Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Favorite Darin CD
I've owned this CD for months and still listen to it daily. It's upbeat, swinging music. Gets everybody into a great mood at a get together. Darin is passionate, brazen, slick, cool, and funny all at the same time. What a talented man. Dig the way he plays the vibraphone (a la Red Norvo) on one cut. His live version of "Love For Sale" is the best I have ever heard...
Published on May 16, 2000 by Mack_T_Knife

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars LIve at the Desert Inn is better
Let me start off by saying that I am a huge Bobby Darin fan. However, I was disappointed in this CD. Bobby is great as usual but this live performance did not translate as well to a CD as others I have heard. I could tell that everyone in the audience was having a great time, but on this particular CD, only being able to listen to the audio version of his performance...
Published on March 14, 2011 by cynthiag12


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Favorite Darin CD, May 16, 2000
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Darin at the Copa (Audio CD)
I've owned this CD for months and still listen to it daily. It's upbeat, swinging music. Gets everybody into a great mood at a get together. Darin is passionate, brazen, slick, cool, and funny all at the same time. What a talented man. Dig the way he plays the vibraphone (a la Red Norvo) on one cut. His live version of "Love For Sale" is the best I have ever heard (and I have the same song done by Harry Connick, Anita O'Day, & Ella----pretty tough competition!). Take it from someone that owns 4 Bobby Darin albums and the box set...this captures the essence of a great performer. Possibly the best CD I own.

Subscribe to the Darinfan list to get email news on Bobby Darin:

[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For that Darin fan who has everything!, March 12, 2003
By 
This review is from: Darin at the Copa (Audio CD)
Here's the thing about this album: I was hesitant to buy it because I was afraid it would be too cheesy. You know, cheesy like "Thank you, don't forget to tip your waitress. Good night!" Here's what I forgot: It's impossible for the great Bobby Darin to be anything but genuine and charming and brimming with a love for life as a performer. He's the coolest of the cool, a swinger who could rock the socks off any venue and crowd, and I could listen to him holler "Thank you, you are beautiful!" to a cheering audience all day long.

There is just an unbelievable flow going all the way through this album. The first combo "Swing Low Sweet Chariot/Lonesome Road" is bursting with soul. And the pace really never slows down from there. Whether he's doing one of his hits (gotta love the girls shrieking when he starts Dreamlover), hamming it up with the audience, or displaying his instrumental talent, you can just feel the electricity of this awesome performer.

