth picking up for fans of the movie and the comic book.

Sometimes "Director's Cuts" are a mere attempt by the studio to make more money or the director to create something successful out of a disaster. That isn't the case with "Daredevil"(Director's Cut). Director Johnson originally intended to focus as much on Daredevil as he did on Matt Murdock and his career as a crusading lawyer fighting for the underdogs. The 30 minutes of additional footage adds an important subplot about the murder of a hooker which is pinned on street thug (Coolio). The fight sequence at the end between Kingpin and Daredevil is longer and more involved. Many of the fight sequences are cut with an "R" rating movie in mind (and that's what this DVD version received as its rating). Some of the love story between Elektra and Daredevil gets shortened here as well in favor of developing Murdock's character and for some truly interesting (and occasionally funny) courtroom scenes.

Johnson was required by his contract to provide a PG-13 movie and, as a result, he had to reshuffle the movie a bit cutting out much of the subplot as well as trimming down the more intense fight sequences of the film. There's also a number scenes related to character development that got lost along the way most notably the reporter that follows the Daredevil and Murdock himself. Restoring these sequences improve the film and add strength to a narrative that had a number of holes in it and was too simply resolved. Additionally, it gives more substance to Matt Murdock's character creating a much more complex person. We also see much more about Kingpin and scenes that demonstrate how dangerous he can be.

The transfer here actually looks a bit sharper and with slightly better clarity the the original DVD. Like the previous edition, this one has been transferred in the anamorphic widescreen format which translates to better image quality than a standard widescreen transfer. The sound is also top notch with nice use of the surround sound format.

This "Director's Cut" doesn't have all the bells and whistles of the previous edition (in fact it is a single disc release). The only extras are Johnson and producer Avi Arad's commentary track for this edition (which was in preparation for DVD before the movie was even released to theaters) and a 15 minute featurette on the director's intension in creating this edition. While it lacks the extras on the previous edition, it more than makes up for them with a stronger film. My only complaint is that this should have been released at the same time as the original DVD and/or in place of it with a second disc of extras. Unfortunately, Fox has participated in the old double dip.

Overall, "Daredevil" is much improved with this special edition. It's a pity it came out so long after the original (much like the "Lord of the Rings" movies). Johnson points out in the featurette that he considers "Daredevil" to still be flawed movie and while he may be right, restoring the first R rated version certainly makes this film stronger. The "Director's Cut" is far closer to Frank Miller's comic book vision of "Daredevil" than the previous edition. Fans of the movie will definitely want to pick this up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Kinda Liked the Original Version, but I Love This One!, December 1, 2004
By 
Monkdude (Hampton, Virginia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Daredevil (Director's Cut) (DVD)
This Director's Cut improves on the original in almost every way. The plot holes are filled in, the fight scenes are more violent, and the romance is trimmed down a bit. And believe it or not, former rapper Coolio was actually quite funny, especially in the court scene when he mentions he uses only shotguns (you'll know what I mean when you see it). If this was the version released in theaters I think most people would have this one at the top of the Superhero film lists right beside Batman, X-Men 2, and Spider-Man 2. This version is worth buying and I will never watch the theatrical cut again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big improvement over theatrical release, January 7, 2005
This review is from: Daredevil (Director's Cut) (DVD)
Don't get me wrong, I like the theatrical version of this movie. But, as a lifelong fan of Daredevil in the comic books, the Director's cut is not just more faithful to the source material, it's also a more cohesive film.

The added storyline with Coolio puts more focus on Matt (Ben Affleck) as a man, and how precariously he balances his life as a lawyer and as a vigilante. The toning down of the Matt/Elektra romance makes the the love affair all the more tragic. Jennifer Garner comes off much more believable as Elektra this time around because the love is unfulfilled. The subplot with Fisk's lawyer lends more depth to how insulated Wilson Fisk (Michael Clarke Duncan) really is, and some added footage, really lends to the Kingpin's cruel and violent nature. The fight sequences have a much better flow now, Ben Urich (Joe Pantoliano) is more fleshed out as a character, and Foggy (Jon Favreau) Nelson's sense of humour is given more room.

