Customer Reviews


405 Reviews
5 star:
 (152)
4 star:
 (106)
3 star:
 (72)
2 star:
 (41)
1 star:
 (34)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Sizzling Hot Read!
Apollyon has been living in Hell guarding the bottomless pit, waiting for his master's call. He longs to fly over Earth again, but his master hasn't called on him in centuries. When the call finally comes, Apollyon finds he has a new master. A beautiful woman he had often watched over.
Serenity is shocked when Apollyon appears, claiming she had called him when she...
Published on April 6, 2012 by Lynn Worton

versus
71 of 76 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Angels, Desire, and Forbidden Love
The first in Felicity Heaton`s paranormal angel romance series Her Angel, Her Dark Angel is a 30,000 erotic novella which delivers exactly what it promises.

Embittered by her cheating ex-boyfriend and hungry for vengeance, sexy witch Serenity stands near the Eiffel Tower and prays for revenge. What she doesn't expect is the black-winged angel of death Apollyon...
Published on September 1, 2010 by A.M. Harte


‹ Previous | 1 241 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

71 of 76 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Angels, Desire, and Forbidden Love, September 1, 2010
By 
This review is from: Her Dark Angel (Her Angel Romance Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
The first in Felicity Heaton`s paranormal angel romance series Her Angel, Her Dark Angel is a 30,000 erotic novella which delivers exactly what it promises.

Embittered by her cheating ex-boyfriend and hungry for vengeance, sexy witch Serenity stands near the Eiffel Tower and prays for revenge. What she doesn't expect is the black-winged angel of death Apollyon to answer her call -- and his willingness to serve her every desire might prove a temptation too hard to resist. But can she trust him? And is love between angels and mortals possible?

Her Dark Angel is a perfect, bite-sized hit of (let's face it) smut. It's a quick, highly erotic, entertaining read. The story alternates between Serenity and Apollyon's points of view, providing an addictive insight into the blossoming of their relationship, and how both of them fear to admit their feelings. As expected of any romance, there's a HEA ending, but before you get there be sure to expect a lot of smut. Also some sexy angel armour, and wings.

Perhaps one of the only critiques I would have of Her Dark Angel specifically is that the numerous sex scenes, one after the other, became a little repetitive and I ended up skimming through a couple. Furthermore, while the novella promises two conflicts -- the external one of the ex-boyfriend, and the internal one of forbidden love -- only the latter is really explored in any depth. The revenge upon the ex-boyfriend is, disappointingly, resolved rather quickly.

However, for a 30,000 word story, Her Dark Angel is a tight, cohesive and sultry tale which suggests a fascinating world where angels walk amongst men. If you like your paranormal romance hot, then this is the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


85 of 95 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Stories have no conflict at all, January 20, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Her Dark Angel (Her Angel Romance Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This is the 3rd book from this author I have read. I keep wanting to find a reason for the good ratings, but I just cannot see it. Take this story for example:

Our heroine unknowingly uses magic to call an angel to seek vengeance on her cheating ex (no details are ever given of this). Hmmm, angel seeks revenge on a cheating ex boyfriend. Seems below his pay grade and petty on her end. But that isn't what is bad about this story. After this nothing really happens in this story at all. They make the ex jealous in a strip club and fall in love. Filled some pages with mediocre sex. The End. Now, I enjoy a good erotic story, but this is not even good erotica. There is no conflict in this authors stories and no conflict results in a very boring story.

