Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


63 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!
Mark is one of the funniest Amerikan authors ever. His political and social commentary is written in an utterly unique style with an extreme left political bent. One of my favorite parts of this book is the hate mail that Mark has received over the years. His radicalism brings out intense rage among conservative haters. This is political humor vaguely along the lines of...
Published on April 3, 2010 by César Chávez

versus
12 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gimme A Break
Those of you bemoaning the death of no-holds-barred might want to have a look at this wildly opinionated collection. It's a little like the Maury Povich TV Show, that makes you happy for bland sit-coms with recorded laugh tracks. Just when you think Mark Morford's articles couldn't get more offensive, they do. He himself admits, "I am no Dave Barry, sweetly wisecrackin'...
Published on December 8, 2010 by John F. Lehman


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

63 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, April 3, 2010
This review is from: Daring Spectacle: Adventures in Deviant Journalism (Paperback)
Mark is one of the funniest Amerikan authors ever. His political and social commentary is written in an utterly unique style with an extreme left political bent. One of my favorite parts of this book is the hate mail that Mark has received over the years. His radicalism brings out intense rage among conservative haters. This is political humor vaguely along the lines of Jon Stewart but edgier and stylistically like nothing you've ever read before. If you are a conservative with a lot of sacred cows and not much of a sense of humor and a heart condition, I don't recommend this book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime, April 9, 2010
By 
V. Michelle Titus (Northern California) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Daring Spectacle: Adventures in Deviant Journalism (Paperback)
Moford's wit, sensuality, and lust for absurdity shines throughout this collection of articles, "fan" (read hate) mail and photos. Not for the faint of heart, your conservative grandmother, or nosy neighbor, but certainly a must read for you absinthe sipping, howling at the moon, cavorting types. Also appropriate for those who simply want to snicker and swoon via Moford's snark.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Let Freedom Reign!, April 23, 2010
By 
Pat Ross (Bay Area, Califiornia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Daring Spectacle: Adventures in Deviant Journalism (Paperback)
This book comes from the best and the most emotionally creative contemporary author. The "How to Read the Daring Spectacle" section at the beginning of the book sets the reader free. Mark gives the reader the tools to flow through the book in an a way that is individualistic to each reader. Instead of reading the book straight through from cover to cover, the reader has the abiltity to pick and choose, and flow around the book in a way that suits her/his mindset/mood/state. Most likely, the reader will revisit certain columns in this delicious journey through topics of interest. Mark draws a fantastic picture of what we are- complete with the horrors, absurdities, and pure smashing beauty of our existence.For the reader, the end result might be pure delight in the chaos of the world, or perhaps, for some, the end result can be a shrinking horror. Either way, this book is very very good. Read it. Don't be afraid. "Nil Desperandum".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE THIS BOOK, September 14, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Daring Spectacle: Adventures in Deviant Journalism (Paperback)
This is such a great collection of his articles peppered with his own notes and behind the scenes info for why he wrote them. I enjoy giving this book as a gift and it is the perfect coffee table book. I have had several people say they were ordering the book after glancing through. Mark speaks with much clarity to many of our own inner voices and it is a fun ride every time.... He is one of my favorites on the planet to be sure!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Articulate genius., September 18, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Daring Spectacle: Adventures in Deviant Journalism (Paperback)
Smart, articulate and witty, Mark has a command of language and vocabulary that astounds. Put that together with a kick-ass approach to teaching yoga, and what a package.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eagerly awaiting The Daring Spectacle, April 9, 2010
This review is from: Daring Spectacle: Adventures in Deviant Journalism (Paperback)
I have not read the book yet, but I have been reading Mark's column in the SF Chronicle for years, and I LOVE his writing. Whatever your politics, or your opinions on any of the social issues on which he so eloquently espouses his views, I think you will enjoy Mark's writing. He is provocative, witty, colorful, and funny (strike that) HILARIOUS - I always laugh out loud when I read Mark's column, and I almost always forward them to friends and family. If The Daring Spectacle contains even a fraction of what his columns normally do, then I enthusiastically recommend it with hardy belly laughs.

Aaron
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deviant Journalism Indeed!, May 27, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Daring Spectacle: Adventures in Deviant Journalism (Paperback)
Mark Morford is not for the faint of heart, the reticent, or the humorless. If you are politically conservative and like it that way, you probably will just get angry with him as have others. But if you love biting sarcastic humor, razor-sharp observations, and fearless observation through eyes that see the world from a far-left vantage point, then you will love this book. Best read in small doses in places where loud guffaws won't offend others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read!, June 23, 2010
By 
This review is from: Daring Spectacle: Adventures in Deviant Journalism (Paperback)
The Daring Spectacle is a fun and entertaining read, full of some of Mark's best columns. As Mark notes in the forward - don't read all the way through in one sitting like a regular book: jump around, put it down, pick it back up. Take a few days, a few months, and just keep coming back to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delicious, just delicious., July 6, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Daring Spectacle: Adventures in Deviant Journalism (Paperback)
Need to laugh?
Need to think a bit about the things you usually ignore?

Read the book.

Read the book with a drink in your hand and your favorite Republican nearby. It's guaranteed to make you do both of the above.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Daring Spectacle: Adventures in Deviant Journalism, August 10, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Daring Spectacle: Adventures in Deviant Journalism (Paperback)
Sassy but insightful humor concerning a number of topics, mostly controversial. Only good for those who understand sarcasm and humor at its best.

Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Daring Spectacle: Adventures in Deviant Journalism
Daring Spectacle: Adventures in Deviant Journalism by Mark Morford (Paperback - March 1, 2010)
$20.00 $15.57
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.