Your Garage Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Lacuna Coil Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick Father's Day Gifts Amazon Cash Back Offer DrThorne DrThorne DrThorne  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Outdoor Recreation SnS

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 3, 2010
Mark is one of the funniest Amerikan authors ever. His political and social commentary is written in an utterly unique style with an extreme left political bent. One of my favorite parts of this book is the hate mail that Mark has received over the years. His radicalism brings out intense rage among conservative haters. This is political humor vaguely along the lines of Jon Stewart but edgier and stylistically like nothing you've ever read before. If you are a conservative with a lot of sacred cows and not much of a sense of humor and a heart condition, I don't recommend this book for you.
0Comment|65 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 9, 2010
Moford's wit, sensuality, and lust for absurdity shines throughout this collection of articles, "fan" (read hate) mail and photos. Not for the faint of heart, your conservative grandmother, or nosy neighbor, but certainly a must read for you absinthe sipping, howling at the moon, cavorting types. Also appropriate for those who simply want to snicker and swoon via Moford's snark.
0Comment|41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 23, 2010
This book comes from the best and the most emotionally creative contemporary author. The "How to Read the Daring Spectacle" section at the beginning of the book sets the reader free. Mark gives the reader the tools to flow through the book in an a way that is individualistic to each reader. Instead of reading the book straight through from cover to cover, the reader has the abiltity to pick and choose, and flow around the book in a way that suits her/his mindset/mood/state. Most likely, the reader will revisit certain columns in this delicious journey through topics of interest. Mark draws a fantastic picture of what we are- complete with the horrors, absurdities, and pure smashing beauty of our existence.For the reader, the end result might be pure delight in the chaos of the world, or perhaps, for some, the end result can be a shrinking horror. Either way, this book is very very good. Read it. Don't be afraid. "Nil Desperandum".
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 14, 2010
This is such a great collection of his articles peppered with his own notes and behind the scenes info for why he wrote them. I enjoy giving this book as a gift and it is the perfect coffee table book. I have had several people say they were ordering the book after glancing through. Mark speaks with much clarity to many of our own inner voices and it is a fun ride every time.... He is one of my favorites on the planet to be sure!!!
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 18, 2010
Smart, articulate and witty, Mark has a command of language and vocabulary that astounds. Put that together with a kick-ass approach to teaching yoga, and what a package.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 9, 2010
I have not read the book yet, but I have been reading Mark's column in the SF Chronicle for years, and I LOVE his writing. Whatever your politics, or your opinions on any of the social issues on which he so eloquently espouses his views, I think you will enjoy Mark's writing. He is provocative, witty, colorful, and funny (strike that) HILARIOUS - I always laugh out loud when I read Mark's column, and I almost always forward them to friends and family. If The Daring Spectacle contains even a fraction of what his columns normally do, then I enthusiastically recommend it with hardy belly laughs.

Aaron
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 10, 2015
Best suited for readers who know and enjoy Mark Morford's irreverent daily column on the sfgate Web site. To Morford's credit, he offers an introduction that explains how he organized and narrowed down his massive (and massively hilarious) repertoire of past columns, and why he chose to showcase his hate email and a very funny and unique series of "Mullet Haiku" poems. Warning: his subject material is pretty much guaranteed to offend narrow-minded, holier-than-thou or richer-than-thou folks. If you like theoretical discussion on how to make people, society, politics and the government be more progressive, then you'll enjoy this book. My used copy was in nearly new condition and cost only 41 cents plus shipping, and I've gotten thousands of dollars of chuckles out of it already.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 27, 2010
Mark Morford is not for the faint of heart, the reticent, or the humorless. If you are politically conservative and like it that way, you probably will just get angry with him as have others. But if you love biting sarcastic humor, razor-sharp observations, and fearless observation through eyes that see the world from a far-left vantage point, then you will love this book. Best read in small doses in places where loud guffaws won't offend others.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 23, 2010
The Daring Spectacle is a fun and entertaining read, full of some of Mark's best columns. As Mark notes in the forward - don't read all the way through in one sitting like a regular book: jump around, put it down, pick it back up. Take a few days, a few months, and just keep coming back to it.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 6, 2010
Need to laugh?
Need to think a bit about the things you usually ignore?

Read the book.

Read the book with a drink in your hand and your favorite Republican nearby. It's guaranteed to make you do both of the above.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.