I hate to leave really bad reviews, but I wish someone else had left an honest review before I bought every one of her kindle ebooks based on all the "glowing" reviews I read. If you are looking for a story with any action, then look elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sjm, June 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Her Dark Angel (Her Angel Romance Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
There was no real story. She calls to him, he is an angel in Hell she's a witch. Then they have sex, again and again, etc, he beats up an old boyfriend, they have sex, more sex, etc, that's it.The end. I will not continue series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dark angel, May 25, 2013
This review is from: Her Dark Angel (Her Angel Romance Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Appollyon answers the call of a witch. Is the attraction lust or love? It is a very thin plot of getting revenge for being dumped, and mostly a rather juvenile ploy for a lot of sex scenes. Sometimes less is hotter than more...and a good storyline would help. Disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Sizzling Hot Read!, April 6, 2012
By 
This review is from: Her Dark Angel (Her Angel Romance Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Apollyon has been living in Hell guarding the bottomless pit, waiting for his master's call. He longs to fly over Earth again, but his master hasn't called on him in centuries. When the call finally comes, Apollyon finds he has a new master. A beautiful woman he had often watched over.
Serenity is shocked when Apollyon appears, claiming she had called him when she had only cast a simple vengeance spell to seek revenge on her cheating ex-boyfriend. Can Serenity resist her dark angel?

Warning: This book is strictly for adults! There are scenes of an explicit nature not suitable for younger readers.
This is another series by Felicity Heaton that I love!
Apollyon is the original angel of death, but he has been guarding the bottomless pit for his master for several centuries. He is very lonely, and passes the time by looking into a special pool of water, watching the people on Earth. When he hears a call from his master, he answers it.
Serenity is a mortal, but she is also a witch. When she casts what should be a simple vengeance spell, she it totally unprepared for Apollyon's appearance.
I loved both of these characters, and I was slightly disappointed that the book was so short. I felt that it could have been a bit longer. However, I will forgive Felicity, because the story is fantastic (as usual) and has some great moments in it. The coffee scene made me chuckle! Apollyon is the perfect dark angel! The passion between the two characters nearly burns the pages up! I highly recommend this book if you want to get all hot and bothered!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What story?, January 31, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Her Dark Angel (Her Angel Romance Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
The book has no story and no conflict. The main character is a witch who snaps her fingers to turn on the lights (like the clapper?) and wiggles her nose to take her clothes off (real original can you say Bewitched?) She casts a spell that mistakenly summons an angel (supposed ex-angel of death) because she wants revenge on her cheating ex boyfriend. From the time the angel first appears and the characters start to have real feelings for each other and decide to sleep together, a total of how many hours go by? 6? 8? Yes people it's the same day. The main character is crying and upset and wants revenge on her cheating ex boyfriend that hurt her. But the same day she meets the angel, which is the same day they go to a night club to make her ex boyfriend jealous when he see's them together, they fall for each other and sleep together? I've got to be honest here. There is no story, no tension, no conflict. The writing is bad, the dialogue is bad, and there are so many grammar errors and words used in the wrong tense (woken/awaken, dived/dove ect.) not to mention the over use of so many words and phrases (over and over again) it made the story difficult to get through and made me want to scream. I don't know how the other books in this series are, because I do not plan on picking them up to read, but this first one was a total disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Nothing but Predictable Porno, July 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Her Dark Angel (Her Angel Romance Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I like Paranormals but hadn't read one with an angel so was interested in the premise: an angel from hell summoned by a woman to help her get revenge on her unfaithful boyfriend. And that's as good as it gets, folks. Quickly deteriorates into nonstop badly written porn scenes. VERY short, predictable, boring in the extreme, and not good writing at all. Don't bother.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Foolish book, February 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Her Dark Angel (Her Angel Romance Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
One of the silliest books I have read in a while. I don't think I finished reading it. It has great potential but fails miserably throughout the book. Buy something else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars angel, February 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Her Dark Angel (Her Angel Romance Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
As far as paranormal romance s go I thought this would have had more, half way in I'm still wondering why I'm reading still.but I think this is the only full story/novel I have encountered so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Really?, October 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Her Dark Angel (Her Angel Romance Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Really? I just couldn't bring myself to even finish this book...It was a painful to get as far as I did. For a short book it certainly was not an easy nor entertaining read. Sorry :( I know it's all relative an a matter of tastes, hence the high ratings here and Amazon.com, but I would not recommend this book.

Love the cover though :|
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 241 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.