All in all, this is a more satisfying version of the movie. If you felt let down by Daredevil with the old version, give the Director's Cut a try. As both a movie fan and a Daredevil fanatic, I am more than pleased by this release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Daredevil does not disappoint, February 11, 2003
"Lawyer by day, judge and jury by night."
Like many superheroes before him, Matt Murdock leads a double life. In one of those lives, he defends the innocent in court. In the other he is known as the Daredevil, a vigilante who takes the law into his own hands and punishes those that take advantages of the loopholes in the justice system. The unique thing about Murdock is that he is blind, an unfortunate result from a childhood chemical accident. To compensate the loss of sight, the rest of his four senses are consequently heightened to help him navigate his environment, acting like radar that works in a similar way to the bat sonar.
"A man without fear is a man without hope."
Surprisingly, Daredevil isn't a simple crime fighting fare or a showcase of good vs. evil. Beneath those familiar themes is a struggle with the meaning of justice and revenge. As expected, the obligatory introduction for the protagonist is there for the benefit of those that are not familiar with the comic. Even though one can't really fault these sequences for being formulaic (i.e. guy gets hurt, guy obtains superhuman abilities, and guy learns how to perfect these skills), suffice to say the movie does an adequate job of presenting the character of Daredevil to the audiences.
I admit to having doubts when hearing Ben Affleck is to don the costume as Daredevil, he just does not look like the superhero type to me. However, as the film progressed, I became more and more convinced that while he may not be perfect for the role, he did a fantastic job with it. Affleck was able to translate Murdock's loneliness, his playfulness and his inner struggles to the screen. He is a complex hero filled with the most basic of human needs, he is as fallible as you and me, and he does not always make the right choices. The lovely Jennifer Garner plays the tough and resilient Elektra, Murdock's love interest in the movie. I really appreciate the time taken to develop their relationship with each other, and the chemistry between the two leads is definitely there.
The characterizations of the villains, on the other hand, were rather weak. This is not to say that the performances by Michael Clarke Duncan as the Kingpin and Colin Farrell as Bullseye were bad, but little screen time were devoted to them to flesh out these personalities, which could be the intention of the director for all we know. Nevertheless, the supporting cast is a strong one; I especially liked Jon Favreau in the part of Murdock's good-humored partner, Franklin Nelson.
The veteran Hong Kong master Cheung-Yan Yuen (brother to Woo-Ping) provides the action choreography, evident in the amount of wirework present in the movie. Personally, I think the film benefited from such collaboration, and it certainly made the fighting sequences much more exciting and stylish to watch. However, some of the editing of the said scenes left a lot to be desired, for example, the confrontation in the bar at the beginning was hectic and poorly lit, it is hard to appreciate what you cannot see.
Not a comic reader myself, I cannot say whether Daredevil is a faithful adaptation of the source material, but I can tell you that I enjoyed every minute of it. The movie is not without faults, yet I truly believe that it is everything Spider-Man was and more. It has action for the guys and romance for the women, come to think of it, Daredevil may not be a bad choice to spend part of your Valentine's Day. It is fun, charming, and a touch sinister. I really think Marvel has another success in its hands. Be sure to sit through the credits, there is an additional scene you don't want to miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Daredevil (Director's Cut), July 21, 2005
By 
This review is from: Daredevil (Director's Cut) (DVD)
First, I have to admit that I simply HATED the theatrical cut of "Daredevil", despite some of the well executed CGI effects and action sequences. To begin, there was hardly ANY character development and lastly, there were plenty of plot holes thrown in here and there. In addition, some scenes felt a bit rushed and/or out of place (e.g. the love scene between Ben Affleck and Jennifer Garner) as if not much thought [or detail] had been put into them! However, after getting a chance to see the long rumored Director's Cut of the film, I decided to give it a second chance. The result: I wasn't disappointed! Unlike the original PG-13 release back in 2003, this is the R rated version that director, Mark Steven Johnson had originally envisioned, but didn't get the chance to make at the time. But now, we can see an adaptation, which is a lot more faithful to the original Marvel comic series created by Stan Lee (who also made "Spider-Man") and Bill Everrett. Yes, this version is LONGER, DARKER, and BETTER THAN EVER!!

Ben Affleck plays the role of Matt Murdock who becomes blind after experiencing a freak accident as a child. He grows up in Hell's Kitchen, New York to become a lawyer and of course, the "Man without Fear" himself: DAREDEVIL! Using an inner radar-like sensor and superhuman strength, he defends the innocent of the Big Apple from dangerous criminals in all shapes and sizes. Eventually, he meets up with the beautiful assassin, Elektra Natchios (Jennifer Garner) and together, they battle the forces of the bone crushing, Kingpin (excellently done by talented Michael Clarke-Duncan) and the ruthless Bullseye (Colin Farrell)! But will they be enough to bring down these two awesome villains?

