Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Collinwood Turned on its Ear!!!!
Dark Shadows DVD Collection 21 goes where no other collection has gone before: into the inexplicable world of Collinwood in parallel time, where the faces and the surroundings are the only things that are familiar.

The premiss is relatively straightforward, illustrating the compelling science fiction concept that many parallel worlds coexist with the one we...
Published on December 2, 2005 by E. Hornaday

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars DS Volume 21
Finally, the end of the ultra-boring, series-killing 1970PT story. The 1841PT is superior in every way to this dull, snooze inducing PT story. For all who watch the series, wake up and get ready for a much better plot coming up in volume 22. The Dark Shadows 'train' is finally back on track in volume 22 and, except for a few moments here & there, is excellent until the...
Published on December 1, 2011 by Butchboy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Collinwood Turned on its Ear!!!!, December 2, 2005
By 
E. Hornaday (Lawrenceville, NJ United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Dark Shadows DVD Collection 21 goes where no other collection has gone before: into the inexplicable world of Collinwood in parallel time, where the faces and the surroundings are the only things that are familiar.

The premiss is relatively straightforward, illustrating the compelling science fiction concept that many parallel worlds coexist with the one we know and erroneously believe is the only reality. In each parallel time band, we live completely different lives based on substantially different life choices that we have made.

The vampire, Barnabas Collins (Jonathan Frid), discovers a portal to parallel time in an East Wing room of Collinwood. Hoping to escape his supernatural curse, Barnabas remains in the room until it reverts to the parallel time band, taking him with it. Unfortunately for him, the vampire curse remains unchanged in parallel time, but everything else has changed.

Quentin (David Selby) is the master of Collinwood and Elizabeth (Joan Bennett) and Roger (Louis Edmonds) are his siblings living off of his generosity. Carolyn (Nancy Barrett) is married to the writer, William Loomis (John Karlen), who wrote a bestseller on the life of Barnabas Collins (who was not a vampire, and who lived a long life with his beloved wife, Josette.) Quentin's wife, Angelique (Lara Parker), (who, unknown to Quentin was a witch) died 6 months prior, is found to have been murdered! Quentin has since remarried - Maggie Evans (Kathryn Leigh Scott)!

Alexis, Angelique's twin sister, comes to Collinwood then herself is murdered by Angelique, who has survived the grave through the sinister black magic of their stepfather, Timothy E. Stokes (Thayer David). Angelique, who steals the warmth and life of the good Alexis, then dreams up a vicious plot to ruin the entire Collins family by turning Quentin and Maggie against each other.

Meanwhile, Dr. Julia Hoffman (Grayson Hall), worried about her beloved Barnabas, manages to transport herself into parallel time to assist him in just the nick of time: her counterpart, the evil housekeeper Hoffman who was also a close confidant to Angelique, was posed to drive a wooden stake into the heart of Barnabas. In a great twist, Julia kills her Hoffman counterpart, then assumes her identify to spy on Angelique.

By the end of the boxed set, most of the Collins family has been murdered by the same person who killed Angelique, who is then himself murdered by the undead witch in the ultimate revenge!

During this wild ride, there is suicide, madness, evil laboratory experiments and even love. This is Dark Shadows at its fantastic best, as the core ensemble cast shine in portraying their traditional roles in VERY untraditional and often twisted ways. Bravo!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PARALLEL TIME IS FASCINATING!, September 27, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Lots of weird goings on at Collinwood! Willie is a writer, Carolyn married to him-- Nancy Barrett really turns it out for her portrayal of bitter, cynical, alcoholic Carolyn Loomis. These episodes allow many DS cast members to show their talents. Jonathan Frid is much missed during a portion of the story, but it is forgiveable since he was busy filming HOUSE OF DARK SHADOWS at the time. Grayson Hall is wonderful as evil housekeeper Hoffman with a Danversesque loyalty to Angelique...Lara Parker is SO evil......as she draws her twin sister to her sarcophagus to draw the life out of her and live again.....I have the whole series so far, but even if you only get one volume, this should be the one to buy.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forty color episodes on four discs recreate the drama and thrill of the original series sans ads, March 5, 2006
MPI is slowly releasing the whole of the very extensive Dark Shadows soap opera on a set of involving DVDs, and this Collection 21 opens with the world of parallel time in 1970, when Angelique tortures Maggie Collins with her supernatural powers and reveals her identity to her father. Forty color episodes on four discs recreate the drama and thrill of the original series sans ads - and if that weren't enough, bonus interviews with major actors, writer Joe Caldwell and TV critic Mark Dawidziak add insights you wouldn't find through television. While prior fans of the Dark Shadows series - especially owners of previous collections - will be the likely audience for this, newcomers will find the logical progression of episodes lends to newfound interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark Shadows the show of shows!, January 19, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The best soap or show ever! Although way over the top,the actors were wonderfull and endearing-as were the characters-the good,the bad and the ugly.This DVD has brought back such a flood of nostalgia and joy-as I am sure it has for many!I hope to purchase the entire series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DARK SHADOWS, November 29, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I HAVE SEEN THE ORIGINAL IN THE 60'S AND ALSO BOUGHT ALL OF THE VHS TAPES. NOW I AM UPGRADING TO DVD AND CAN NOT WAIT TO SEE THE DIFFERENCE AND OR QUALITY OF THIS ON DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark Shadows, March 12, 2010
By 
dooner619 (Michigan, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It you like Dark Shadows you will like this collection. However, if you haven't seen collection 20 you won't really understand what is happening. In fact, you really need to have seen all the episodes leading up to this one, which I have. Therefore I can say I was not disappointed with this one and can't wait for the others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, December 30, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Love watching this TV show that I watched as a little girl. My husband and I love it so much and make Sunday evenings a special time for watching Dark Shadows. Gives us something to look forward to at the end of the weekend (instead of thinking about Monday morning!). Price at Amazon was the best we could find, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dark shadows, May 22, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
i had watched this one two this dvd is good two when i was a child i use to run home and watch it and this one is worth the money i say bye it if you are a fan
charlene
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Daughter loves Dark Shadows just like I did back in the 70's, November 7, 2012
By 
Trishia "Pat" (LUFKIN, TEXAS, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a 4 disk set of some of the Dark Shadows cult classic TV soap opera shows...Every collection number has different shows to watch... It is as entertaining to my daughter as it is to me to watch again after all these years...The acting was so hamish but it was truly part of the shows uniqueness... There was never a show like it before it was created and has earned the cult classic title over the past 40 some thing years... I highly recommend buying this for your collection encase they stop showing it for some unknown reason as some places some times do....Start with collection 1 and add a new DVD set of the series each month... if you love Dark Shadows it's a must have...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Collection!, January 4, 2014
By 
Sabrina F. Brown (Ft Meade, MD United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I watched Dark Shadows as a kid and was intrigued with the series. There were many things on the show I didn't understand, but I continued to watch. One day my child-care provider introduced the series to me and I was hooked ever since. Never, had I known or seen the ending, so this is my chance to see it all over again with a more understanding of the series. Because of these DVDs, I was able to attend my first Dark Shadow Festival in Brooklyn, NY, the year before Jonathan Frid past. I got to meet Lara Parker, David Selby, Jerry Lacy, Kathryn Leigh Scott, Roger Davis, and many others because of these DVD's. Thanks Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Dark Shadows Collection 21
Dark Shadows Collection 21 by Dark Shadows (DVD - 2012)
$39.98 $23.66
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.