This CD is great to pickup if you have many other Bobby Darin recordings. A good number of the songs can't be found on any other Darin album, and even if some of the songs are on your other CDs, these are Live! This, when coupled with Darin's flare for improvisation and the great band backup make it just as good as having a completely new song. Throw that CD in for another spin and let's hear that W.C. Fields impersonation one more time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Darin Was Sinatra's Heir Apparent, June 5, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Darin at the Copa (Audio CD)
"Darin at the Copa" is a gem. Today we all hear about Tony Bennett, but that is in great part because none of the great male vocalists are left, with the exceptions of the talented but styleless, boring Jack Jones and Vic Damone. The shame is that Bobby Darin did not live a normal lifespan. He had the pipes, style, and panache to have been the next generation's Frank Sinatra. He combined the finest elements of Frank, Dean, Perry, and Sammy all in one, with a touch of Ray Charles thrown in for good measure. Darin, when he took his singing seriously, could handle a ballad with the best of them (listen to "The Other Half of Me," or "Try To Remember"), and his uptempo tunes are in a class by themselves. Not even Sinatra at his best could swing with the syncopation of Darin, as on "Artificial Flowers," "Beyond the Sea," or "Mack the Knife." In this CD, Darin shows why the critics all believed him to be the next Sinatra. Indeed, as he reached his mid-thirties (just before his death) Darin's voice mellowed, matured, and deepened into a rich baritone, and his breath control (despite his failing heart)was superb. His range was immense, and unlike Tony Bennett, on high notes he never sounded grating or strained as if his head was about to explode. Darin was the real thing---what a shame so many of today's youths have no idea who or what he was about. This CD might help educate contemporary music fans (God help us)about a genuine talent whose brief life was glorious but tragic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Darin Was the Greatest Jazz-Cabaret Singer of All Time, March 29, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Darin at the Copa (Audio CD)
If you are a Darin fan, a jazz fan, or simply a fan of good, old-fashioned cabaret, you must purchase this CD! Darin was remarkable. Sammy Davis, Jr. once said that Bobby Darin was the only act he would never follow on stage. Wayne Newton called Bobby "the most consummate entertainer he'd ever known." Walter Winchell admitted that Sinatra himself was spellbound by the young Darin when Frank watched Bobby open for George Burns in Las Vegas in the late 1950s. Winchell said Sinatra watched every Darin show for weeks---(this is true irony since Sinatra was Darin's boyhood idol, yet it was Sinatra who became obsessed with the young singer from the Bronx in the latter's early live performances). In "Darin At The Copa" the listener comes to understand why Darin received such praise. The man could flat-out sing---and sing any kind of song with style and rhythm beyond belief. Furthermore, he was a dancer, impressionist, and instrumentalist of the highest order. But most important of all was Darin's keen wit and showmanship. It is well known that Darin had a genius IQ and a natural panache that few others came close to possessing. To hear Darin live is to hear an ingenius musical artist. I have always been a fan of "Sinatra At the Sands," but if I am to be honest, Darin's "Copa" album just blows away Sinatra. Darin had a coolness that appealed to every generation---and he never came off sounding like an old fart trying to be hip. He was hip. Combine Sinatra, Dean Martin, and Sammy Davis, Jr. and you come close to having Bobby Darin. But not quite. Bobby would still have that unique magnetism that transcended mere talent. Buy this CD, and pay special attention to Darin's versions of "Love For Sale" and "Some of These Days." It is my guess that---had Darin lived even another ten or twenty years----he would have become the Sinatraesque icon to whom we'd all be referring whenever discussions occurred regarding the greatest cabaret singer of them all. Darin had no equal---and keep in mind that he was only twenty-two years old when this performance was recorded! How great would he have become had he lived a normal lifespan?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Show Me A Better, Cooler CD. There Isn't Any., July 21, 2005
This review is from: Darin at the Copa (Audio CD)
Please tell me, someone, if there is a cooler, more medodic, hipper CD than this. There simply isn't. They say Frank Sinatra was afraid of Bobby Darin. Listen to this album and you'll know why. There was only one Bobby Darin. Lucky for Frank, Bobby only lived to 37. Still waiting to hear about a cooler CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Daring Darin, January 20, 2000
By 
Joseph L. Schofield "leescho" (West Haven, CT United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Darin at the Copa (Audio CD)