There is over 30 minutes of never-before-seen footage in this DVD release not shown in theaters, including some extended footage with Matt and his father, Jack Murdock, a humorous court scene with Coolio, and a longer, more intense fight sequence between Daredevil and the Kingpin! There are many others that I haven't listed here, but most importantly, there IS plenty of character development this time around! Other features include: a Full-Length Audio Commentary by Writer/Director Mark Steven Johnson and Producer Avi Arad and the featurette, "Giving the Devil His Due", which gives us a BTS look at the making of "Daredevil" (Director's Cut)! The movie itself is presented in 2.35:1 Anamorphic Widescreen. If you want the PERFECT and IMPROVED version of the DD movie, then this is the one to own!

Also recommended: "X-Men", "X-2: X-Men United", "Spider-Man", "Spider-Man 2", and "The Punisher"!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Darker, Brooder Daredevil, December 1, 2004
This review is from: Daredevil (Director's Cut) (DVD)
Ben Affleck turns in a brooding performance as "Daredevil," a blind hero that is attorney by day; judge, jury and executioner by night. Typical of comic book yarn, father, giftedly played by David Keith, is murdered. Young son Matt is left alone, blind, and vengeful. He uses his other senses to "see" with sound vibrations. He becomes skilled in martial arts and acrobatics. Suprisingly believable. I enjoyed the PG13 version, but felt this version is much tighter and darker. There is a whole scenerio involving Coolio that got cut originally, and felt it added to the story. I do feel that Kingpin, brilliantly done by Michael Clarke Duncon, was underused and was worthy of having the villainous role all to his own. Bullseye, played smartassy by Colin Farrell could have been a chief villain as well instead as a supporting player. Electra was in the film far too short, but will be spun off to her own movie. On a side note I was a little disappointed that there was no "Electra" trailer considering the film comes out in January. It would have been nice to include a free pass for it too. After all Fox, we did buy this film a second time. All in all though the sound is great, the new scenes are added seemlessly. It is well worth owning both versions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Director's Cut is the Real Movie, April 10, 2005
This review is from: Daredevil (Director's Cut) (DVD)
Everytime I see a director's cut, I am amazed at how much better the story is than the one in the theaters and Daredevil (Director's Cut) is no exception. Instead of jumping from the first act to the finale there is an actual story going on here. Not only that but the action scenes are better. It was funny to hear the director's commentary talking about how the movie executives wanted to shorten the fighting scenes - in an action movie? How ridiculous. Movie executives should stay out of the creative process and let the story tellers do their job. This Daredevil is the real thing, you won't want to miss it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun to Watch, with the Best Kiss Scene Ever?, April 15, 2003
This review is from: Daredevil (Two-Disc Widescreen Edition) (DVD)
Superhero movies. They're on their way this summer in the forms of the Incredible Hulk, a "League" of gentlemen, and some guy named Wolverine. Could Daredevil just be a taste of what's to come? If so, then I say bring on them crazy superhero mutants!

Daredevil was a great surprise to me. To begin with, I'm not a fan of Daredevil, Ben Affleck, nor Jennifer Garner. Not that their stuff bores me, it's just I'm not big fans of their work. Daredevil changed that.

The story is simple. Murdock is a blind guy who has enhanced all of his abilities through his handicap. He uses these abilities to revenge the death of his father by giving justice to the city he lives in. When he meets Elektra, a new sort of justice comes into play.

Our leads give a fantastic performance and their chemistry was awesome. The rooftop kiss in the rain scene is - in my opinion - one of the best kiss scenes. Colin Farrel gives a hoot of a performance as a co-villian and Michael Clarke Duncan rocks as usual.

The action in this movie is high. There are a number of great fight scenes and action sequences. A bunch of adrenaline here.

I only have one complaint with this movie, and it seemed it moved too fast at times. I need a little bit more character development (partially with Elektra) for me. But other than . . .

Daredevil was a fun adrenaline-filled movie with the right amount of a side love story to settle it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank goodness for DVD, December 20, 2004
By 
jessica j (Encino, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Daredevil (Director's Cut) (DVD)
Let me start by saying that I love Daredevil in all his comic book incarnations (see my other reviews) and I love both Frank Miller and Brian Michael Bendis, so I'm open to different interpretations of the character. But I thought the movie as shown in theatres was 'da suck.'

The big problem was that it felt like the guts of the movie were missing. It felt like it jumped jarringly from his childhood to his injury in the church and then back around again. By contrast, this movie takes its time in his childhood, giving his experience with his father more emotional weight. The church scene still seems out of place but at least you care more.

The best addition is that the subplot of Coolio's trial has been added back into the story. I didn't know it when I saw this movie in the theatre, but practially every scene in the second act of the movie ended with someone moving this trial along. You should watch this just to know how much you missed! The trial was actually a well-done murder mystery, and it gave Jon Favreau and even Ben Affleck more of a chance to be actors.

