Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars entertaining chilling thriller
San Francisco computer programmer Paul Wood enjoys backpacking in remote unreachable places around the globe. Currently he hikes the rough terrain of the Himalayas on the sustenance budget plan when he finds a mutilated corpse with Swiss army knives stabbed through each eye. Paul is more than shook at seeing the body as two years ago he and his girlfriend were in...
Published on June 26, 2004 by Harriet Klausner

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun if you've done some "Lonely Planet"-style traveling yourself
I've spent many months over the years on the "Banana Pancake" trail, hauling a backpack through Asia and elsewhere, solo or with friends, seeking the next thrill, brooding over the meaning of it all, and watching the world mutate around me. A lot of people who have done the same have speculated on how to process this experience into something like a novel, and...
Published 21 months ago by Pretzelcuatl


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars entertaining chilling thriller, June 26, 2004
This review is from: Dark Places: A Novel (Paperback)
San Francisco computer programmer Paul Wood enjoys backpacking in remote unreachable places around the globe. Currently he hikes the rough terrain of the Himalayas on the sustenance budget plan when he finds a mutilated corpse with Swiss army knives stabbed through each eye. Paul is more than shook at seeing the body as two years ago he and his girlfriend were in central Africa when she was murdered in the same macabre manner.
Paul soon learns other people were killed with the same creepy modus operendi. Unable to ignore his preliminary findings Paul and his current girlfriend Bosnian Talena investigate. Other travelers from the central African tragedy join Paul when he decides to avenge the budget backpacking world by taking out a serial killer.
This entertaining but chilling thriller provides readers with a look at the backpacking community that reside in youth hostels or outside as they hike the planet. The story line hooks the readers with its twists and turns, albeit not all seem real, but no one will care. Paul is a terrific protagonist as he travels the orb although it is difficult to accept this gentle soul as a vengeful fighting machine. Still fans of dark suspense will appreciate this eerie tale as they hitch a ride with Jon Evans to extremely DARK PLACES.
Harriet Klausner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Capturing the life of so many of those hovering around 30., August 22, 2004
This review is from: Dark Places: A Novel (Paperback)
The book is about a backpacker who finds a dead body on a trail in Nepal, which has been mutilated in the same way his girlfriend was in Cameroon two years previously. Our hero sets out to find the killer. The book's about much more than that, however. It's about recovering from the death of a loved one. It's about backpacking, and travelling around the world, and needing to do so to the point where you only take jobs that will give you months of leave. It's about the bursting of the Internet bubble. It's about the concept of tribe, a chosen family that is your support network no matter how far away they are. It's about using the Internet to find people and track them down. And, yeah, there's a cool mystery in there, too. Evans captures the feeling of being on the edge of 30, and unwilling to buy into the two-kids-and-a-dog suburban lifestyle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this is not considered a cult novel for nothing, August 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dark Places: A Novel (Paperback)
this was a book that I fell into while looking for another book of basically the same title (by g. flynn - and hers was also great). this is a can't-put-it-down book with suspense, gore, twists and plain good story-telling. i enjoyed it from page one until the end and the fact that it's full of outdoor trekking, climbing, fresh cold air and all things that I have not much to do with, is beside the point. this is the second copy I bought. it's the kind of book that you need a spare copy to lend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun if you've done some "Lonely Planet"-style traveling yourself, March 16, 2013
By 
Pretzelcuatl (Los Angeles, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Trail of the Dead (Paperback)
I've spent many months over the years on the "Banana Pancake" trail, hauling a backpack through Asia and elsewhere, solo or with friends, seeking the next thrill, brooding over the meaning of it all, and watching the world mutate around me. A lot of people who have done the same have speculated on how to process this experience into something like a novel, and Evans does an admirable job turning the world backpack adventure into a decent murder mystery. While I can't say I enjoyed his writing style, and found the dialogue at times pretty painful to read, the overall experience was good, and the plot kept me guessing until the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark Places of the Earth, March 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
OH my gosh! This book was amazing! The author, Jon Evans has given me so many new perspectives on things. Suddenly, I just want to walk everywhere and go exploring! Paul, the main character loves to hike...or trek. He travels around the world to discover new places to climb and see. He meets wonderful people, eats exciting foods and struggles with a past loss. The book becomes very mysterious and soon the reader is wrapped up in the "Who Dunnit?" The ending is perfect and I will cherish this story forever. Thank you, Jon Evans for showing me the other side of the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Read more like a dairy than a mystery thirller, July 11, 2005
This review is from: Dark Places (Paperback)
I was very disappointed with this book. The premise is good enough. There is a serial killer out there, hunting down unsuspecting travelers. And since the murders occur away from the western world, there is a tendency for the killer to get away with it. Sounds good enough right?
Well yes and no.
The descriptions of life on the trail, the attention to detail of life in the third world, etc. is all done very well. It is obvious that the author has done his share of traveling. But when it comes to crafting a mystery novel, once which keeps the reader guessing and wanting to read more, the author falls short. The protagonist is able to 'solve' the mystery of who the serial killer is in record time, and he does so in an almost elementary fashion.
If you are looking for a light read that captures what it is like to travel to third world countries, then this book might interest you. But if you are looking for a mystery novel with lots of twists and turns, you're better off leaving this book on the shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, riveting, July 8, 2014
Excellent, riveting, unique thriller, and I'm hard to please. Murder and extreme backpackers in third world countries is a strange and wonderful mashup that works because this guy is a great writer of suspense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favorite books of all time!, July 21, 2013
Excellent mystery, great characters, loved this book from the second I picked it up. If u haven't read Jon Evans yet, you need to start! I already own the paperback, but go this one to have on my kindle and phone to reread anywhere and everywhere. All of his books are fantastic, but this is my personal favorite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than expected, September 14, 2014
By 
Jim (Near Ogden Utah) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A first class book with an interesting plot. No regrets about reading it. Don't expect paranormal material. Expect some cyber sleuthing, world travel, and mystery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A nice, mostly comfortable read., April 24, 2013
By 
Bill Oterson (About 60 miles, or so, east of Manhattan.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Dark Places (Dark Places Of The Earth) [Kindle Edition], by Jon Evans, kept me hanging on. It was a good story, not especially fast moving but with much about exotic places I had never heard of and some interesting characters that were developed nicely. And the story itself developed in a linear fashion. The protagonists were likable and, as a mystery should, one thing led to another, and such. But, and although I read the entire story, it was ruined for me when something way beyond possible, in my opinion, occurred. After that the story proceeded reasonably well and I was determined to be happy with it, but, the unusual happened again. I don't provide spoilers so I won't tell, however, I still enjoyed the read, just not as much as I might have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Dark Places
Dark Places by Jon Evans (Paperback - 2004)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.