Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mini-craft Iron
The size of the iron is great! It fits in the palm of your hand. And it gets hot! The only thing I don't like is that it plugs into the left hand side of the iron, which makes it awkward to use.
Published on November 13, 2006 by Crafter

versus
17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Mini Craft Iron
I find that the cord positioned on the left side makes the iron awkward to use. For a right-handed person using the iron backwards is easier. The cord though needed for the amount of current is like having a cricket on the end of a chain often keeping the iron from easily sitting flat. I will continue to use my larger iron.
Published on September 7, 2007 by CMJ


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mini-craft Iron, November 13, 2006
By 
Crafter (Hayward, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Darice 1204-59 Mini Crafting Iron Assorted Colors (Kitchen)
The size of the iron is great! It fits in the palm of your hand. And it gets hot! The only thing I don't like is that it plugs into the left hand side of the iron, which makes it awkward to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Mini Iron, February 20, 2010
By 
Spudman (Pasadena, MD United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Darice 1204-59 Mini Crafting Iron Assorted Colors (Kitchen)
At first glance this little crafting iron is comical in appearance and seems to be the tool of someone with elfen hands.
Mrs. Spudman is a quilter and bought this to press down seams on piecework before assembling her quilts.
What's nice is that she is using a device powered with 15 watts and not the 1800 watts of her large iron.

So far this miniscule quilting aid is performing as expected and is perfect for the small pieces of fabric used by quilters. The cord sometimes gets in the way, but that's not surprising considering the slightness of the iron itself. For stubborn wrinkles, use a spray bottle to wet the fabric first.

Crafters may find this little iron to be just what the doctor ordered. It might even come in handy for small touchups of a collar or cuff. Before purchasing this MINI iron, be aware of its limitations of size and power.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't expect much outta such a small iron !, November 3, 2010
This review is from: Darice 1204-59 Mini Crafting Iron Assorted Colors (Kitchen)
I have no complaints with my little craft iron. Most of the reviewers on here seem like they expected this iron to perform like a household iron that you'd use for daily ironing. This is a CRAFTING IRON ! It's meant to smooth out those minor wrinkles in fabric, hold hems and folds, or stick on your Iron-on patches. It does just that for me at least. I'm able to easily iron out wrinkled creases in my folded pieces of fabric and iron down my folds/hems. I do agree with those who say the placement of the plug is a big awkward. The iron tends to tip over when standing bcuz of the plug throwing it off balance. Overall I'd say this is a great mini iron to have and I bet you can take this with you on travels for light ironing to iron out wrinkles from the suitcase packing. Other than that if you're doing major ironing just stick with your household iron. But if you're just ironing out light wrinkles for quilt squares or what not this iron works fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Mini Craft Iron, September 7, 2007
By 
CMJ (Sandy, UT United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Darice 1204-59 Mini Crafting Iron Assorted Colors (Kitchen)
I find that the cord positioned on the left side makes the iron awkward to use. For a right-handed person using the iron backwards is easier. The cord though needed for the amount of current is like having a cricket on the end of a chain often keeping the iron from easily sitting flat. I will continue to use my larger iron.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dude. This thing bums me out every goddang time., December 28, 2012
By 
This review is from: Darice 1204-59 Mini Crafting Iron Assorted Colors (Kitchen)
Three stars because it's adorable, as all diminutive objects are. Also three stars because even though the cord comes out EVERY GODDANG TIME I USE IT, it still works even though it's now rattling from whatever s*** that has broken off inside the unit due to IT FALLING OFF THE IRONING BOARD ONTO THE FLOOR EVERY GODDANG TIME I USE IT. Three stars because, God bless her, the old biddy still heats up and does the job of ironing my doll clothes, even with said broken plastic s*** rattling around inside her. You see, the plug is intended for regular, human sized appliances, which this of course is not. The plug therefore prevents the iron from even standing up straight.
If you are of ascetic ilk, and your quality of life/sanity does not matter much as long as your miniature s*** gets ironed, this perfunctorily fabricated appliance might suit your needs. Good for you. Take the kids to KenTacoHut with the money you would have spent on a well designed miniature iron. If not, do yourself a favor and get the Rowenta DA1560 Classic Compact Steam Iron with 300 Hole Stainless Steel Soleplate 1000 Watt, Purple, which is about 2.5 times bigger but won't drive you to drink/start a house fire/burn your feet and/or innocent loyal pets, as this one will, when it FALLS OFF THE IRONING BOARD EVERY GODDANG TIME YOU USE IT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste your hard earned cash, July 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Darice 1204-59 Mini Crafting Iron Assorted Colors (Kitchen)
We ordered this and got it pretty quickly. We then used it yesterday and it didn't heat up enough to bond the perler beads which is specifically what we got it for. The cord is detachable which sounds cool, but when we go to push the cord in it doesn't go Niall the way. The plastic on the inside ended up snapping because of the amount of pressure that is needed to get the cord to attach. I have to return it because it really is garbage!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great quilting product, September 27, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Darice 1204-59 Mini Crafting Iron Assorted Colors (Kitchen)
Got this for my mom to help her with her quilting. Great for ironing small parts of fabric, heats up quickly and very easy to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Safety issue: Lead in the cord, April 9, 2012
By 
This review is from: Darice 1204-59 Mini Crafting Iron Assorted Colors (Kitchen)
What the description does not tell you, and what you don't find out until you destroy the clamshell packaging to get the iron out (thus eliminating any chance of returning the item!) is this paragraph in the iron's Safety Precautions:

CAUTION -- PROP 56 WARNING: Handling the coated electrical wires of this product exposes you to lead, a chemical known to the State of California to cause Cancer, birth defects, and other reproductive harm. Wash hands after use.

Another problem with this iron: the plate has imperfections. There are extra bits of teflon-like stuff on the surface of the plate, meaning that it is not flat like it should be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent for crafts, December 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Darice 1204-59 Mini Crafting Iron Assorted Colors (Kitchen)
Great mini-iron for patchwork and quilting, it's light, and works with 120-240V. Good for travelling, too. And it's very cute!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Waste, August 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Darice 1204-59 Mini Crafting Iron Assorted Colors (Kitchen)
Worthless. Doesn't get hot enough to do anything. It is a cute little thing but I haven't found it useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Darice 1204-59 Mini Crafting Iron Assorted Colors
$14.99 $12.24
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.