Another plus is that the sex scene with Elektra has been axed. Instead of going home with her, Daredevil has to leave her to help a stranger in trouble. The scene is very well done and feels much more like Matt Murdock.

Also, the fight scene with Kingpin has been extended and feels much more significant. The breaking of the knees makes more sense and therefore no longer feels cheesy.

This movie is still flawed. Ben Affleck is better but still not quite right. Jennifer Garner is a lovely actress but she still looks silly kicking sandbags with little devils painted on them. And I still get taken out of the story every time a minor character is named John Romita or Joe Quesada (famous Daredevil artists). Most importantly, I DO NOT BUY DAREDEVIL AS A KILLER!!! Why would he practice law and then go out and kill people? But there is so much that is better about this version that I have to congratulate them for releasing it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dare To Watch The Director's Cut?, February 5, 2005
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Daredevil (Director's Cut) (DVD)
Lets face it...Daredevil wasn't really ranked high on the "Best Superhero Movie" list. Based on the hit Marvel Comics character (Though some people probably don't recognize him, favoring Marvel's Spider-Man and X-Men instead), Daredevil is the story of Matt Murdock, a small-time blind lawyer in New York City. Murdock was blinded in his childhood, when raidoactive waste spilled in his eyes.

While blind, the material that went into his eyes increased his other four senses, most notable his hearing which gives him some kind of "radar sense", which allows him to see different things as long as sound exists, but to much sound distorts his vision. Well anyway, Matt Murdock lives something of two lives. He lives the life of a lawyer who only defends those who are innocent, which he determines by the person's pulse. He also lives the life of a violent and gritty vigilante named Daredevil, who punishes crime across the streets of New York.

Daredevil's standard PG-13 rating got changed to R for his director's cut debut, to allow viewers to further explore the dark world of Daredevil. The some 30 minutes that have been added to the film include some little peices of scenes that have been wedged between other scenes, such as Murdock shovelling an ice and salt combination into his strange, sound-proof "bed", which was deleted from the theatrical release for some strange reason, probably because it added an, oh 5 seconds to the overall movie!

More scenes like this are throughout the movie, from one or two more lines added in to conversations to a five second snippet wedged in between scenes. The movie also sports some "alternate" scenes, in which theatrical release scenes were swapped for scenes, such as Elektra going off with a bodyguard after her hand-to-hand combat duel in the playground against Murdock instead of chatting with him, or a criminal unwillingly telling Murdock the "Kingpin kills your whole family" line instead of the reporter, Ben Urich actually warning Murdock. One can argue which scene is more effective.

Another notable and important addition to the film through the Director's Cut is a subplot that spans almost the entire film and evolves as the rest of the story moves on. This subplot featuring an innocent but morally questionable man who is framed for murder. Learning that he is innocent, Murdock agrees to defend him. Though it may not seem like much, it provides some additional humor, and is probably more effective than the original theatrical release.

The newly added scenes are spectacular, and range from whole scenes (Such as a hitman named Bullseye going to an airport) to extended fightscenes (Including Matt's father's boxing match, the barroom brawl, Daredevil Vs. Elektra, Bullseye Vs. Elektra, Daredevil Vs. Bullseye and the final battle between Daredevil and the Kingpin Of Crime).

The sound is superb, but since a lot of the scenes take place at night, fight scenes can get a little blurry so viewers may not be able to now who has the upperhand. Most notable of these fight scenes is the barroom brawl scene, in which the flashing blue lights and the sheer dark in the area kind of make it hard to find out whats happening.

For those of you who enjoy special features, you probably won't be too impressed with the bonus material that Daredevil: The Director's Cut offers. This sports a featurrete for the making of the Director's Cut, plus a feature-length audio commentary by the director and producer. In addition, you get the rather uneventful and dull teaser trailers of Alien Vs. Predator and I, Robot.

The Director's Cut version of the film, is probably better in the theatrical release, and try to mold the story away from an action love story like Spider-Man was, into a gritty action movie. The bonus features however, are somewhat dull, and it may have been more appreciated if some more special features, such as the original theatrical release features had been included with the movie. For those who haven't seen Daredevil yet, the theatrical release provides somewhat more ground than what the Director's Cut offers, but if you have seen the movie, you will realize that the Director's Cut, if more complicated, is a better version of the film. I strongly suggest purchasing this item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 287 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Daredevil (Two-Disc Widescreen Edition)
Daredevil (Two-Disc Widescreen Edition) by Mark Steven Johnson (DVD - 2003)
$14.98 $13.79
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.