In a time of Fabian and Avalon, Bobby Vee and Tommy Sands, Bobby Darin exploded through that bubble-gum morass with the style of Sinatra, the showmanship of Sammy Davis Jr., the impishness of Dean Martin and the social instincts of the activist sixties. He was showbiz, to be sure, but he was also artist. Listen to his reading of "I Have Dreamed" and try not to get annoyed at the woman laughing and the man talking in the background. (One didn't go to the Copa for artistry, I guess). Early on in the set, he segues into his mega-hit, "Mack the Knife", with a great tease line that is almost lost in the rattling laughter of Joe. E. Ross ("Car 54 . . . "). But Darin nimbly recovers the moment with a smart nod to his colleague. He was style, he was class, he was artist - and you get a full measure of that as you listen to him at the Copa.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Darin Was Truly One In A Million, September 12, 2003
By 
This review is from: Darin at the Copa (Audio CD)
At age twenty-two Darin had the magneticism, showmanship and musical syncopation that niether Sinatra nor Tony Bennett possessed at sixty. Because Darin also delved into rock and roll a lot of old fartsy purists don't give him the recognition he deserves as a great vocalist of American classic popular songs. But these old farts aside, Darin had more natural rhythm and uptempo style than Sinatra and Bennett combined. Listen to "Beyond the Sea," A Nightengale Sang in Berkeley Square," and "Mack the Knife," and then compare them with Frank's or Tony's renditions. No contest. Furthermore, Darin could sing (with ease) rhythm and blues, gospel, folk, jazz, and county & western like a natural. No other popular singer--male or female--has been able to conquer all of these musical genres so convincingly. Darin had real talent and the panache and style that comes along only once in a long, long while. Tis a shame he died so young, and an even greater shame that so many old farts think that far less talented singers like Dick Haymes and Tony Bennett are superior to Darin simply because the latter performers remained "true" to the 1940s sound---as if there is some intrinsic virtue to singing within the confines of one musical genre while it is a "sin" to possess the talent to master multiple genres. To be fair, there are many among the WWII generation who recognize Darin as an incomparable talent. And that's how he should be remembered---as a truly great talent whose career was tragically cut short.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Darin had Sinatra, Dino, and Bing On The Run, July 5, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Darin at the Copa (Audio CD)
Darin at the Copa was an event of epic proportions. His shows at that prestigious cabaret broke all attendance records set by Sinatra and Sammy Davis, Jr. Darin performs like a man who has absolutely no shortcomings as an entertainer: he sings ballads, swing, and jazz with the best of them. He plays virtually every instrument you place in his hand; he does the greatest imersonations of dozens of classic Hollywood superstars. Bobby Darin as an all-around live entertainer even put Frank and Dino in the backseat. Neither of these two lounge singer giants possessed that incredible array of natural talent possessed by Darin. Indeed, as "Darin at the Copa" validates, neither Sammay nor Frank nor Dean approached Bobby's wit, magneticism, or ability to commamd an audience. Bobby was truly a great talent---Sinatra with a bit of Ray Charles thrown in; combined with some Al Jolson and a bit of Bing Crosby. He possessed components of all these great classic vocalists and entertainers and yet Darin added more---his own very unique swagger and sway to finalize the composite and turn it into his own, unique style that has yet to be copied in the thirty years since his untimely death. This young man, had he more time and better health, might well have eclipsed Sinatra himself as America's greatest male singer of standard popular tunes. What a real shame that we all lost such a brilliant and innovative vocalist. At least check out "Darin at the Copa" to get some of the flavor of a live Darin concert---it was indeed a wonderfully unique and enjoyable event. You'll soon realize why Walter Winchell once said that Sinatra was so mesmorised my the young Darin that he saw him perform over and over again from the wings of the stage at the Desert Inn Hotel in 1959. Frank couldn't fathom how such a young man could be so good. Now listen for your self at this incredible entertainer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!!, July 10, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Darin at the Copa (Audio CD)
I love this CD! Bobby Darin's energy, musical talent, and sense of humor really shine. I listen to this CD over and over, and never tire of it. The way he interacts with the audience is wonderful. My favorite songs are "Love for Sale," (it's so sultry), and his "Swing Low..." medley-- it reminds me of Judy Garland opening with this song in one of her TV programs. Bobby Darin was such an incredible, original, brilliant musical talent. I like this CD because it makes me feel like I'm there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Live Darin CD, February 21, 2005
This review is from: Darin at the Copa (Audio CD)
This is Maximum Bobby ... this is Bobby before his heart started really giving out, before his personal life started taking a toll on him ... this is very ripe Bobby Darin totally committed to the audience. The song selection is perfect - this is before his slight diversion to folk, so no "Michael Row the Boat Ashore" - and shows us exactly what made him the Legendary Bobby Darin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Darin At The Copa
Darin At The Copa by Bobby Darin
Buy MP3 Album$6.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.